We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Defiantly coming back to the thunderbird next summer !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villas On Lake George
1 review
“Excellent! Defiantly coming back to the thunderbird next summer !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our stay at the Thunderbird was wonderful. Rooms are very clean & better than what we expected. . Staff was very friendly & the service was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxx8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    10
    26
See reviews for
45
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Four generations of my family enjoy Lake George. We stayed at the Thunderbird Resort and found it to be a great experience. The house we rented had an enormous deck overlooking the Lake and it could not have been more beautiful! The rooms were clean, large and very comfortable.

We found the staff to be very responsive if we needed anything. Our stay at the Thunderbird Resort turned our summer vacation into a wonderful memory of time spent at Lake George.

Thank you to the Owners and staff of the Thunderbird Hotel!

Room Tip: The family townhouses are reasonably priced and provide a beautiful view of the Lake. The kitchen f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Thunderbird Resort and found the the owner and staff to be very friendly and the accommodations to be clean, spacious and very comfortable.  The Resort also has a lovely beach that was perfect for our children to wade in and play in the sand.  Our entire family enjoyed our stay at the Thunderbird Resort.  We always recommend staying at the Thunderbird Resort to anyone we know who is going to Lake George.
 
They were in the midst of updating some of the units and the main house. I am looking forward to seeing the inprovements when we return next summer! 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherineblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have spent over 30 summers at Lake George and have known Lenny Chiriboga for over 30 years. We and our children have enjoyed his facilities and beach and now we have grandchildren who are enjoying them as well. We have always found Lenny and his staff to be very conscientious about the safety of their guests and concerned and careful about the health of the Lake.

For many years we have witnessed Lenny and his staff giving VERY thorough safety and boating instructions to guests renting boats or jet skis from him. He is very clear about the speed limit, watching for swimmers in the cove and on the Lake, avoiding shallow areas etc... He and his staff have been excellent ambassadors of Lake George to the tourists with whom they have contact.

We have always found Lenny and his staff to be professional and very careful to adhere to the regulations that affect his business. He and his family have worked very hard to provide a wonderful place for tourists to come and make memories of time spent on the Lake. He responds very quickly if an issue arises and works hard to comply with requests made of him.

Lenny, his family and the Thunderbird Hotel are a landmark at the Lake and we look forward to spending more summers there for many, many years to come.

We have vacationed at the Thunderbird Resort and found the accommodations to be spacious, clean and very comfortable with spectacular views of the Lake. It is a wonderful facility!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I went with several families for a 7 day stay and the house was under construction when we arrived. There was absolutely no way that it would be ready for people to stay in the day that we were supposed to check in. The owner did not call to tell us about the situation and did not provide possible solutions to the problem. He was rude, unapologetic, and arrogant. He did not care at all that he had ruined vacations for many people. Save yourselves the headaches and do not stay at this "resort" under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diamond Point hotels

Rye, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just left the the thunderbird after the most infuriating few hours of my life. Rented the house on the property for this week only to show up and find the house was in the middle of construction. Owner never warned us that house wouldn't be ready for the arrival of our five families but when we showed up they were sawing molding, there was no ceiling in the kitchen, they were working on the plumbing and much of the furniture was on the porch. Not to mention that it was no longer a 7 bedroom house which was what it was listed for when we rented the place. Worst part was the owner showed no remorse and said feel free to leave if you are not happy. Didn't care a lick that 15 people were waiting around to see if they could manage to pull off a miracle and get the house in working order. Never offered other options or reduced cost, just kept asking us if we wanted to stay or go. Total disregard for us and the fact that we were stranded. Seemed like such a nice guy on the phone but complete charlatan in reality. Save your sanity and money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachrsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We got to the "resort" and the owner said it will be ready in 2 hours. Little did we know the house was under renovation. It was missing sinks, doors, paint, ceilings were down, no furniture, a complete dirty mess. Uninhabitable is the proper descripition. When we asked the owner about, he just gave us some bs reason why it wasn't ready, he was rude, arrogant, very unapologetic, and did not know this first thing on how to accomadate his guests...very disappointed, extremely pissed off.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ihatethethunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
3.9 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#23 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#26 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Cove Resort
Treasure Cove Resort
#9 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas On Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas On Lake George

Property: The Villas On Lake George
Address: 3908 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-3011 (Formerly Thunderbird Resort & Marina)
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villas On Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront family friendly Resort, onsite marina, onsite spa services, onsite cafe. Groups, reunions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas On Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Resort And Marina
Thunderbird Resort & Marina Hotel Diamond Point
The Villas On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing