We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not horrible...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in DeWitt
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not horrible...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had to stay here for 4 nights for work. The beds are not super comfy and they do not provide you with many pillows. The room is decent with a microwave and mini fridge, but the bathroom is super small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FashionTravelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    7
    12
    8
See reviews for
10
9
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My Wife and I went to Syracuse to visit friends and to go the NYS Fair, The rooms were very clean and the grounds were well maintained, This motel is nothing fancy but the price was right 65 a night and it was close to Everything we wanted to do. There is a continental breakfast that goes with the stay and Its very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the Second level and in the Back if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Yahwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
389 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel needed a good cleaning. The rooms were ok but needed to be freshened up with a coat of paint. The rooms were good size but, where to dresser was located & TV placed, made it hard to access to the bathroom. The location was the hotels best asset, near the Scotch & Sirloin Restaurant and not far from the town of Syracuse. If we were in a pinch, we would return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RRanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

PLEASE do NOT book this hotel. Bed bugs were found in 3 rooms we were given!
The management has a lot of excuses but offers no compensation just another
bed bug ridden room. We were there for our grandson's baptism and it was a
nightmare! Please go to their website for that hotel and see that it was fore warned by
another review. I wish I had done that myself.

Room Tip: Bed bugs were in all three (3) rooms we were given. Rooms 215, 201 and 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have stayed here several time when visiting family in the area for which it is geographically convenient. It's an old motel--at least 40 yrs. old to my knowledge--and shows it. The rooms are small, carpets are old, and the bathrooms are older tile. Some upgrading has been done; rooms now have a fridge and microwave. Unlike some other reviewers we have not had problems with the front desk or with cleanliness. Any room we have had has always been as clean as in any other motel. They offer a continental breakfast which seemed to consist of coffee, juice, and a pastry/muffin selection but we've never partaken of it as there is a Denny's within walking distance. It looked to be a little on the sparse side. An average rating is probably on the high side but I wouldn't call it poor which is the next rating down. If all you want is a place to sleep when visiting elsewhere during the day it certainly serves the purpose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I spent last night here while visiting my sister who lives within a few miles of the hotel. The room smelled, the heater didnt work, there werent any warm blankets and the tv was not visable from the beds and their was mold in the shower. The only good points were it's proximity to my sister's house and the rate. But you definately get what you pay for. Horrible night and I will never go back.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We came to check in and had immediate concerns with the room. Dirty, hairs in places there should not be any and weird musty smell.

Spoke with the front desk clerk shortly after checking in, he had a horrible attitude and was infuriatingly rude. I travel very frequently, at least one or two weekends every month - I have never met somebody so frustrating in my life. After spending 10 minutes attempting to reason with him (impossible), we walked out.

Imagine my surprise at receiving my credit card statement and finding that they have charged us as "no shows".... this is despite my attempted check in and clear information that the room itself was inhabitable. Customer service for econolodge refused to help with a anything - their "customer service" basically means go deal with the owner of the location (whose name they will not disclose).

Needless to say, I'm just going to revert this to my credit card company to deal with and will not spend anymore time trying to chase these guys around.

So - word of warning - what they SAY you're going to get on the website is not what you're going to get when you check in. And econolodge refuses to back up their locations in any meaningful way.

For the first time ever, I'm knocking a hotel chain off of my list. I have stayed at microtels, knights inn, hiltons and the whole gamut while travelling - and I have never seen such a disgusting room and dealt with such insolent and rude staff. I would recommend that you do not stay here, or at the very least, make sure you see the room before you hand over your credit card number.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Mouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeWitt
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#20 of 32 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 19 in East Syracuse
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn near Destiny USA
Quality Inn near Destiny USA
#11 of 12 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3400 Erie Blvd E, DeWitt, NY 13214-1696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > DeWitt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in DeWitt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Dewitt
Dewitt Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing