We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family resort on a hill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treasure Cove Resort

Treasure Cove Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Treasure Cove Resort
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Friendly family resort on a hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

You will find the Treasure Cove Resort to be a very friendly family fun resort. It was clean and it seems like John the owner takes pride in his property. You will see the John on the premise daily. It would be nice if they would update the website and change some of the pictures of the property. You will not see the upper sun deck. That has been replaced with a covered patio and an open wooden structure that has table and chairs and a few benches under it. TR property was kept clean and maintained throughout the day. The cottage we rented was clean upon arrival. It was lacking pots though. We had nothing to cook in! We also had a issue with opening windows in the cottage. Some we couldn't even open and the ones that we could we had to use something to prop them up with to keep them up. The cottage has a glass top table and 6 chairs on the spacious porch. The bathroom in our cottage was small and the shower was tight. It would also be nice if they could upgrade to some flat screen TV's rather than the old big box square ones that were in the cottage. We had barely no wireless internet service while staying here. If we did get a connection it didn't stay connected for long and it was slow as snails. Also, the cell service was scarce. The cottage also had a fire pit and BBQ grill right outside. That was great for us to BBQ our meals and make smores nightly. TR has two pools. The kidney shaped pool was cold as ice. The pool by the office was much warmer. They say the pools are solar heated. I think there must have been a issue with the solar heaters in the kidney shaped pool area. There was a row boat, 2 tandem kayaks, 2 paddle boats, and a canoe for guest use. We used the kayak and paddle boats. All in good condition. I must say you need to be very careful and pay attention if you go out in these. There is a lot of boat traffic from the docks at the resort. TR does have dock spaces available for guests. During our stay it was very busy!! There were a lot of kids here during our week. Our kids met a lot of new friends. They enjoyed the well maintained playgrounds and also the games (beware 50cents a game) they won stuff animals out of the claw machine. They also played shuffle board, basketball and ping pong. The swim area was great for the kids to swim in. However, it's not great for adults. It's way to shallow. And if you cross the swim rope you will run into that boat traffic again! Very dangerous. We enjoyed our visit to TR. It was a clean place and great for the kids! We sure got a work out climbing up the hill everyday (sometimes several times in a day) Tuesday's at TR they also have a resort cook out for the guests. It was a nice treat for us. They cooked hotdogs, hamburgers, and served cole slaw and chips as well as lemonade. They had a Carribean band there as well. Hairbraiding was $15.00. The world champ limbo dancer they had perform was a great hit as well. It seemed like all the guests that came down for it had a great time. We would come back and will tell friends and family that wish to visit Lake George about the Treasure Cove Resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage closer to the lake to avoid having to climb the hill the resort is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at this resort. I have very limited mobility and use a scooter, so
the staff build me a ramp to accomodate my need.Thanks guys !My six ( 6 ) grandchildren ages
3 - 8 loved the two pools, and especially the sandy beach. This place is really family friendly,
and mine had a great time.Thanks again and see you next year.

Room Tip: Bring fishing poles, all six of my grandkids caught fish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferenc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcove, General Manager at Treasure Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Treasure Cove. We make it our job to build memories for the special times with loved ones. Thank you and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I chose this location based on reviews from this website so it is only natural that I would add my experience for others. There are some pluses and some minuses.
The owner is highly visible and we saw him doing everything from delivering towels to helping people load and unload their boats. He was pleasant and visited with guests.
The view from our D unit was perfect! I loved being able to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner while enjoying breath taking views of the lake. It is a nice family environment.
The beach is very small and is great for younger children but not for adults wanting to swim in the lake. There were not enough beach chairs. Being able to have access to kayaks and paddle boats is great but there are not enough of them either. While my husband was using a kayak another female guest annoyed him for about 20 minutes until he gave up his turn (She followed him around on the paddle boat). The cove area is shared with three other facilities also providing a boat launch and docking abilities. This causes a lot of boat traffic in a small area. Kayaking and boating in this area becomes dangerous for kids with so much boat traffic.
The pool near our unit was in disrepair - usable but not pretty.
The room itself was okay and is just like the pictures. The bathroom is just like my grandmother's 1980's bathroom. The units and furniture in them could use some updating. Our unit did not have its own BBQ. The BBQs provided were in terrible shape and I changed my menu completely to avoid using one of them.
Other issues - On Saturday I asked housekeeping at 1pm for service because it had not been done by then. They did not return to service our room until after 4pm that day which was completely inconvenient and unreasonable. Parking for our unit was an issue. Each unit has an assigned parking spot. Our parking spot was next to the maintenance garage and we were asked several times to move our truck for them to get a bobcat and trailer in and out. The parking spot itself is on an angle blocked by a poorly placed plant bed - poorly designed. An additional parking issue involved our neighbor. He was not parked properly in his spot making it difficult to get in and out because of the angle and plant bed. Our neighbor advised us and everyone else in the place he was "good friends" with the owner. And he certainly took advantage of it. Each time we returned from an outing there was an issue with getting into our parking spot. Our neighbor had his children playing in our parking spot despite a playground right next to our building. On one occasion he had all his truck doors open and bbqing in our spot. The worst part was each time I had to specifically ask him to move their stuff. They were very rude people and if they are friends of the owner they are not helping the owner gain repeat business.
On our last night the smoke detector in the unit beneath us kept sounding off at around 10pm. Apparently, they had a leak and the water was running through the smoke detector causing it to sound off. Overall we had a good time and there are a few pluses but too many minuses for us to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like the beach get a room closer to the beach. Steep hill to walk to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reiki4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcove, Manager at Treasure Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts. Families are indeed our primary customer customer during the summer months . We do our best to keep everything clean and as organized as possible, July 4th is always a crazy holiday. I appreciate your comments and will pass them on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been going to Lake George annually since I was 5 years old. John Seh and his family provide for a wonderful family vacation experience. We now come up multiple times a year and can't get enough. What other place do you know of where the owner of a resort will take the time to personally ensure that all of your needs are met? This is what separates Treasure Cove from the rest. As long as John runs this place, he will have my family's business. There are many different room options to suit families of all sizes. My kids ages 5, 9, and 11 enjoy the playgrounds, 2 swimming pools, and playing on the beach. Treasure Cove truly has become our home away from home. Keep up the great work John and thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family has been coming to Lake George for 23 years. We have stayed in various locations around the lake. We have stayed at TC the past 3 years and we Love It. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. It is a great place to stay for families. John goes above and beyond to make the stay pleasent. If there any concerns, he will address them immediately. Every Tuesday, TC provides a free cookout at the patio on the lake for all the guests. It is a great way to relax/socialize and have a great meal without having to do the cooking. Our family is extremely happy staying at TC that we will continue to stay there for many years to come. See you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjc2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

1 room 2 bed units were close to 200$ per night with taxes.The room was very old and the batroom was extremely small with a very low pink toilet with a broken seatback,a very claustraphobic shower.Area to leave your personal watercraft in water is almost non existant,unless you want to beach it in the 15 foot wide area allocated.Boat docks are extremely flimsy and offer no protection for your boat in windy/rough conditions...you had better be an expert to be able to manuever your boat into the tight quarters.....expected much more for 200 bucks a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvm92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Finally, after three previous attempts, we've found a wonderful spot to stay in the Lake George area. Treasure Cove Resort is clean, well maintained and family-oriented -- we went with our daughter and her family including a 7 and 10 year-old. We stayed in lakefront cottages where the view was fantastic (some better than others). There's a modest playground and two swimming pools. The beach is somewhat small but clean with an ample number of comfortable lounge chairs. They're also quite attentive to the needs of their guests. When I mentioned problems accessing their wi-fi, the owner promptly went out and rebooted his router which made everything okay. They also have boat launching and docking facilities for those so inclined.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbeck3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcove, Manager at Treasure Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are very happy that you and your family had a nice, comfortable stay with us. We do put alot of effort into keeping our rooms clean, grounds clean and pools clean and with that we keep our customers happy and coming back. SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
9.9 mi away
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.6 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villas On Lake George
The Villas On Lake George
#8 of 9 in Diamond Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Cove Resort

Property: Treasure Cove Resort
Address: 3940 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-3011
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Treasure Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Cove Resort Motel And Cottages Hotel Diamond Point
Treasure Cove Resort Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing