We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a great vacation”
Review of Lake George Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake George Suites
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is our 12th year in lake george for 9 years we stayed at DUMP that cost 2200 for the week. We rented the entire resort with friends/family last year and we just came back from our vacation this year and let me tell you for the money it is WELL WORTH IT - the rooms are spacious, the manager on premises, Carl is very accomodating, we NEVER had a problem finding him. Those who have complained about the prices obviously have never stayed in lake george, rates are insane and no resort is "perfect" -- we had a deck suite 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms - kitchen area. Where else can you get that in Lake George for $770 a week (this was our group discount)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elwood819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Lake George Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

If you are ever presented with the option of staying at Lake George Suites in Lake George, please stay way away. The whole place is run by a parent company called "Morgan RV" which is their completely unhelpful management arm. They charge you up front and then employ a 21 day cancellation policy in which you will get 0% of your money back regardless of staying or not. We booked our room in May for a wedding stay in July.

My story begins by calling them 3 hours in advance the day of arrival (4pm earliest check-in). I ask the girl if she thinks that my room may be ready and without asking a name she says no. I say "I take it none of the rooms are ready then" she says no, but if i show up and hour early there may be availability.

When i show up an hour early, at 3pm, there is no one to be found on the premises. After calling the phone line in the mangers office and having it ring 3 ft away from me i walk around the property. The pictures on their website are deceiving and represent a giant open beach and other pictures from which i could not find on the property were taken. The "beach" was about 20ft wide and had a fire pit with half melted plastic bottles in it. I walk around for another 20 mins and finally notice a note left in the window with instructions to call the manager.

I call the manager who is not on the premises but tells me there is a young lady there that should be able to help me cleaning the house on the compound. I find the young lady who was very young to be cleaning an entire house to herself. She escorts me to the managers office and says if i give her 15 minutes that i should be all set with our "Jacuzzi Suite". The suite was actually a portable adjacent to the road split into 3 sections. When she shows me the room, it looks like she has more than 15 minutes to go in cleaning the area. I immediately took a picture of this disgusting suite in which, i would have been able to have my left hand in the jacuzzi from the bed. There was a smell of dampness to the room, which was poorly maintained and there were no windows besides the main doors as any windows on the walls would have had direct view of the only route (route 9N) through the area. There was no kitchenette as advertised and they also claimed that since there was a competition in town, rates had risen to $236 a night. The room could not have been more than 25ft wide by 40ft deep. When we arrived the compound was almost completely empty so where they get the supply/demand number of $236 is beyond me.

I am a nice individual so i briefly chat with the manager and tell him im in a time constraint and that i will take the $50 cancellation charge (which was my understanding from a third party at the time) and move on. He politely apologized and said okay and that we will speak the next day. I went back to visit the girl who says she will be a little later than 4 in preparing my room. I also told the girl who, instead of preparing my room in the 15 minute span she said went back to cleaning the house, the same thing. She said "there is absolutely nothing i can do from here (as in from the lake george suites)" so i assumed that it would be taken care of and moved on. I should have been told at that point that i would be charged the full amount before moving on, otherwise i would not have wasted my money and found the subsequent hotel down the street called Fort William Henry with a room at least twice the size for $216 a night during this weekend. I recommend this place as there were occupants and had someone behind the counter.

When i called RV resorts to solve my problem, they explained that there were other "non-jacuzzi" suites that they could have substituted and since it was my decision to leave that i will be getting no money back. They did not provide a service and have the audacity to charge me the full amount. Since i was a nice guy, i just never spoke up initially to the manager on the other end of the phone and expressed my concern for cleanliness or just the egregious, blatant ripoff that had happened. I accepted that since i did not do my due diligence on the property, i would pay my $50 mistake and move on. Not the case, they took the entire $236. Additionally, when speaking to the management arm, they admitted that some of the same concerns expressed were not the first. I raised a ticket with their customer service on a Sunday and it took for me to call them back on Tuesday to reach anyone.

If you feel like having a great vacation, do not do it here. If you want a picture, i would be more than happy to give one to you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I was a little worried after reading some of these reviews before we left for our trip, but I'm glad I went ahead with our stay at the Lake George Suites. I have travelled extensively around the world but had never been to Lake George before. It's a beautiful area and I highly recommend visiting. The Lake George Suites is a reasonably priced hotel, and while it's not a 5 star hotel, it is clean, and was perfect for a family getaway. There is a large house that sits right on the water that you can rent, or you can stay in the motel type area. We stayed in a motel room/suite, which had a well stocked kitchenette and a queen size bed. There is a nice little dock area for boats, a picnic/grill area with lounge chairs and picnic tables, and a swing set. They are currently installing a brand new swimming pool which wasn't quite ready when we were there. The hotel is a short drive from the downtown but was a decent location. The staff were friendly and were very accomodating with anything we needed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Sorry all who did not read my review from last year. I wasn't able to create an official review bu posted this in a forum regarding Lake George Suites:

Sep 08, 2009, 1:26 PM
We arrived there on 9/4/2009. Probably one of the most disgusting places I have ever seen. The room was overcome by mildew and dampness. The bed spreads were all different colors and nothing matched. it looked like a half-way house. We were told that all rooms on the lake are this way. I beg to differ. We demanded our money back as my wife has asthma; besides the fact that the place was gross. We were lucky enough to find a place a mile south of there called Twin Birches. You can read their reviews on this site. Lake George Suites should be condemmned.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The pictures on the website are deceiving. The beach is tiny and is in the middle of a marina with lots of boats. The room was ok we were in a 2 bedroom suite. When we were there the pool was non functional because of a painting problem. The day we went in we got white paint on our feet which was unacceptable. The staff gave us passes to one of their campgrounds which had a pool and was nice but it was about 15 miles away. All in all the place was adequate at best. The kids didn't mind the small beach but it was still kind of disappointing to see a tiny beach and having no pool access.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

If you are thinking of staying here, I have one recommendation. Don't walk away, run!!!

To start off with, the ad for the hotel discusses a nice hotel with a beach on Lake George. The beach was a joke. No sand, about 20' wide and covered with goose poop.

When we arrived and went into our room, it was disgusting. We immediately tried to cancel our reservation but were unable to without losing all of our money.

Our suite was allegedly big enough for six people but it was much too small for that. It had two bedrooms, one with two twin beds and one full size bed. The suite itself was disgusting. The couch was filthy. Found in the bed rooms were old, used Q-tips, dirty tissues, hair, and dirty sheets on the supposed clean bed. Additionally, as a bonus, there were bed bugs. We all ended up with bites from the bed bugs. We only had hot water for a short amount of time as it kept running out.

Overall, while the manager of the site was nice, she was overwhelmed because she had no help. She managed the site, cleaned the rooms, and did everything else. This was the most disgusting experience I have ever had staying in a hotel. very disappointed as it was our one vacation for the year.

Do not even think of staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dojo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapuce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
4.6 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
5.9 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake George Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George Suites

Address: 3678 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Diamond Point
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake George Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake George Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake George Suites NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing