We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afraid to go back....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villas On Lake George
Franklin Park, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afraid to go back....”
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed at the Thunderbird last June for Americade. It is difficult to find availability that week, and we finally found one that had rooms, for a resonable price.
We were very dissapointed in the service. The owner could not even find our reservation, but finally gave us an avialable room. It was OK.
However.... housekeeping was terrible. We could not get clean towels. I went to get them myself twice.
The toilet clogged on our very last day, so we just left it that way, and went home.
other than that, the 2-level "townhouse" with upstairs bedroom was OK. Tiny living room, but it was adequate.

Unfortunately, other friends booked it again this year for the same Americade week. I am afraid to go back, afraid of the service, and the housekeeping.

IF they cleaned up the rooms a bit, hired responsible people, and gave us TOWELS and cleaned daily, it would not be a terrible place. That is the bare minimum a motel should do.
And they cannot lose reservations!!!!!! That is the bare basics.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarrieGyrl123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    10
    26
See reviews for
45
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 30, 2005

The hotel s a dump! We got there and after one look at the mold in the room walked out and never came back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diamond Point hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2005

Made a reservation 2/05 for summer vacation; mailed deposit & requested confirmation or receipt. Owner refused to provide confirmation, then cancelled our summer vacation. We demanded the return of our deposit - owner sent us a check --- that bounced!!

I would suggest you never stay here!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

I hated the Thunderbird! When my family and I went there we thought it would be nice, because my wife and I went there when we were in our 20's when it was nice! Whenm we got there we just saw it was a dump. The only good part was the water, both pool and beach. But, the room... Forget about it! The bathroom was disgusting (never cleaned), and the a/c stunk. We sweat the whole night and we hated it. So that morning, we decided to leave. AND NEVER GO BACK!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Telesco4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2004

Not only was this disgusting motel not even close to a resort, the marina was a broken down dock and a beach of mud!!!!!!! The so called "family suite" was a two bedroom delapidated efficency apartment with 1970's broken furniture and a stench that made a skunk smell good. The so called"one bedroom suite" was a room in a rooming house with a bed, a toilet, a sink, and a tub. The smells throughout the entire place were unrecognizable and the beds looked as if any second bed-bugs were going to take over. Needless to say, my family was horrified upon arrival, and thank god we inspected the premises before Martha got any more of our money. We didn't stay or check-in and our money for the one night stay was not refunded. They totally misrepresent the accomodations on the web-site. I would like to know where the pictures of the accomodations were taken, because they definately were not of the rooms at the Thunderbird. You know things are bad when a 10 and an 11 year old are afraid to even walk through, much less stay overnight!!! Take our advice and never stay there!!!!!!

Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
3.9 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 87 in Lake George
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
265 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#25 of 87 in Lake George
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Cove Resort
Treasure Cove Resort
#9 of 9 in Diamond Point
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas On Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas On Lake George

Property: The Villas On Lake George
Address: 3908 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-3011 (Formerly Thunderbird Resort & Marina)
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villas On Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront family friendly Resort, onsite marina, onsite spa services, onsite cafe. Groups, reunions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas On Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Resort And Marina
Thunderbird Resort & Marina Hotel Diamond Point
The Villas On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing