We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Canoe Island Lodge(Diamond Point)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Depe Dene Resort(Lake George)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lodges at Cresthaven(Lake George)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Castle Resort(Lake George)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
131
69
21
15
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
69
21
15
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerlake georgefree kayaksbeach area was very cleansmall roomrustic feelprivate beachawesome placeknotty pineclean roomsno chargemini fridgeplace is cleannice beachtook advantagegrassy areaflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 265 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here overnight on July 14, 2011. We love this resort. Have been here a couple of times over the past several years. The best thing about this resort is their level grounds and beachfront on Lake George. Great access to the lake with a level sandy beach and you can wade out 50 feet into the lake and it's still only up to your (adult) waist. The motel unit rooms are small but clean. We've stayed in a larger unit in the past, which is what I would recommend if you're stay for a week. The motel unit is adequate for 1 or 2 nights' stay. The only complaint I have is the size of the shower (a small stall) and the amount of water pressure there. Other than that, no complaints! Love Lake George! Thanks Bob & Bonnie-Belle!

Room Tip: Book well in advance of your stay.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We came in a family group and this place was perfect for grandparents and two sets of grandkids. There was lots of outdoor space to relax together and the kids could run around, swim, and go out on the dock. The room we stayed in was small, clean, and out of another era. One bed was great, obviously new mattress, the other was probably due for replacing. Tiny shower, no tub. There was a decent size hotel fridge, a microwave, and a counter top for preparing small snacks and storing food. RIght outside the door we had a table on the deck and there were plenty of pic nic tables and grills on the long skinny lawn. THere was also a swing set and slide. The beach was well maintained and there were chairs for relaxing while the kids splashed and dug in the sand. It was easy to borrow a kayak and paddle around. Golden Sands Resort is in a great spot on Lake George. It is easy to get to the honky-tonk fun in Lake George Village and the more sedate shopping and parks in Bolton Landing.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lawn have the nicer decks, easier access to the beach and lake views.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Let me first start by saying that our family of 5 and a 12 week old beagle decided to head to ADK on the spur of the moment for a few nights. We expected to find an old 50s style resort...which is exactly what we found. Golden Sands has beach access (though pets are not allowed anywhere near the beach) and has kayaks for free (the kids enjoyed these). The owner was very nice, gave good recommendations on where to rent boats (Waters Edge Marina), and provided that family run feel that one looks for in a summer rental.

Rooms were still in the 50s motif, and the beds weren't much better...but hey, they allowed pets, I can't complain. And they had cable TV, which even got Versus so I could get my Tour de France fix in. The A/C worked great.

Would have liked a bit more room for the animals (there really is no room for them to do their business). If I could make a suggestion, I'd tear out the hedges, ratty ping pong table and swing and throw down a bunch of mulch and grass.

They do rent nightly, which was nice. Cost was a bit much for what we got...but prepare yourself, this will be the theme for your entire Lake George experience. 360 dollars for 2 nights. The meals killed me...you're not walking out of a restaurant for breakfast without paying $60 for 2 adults, 3 kids...$100 for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nawlins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I came here over the 4th of July holiday and had such a wonderful time. Living in NYC it was really nice to relax and experience nature for a short break on the Lake. Golden Sands was the perfect place for us to stay. The owner Bob was super personable and helpful, the staff was always warm and friendly, rooms were comfortable, and the price was great for what we got. It's very close to Lake George village and other fun things to do. We brought our dog along as well, and she had a great time too! The perfect place to go for a relaxed couples or family vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmerglemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Golden Sands Resort for a week and enjoyed every minute of our time. A very friendly and enjoyable place to stay right on the lake. We loved taking kayaks out on the water, swimming, or just hanging out back in the room on the very comfortable bed. Absolutely will return to Lake George and will absolutely stay at Golden Sands.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abovo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews