We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...very outdated & unkempt”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deposit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scott's Family Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deposit
Rockport, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful...very outdated & unkempt”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I wish I had read the reviews of real people like me who have had to stay here.... I would never come back here even if it were free- which btw it is expensive for what you get- cold tasteless food old moldy rooms w/ uncomfortable beds furnished w/ chairs from the 1960s... The funniest part is the " entertainment" which consists of the owners (pushing 90) singing songs from the turn of the LAST century...the ONLY saving grace is the lake which is clean & pretty. Please stay far away!

Room Tip: A room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    2
    8
    16
See reviews for
43
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Boy, a little reinvestment and this place would shine. It's a real family-owned business that is stuck in time and it was so fun. My teenagers were charmed and delighted. We played ping pong (I like ping pong!), had ice cream, there was shuffle board and old fashion bowling! And what was so charming were the couples learning to dance and showing off their talents. How sweet! The owner's took us on a boat ride around the lake and we could have tubed. It was just a real relaxing nice place to stay for a few days. My family is from the area and maybe it's the Redneck in me that was so enamored. If you're fussy and particular, this isn't for you. If you like to experience the out of the ordinary and a bit of history, this is your weekend getaway spot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speedatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you want a Marriott, this isn't for you. If you want relaxation, family fun, great food, feeling welcome -- this is the place! My family has been visiting Scotts for 46 years; it's a place where you're put back in time, a relaxing, beautiful and peaceful place. The scenery is beautiful, the lake is incredible, and the Scott family are the best! Lake swimming, canoeing, dancing, showboat rides, biking, walking, golf, eating, shuffleboard, tennis, bowling, ping pong -- and more -- it's the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Patty and the gang made sure my daughters wedding weekend was a weekend to remember. The Scott family attended to every detail, from amusements, boat rides, musical shows, wonderfully delicious meals to the moonlight glow on the lake viewed from our cottages. Is the furniture outdated? Sure. But where Scotts may lack in modern furnishings they make up for in charming, relaxing family fun that will bring You and yours closure in just a weekend, while taking away with you memories to last a lifetime. It's like stepping back in time to a place that will cleanse the soul.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This resort is exactly what it is stated as being - a FAMILY RESORT!! All of the workers and employees are family and they treat everyone like a part of the family. So many activities to do and all of them free of charge!! Awesome food and desserts to die for!! Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate!! The entertainment is awesome - they really make you feel at home. They really care about the guests and go out of the way to treat you like one of the family. Many opportunities to learn how to dance and have fun in a very casual and warm atmosphere. I have been to several Bed and Breakfasts in the Southern Tier and this is by far the best we have attended!! We are hoping that the resort continues to operate in these days of economic turmoil!!!

Room Tip: Had a great room - very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Words can’t describe how much I love this place. After trying numerous other vacation spots, this is the place I keep coming back to.
The large crystal clear lake is the most beautiful spot on the east coast. The food is all homemade American, cooked from scratch with really fresh and local steamed and baked vegetables. You can always ask for seconds.
Plus, you can’t beat the prices compared with any other resort in NY. Here, not only is all you can eat three meals a day included, but also every day free numerous activities and fun lessons. By way of example, free art lessons, water skiing lessons, tubing on the lake, free group bicycle rides through the woods (all downhill and then the host picks everyone up at the end in his bus and drives you back uphill to the resort, with bikes on a separate trailer!!!
Also guided canoe trips down the Delaware River are even included in the Daily rate. Other Inns charge you for renting even snowshoes and Kayaks!!!!Here even the canoes and the resort guide for the trip are even included.

All types of dance lessons are included, ballroom folk etc. on a daily basis. Plus the golf courses, with clubs, putting green, tennis courts etc. Every night they have a live band and ballroom dancing and some type of live entertainment.

The surroundings are so beautiful, that reading a book by the lake is sometimes all I choose to do. It is also perfect for a vacation that lets you heal and gain new direction.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable and because I am very sensitive to chemicals, I am thankful that here the air in the hotel is free of the yucky corporate hotel chemical smell that the more expensive resorts use as a substitute for clean air.

The best part of coming here is the warmth and love of the Scott family. The hosts Doris and Ray, the owners, have a lovely family who all work there, and they invite you in to be part of their family. It's like they have this special little world and they invite you in. They work tirelessly around the clock to please the guests and make sure everyone feels "at home". This is old fashioned "hospitality" that is virtually extinct except for here. Things like this do not mean much to some people, but they mean a lot to me.

I told my friends if they wanted to see me this summer, meet me for a weekend here, and they did and loved it. My family has been there several times this year, and we have reservations for several more time this fall. I come here several times a year and will continue to do so. It is my home away from home. I could not find a place I enjoy more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The location is great, the main rooms are solid and quaint and offer that "trip back in time" I was expecting but the rooms were in need of regular, necessary maintenance. I never expected anything but "campy" but when you are asking people to pay a fair amount of money one shouldn't have to sleep on a mattress that is probably 40 years old and feels like box springs. I felt the place was clean, but really needed maintenance/upkeep. Lattice on the porch was broken, weeds were growing in the flower pots and around the porches, windows being held in by nails, toilet paper roll holders being held inplace by a screw....I felt like I was in an episode of the twilight zone, and this place is somewhere between the facility on "The Shining" and "Dirty Dancing".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deposit hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deposit
24.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
121 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
24.1 mi away
Grand Royale Hotel
Grand Royale Hotel
#10 of 13 in Binghamton
165 reviews
24.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scott's Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scott's Family Resort

Property: Scott's Family Resort
Address: Scott's Oquaga Lake House, Deposit, NY 13754
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Deposit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deposit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Scott`s Oquaga Lake House Hotel Deposit
Scotts Oquaga Lake Hotel
Scotts Oquaga Lake Deposit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing