We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
134
70
22
15
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
70
22
15
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfree kayakinglake georgebeach area was very cleansmall roomprivate beachawesome placerustic feelknotty pineclean roomsmini fridgebeach sideplace is cleantook advantagepicnic tablesbring your ownbad reviews
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 272 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Went swimming with the sun shinning through the water. Beautiful. Take your friends here.
The sand is wonderful under the water. Had a nice bon fire with some of the guests.
This place is the best! They also have cute ducks. Definately a great place to bring your friends, get a bay veiw of the mountians. Beautiful...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The location was just PERFECT and the staff was great. I can spend all day and night just sitting on the porch, enjoying the lake view.
The staff were the nicest people you can talk to. They don't look like they're working. You really feel like you're a guest and not just a customer.
Highly reccomended. Told all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bladcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We rented two rooms with a Lake George view for our son, daughter and their families, and one room up near the road for us. Bob, the proprietor, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, even though we changed our reservation needs a few times.

Be warned - you won't be staying in a Holiday Inn or a fancy hotel - this is a typical Lake George motel (we've stayed in quite a few over the years). You can hear people in the rooms connected to you; the decor is typical Lake George wood-panelling on the walls; small bath, etc. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the rooms, but no silverware or dishes. Storage space in our cabin was a rack on the wall near the fridge and a bureau. There was a table and two chairs in each cabin, too.

One special note - this place was CLEAN! The bathroom and beds were fresh; no mold or moldy smells either. The room that I was in was in the bank of rooms where people could keep pets and, had I not seen people with dogs in the adjoining rooms, I would have never known because my room didn't have any odor or evidence that this was a pet-friendly place at all.

The beach area was cleaned every night. Kayaks were available for guests, too. There was a sufficient number of chairs and lounges for all the guests, and each room had a table and chairs outside on the deck that went down to the beach. The Lake view rooms also had a picnic table and barbeque (for each). There was a fire pit down on the beach and we had a wonderful night watching the shooting stars and the moon come up over the mountain across the lake. There is also a docking area down by the beach and the beach is roped off for swimming. We had 3 children under 5 with us and they were down at the beach area all day ... the water was wonderful and not deep at all where they were swimming. Water levels are marked on the dock. This motel doesn't have a pool.

There were two play areas with swing sets for the children and also a ping-pong table. Bob had discount tickets available for some of the local attractions. Ice is available in the office; sodas are available for sale, too.

What was really nice was the fact that the motel has a beach and we were able to get reservations over a long weekend; many places on the lake would only rent for a week. Because the place is on the lake, make reservations early.

We had a great time at Golden Sands and it will be our go-to place for our next Lake George vacation.

Room Tip: Try to get a Lake view room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Goldens Sands Resort is a must for leaving the hustle and bustle of Lake George Vil. behind, yet still being within a close drive of all the sites. The access to the beach was perfect for boating and kayaking, and the beach itself was beautiful and clean. The owner Bob, was more than accommodating and took the time to recommend good restaurants and help make my vacation great.

I brought my own kayak and it was no trouble bringing it down to the water and storing it near shore. Bob supplied a lock for the kayak (bringing your own would be a good option) so that it could be left near the water for the entire stay. The rooms were very comfortable and the wifi was good as well. One note, if you have Verizon you will not get service here...I have AT&T and did get good service, but I was the exception as most of my friends had Verizon. Overall I would definately recommend this location and I will be returning soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weathertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Will never stay again. Ant-traps in rooms appliance in very poor shape, door not closing properly and gaps around doors. In need of maintenance. Cancellation policy “ There are no refunds for early departure, no exceptions” $225. for two rooms to good to be true.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sherriff911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Simply put, this guest's complaint is false and not bona-fide. Guest checked in, then caused damage to room & tv. Management had to call 911 to evict guest from property, and require guest to pay for room charges, which they did not despite police intervention. 911 response necessary to avoid a tresspass charge against guest as a courtesy to guest to avoid their arrest. Another local business advised this guest then went to another establishment and perpetrated the same scam. Tripadvisor visitors see through such complaints, and note Golden Sands Resort's 'stellar' reviews. See those positive reviews. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews