We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as we expected”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Deposit, Catskill Region, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BOBALOU06
Silvis, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just as we expected”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From prior reviews, this home was just as we expected. The grounds are huge, plenty of room to play games outside. Inside, the house was very clean and kept up quite well. The bedrooms were quiet and comfortable. There was plenty of room to accomodate the 11 adults in our group. I would recommend that you bring pleny of personal supplies, as local fare is a little scarce. We caught several bass in the pond, swim if you like, we did not. Weather was hot and humid, but the house was really quite comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda C
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful log cabin”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This log cabin is just wonderful, upon arrived and walking out of my car, I feel like I’m walking into a beautiful painting. The cabin is exactly how the owner describes it.
My sisters, their families, and my family had a wonderful time while staying there. My son who loves taking photos took some very beautiful pictures of the milky way. Even though we couldn’t do much outdoor due to the cold weather, we enjoy staying inside with the wood burning stove in the living room. The kids didn’t even want to visit the Howe Cavern and rather stay and play games.
We will definitely return if we ever want to come to upstate NY again.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious and Relaxing”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the second time we have rented this home when we visit family in the Sidney - Bainbridge area. It is very comfortable and convenient. We spend most of our time in the screened porch with the magnificent view. The kitchen is spacious for preparing family meals. Having wi-fi plus a washer, dryer and clothes line is a big plus. We're very grateful to have the opportunity to rent this lovely home. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The glorious rural setting.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just an amazing experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, this house is beautiful. The pictures do not to do it justice at all. My friends wanted to go up to visit the house before our trip, I'm glad they did not because all of our reactions were priceless. It is much more spacious than the pictures lead you to believe, and there seemed to be much more bedding than we thought. The kitchen already had some snack foods such as chips, and baking essentials, and the house was stocked with games and activities to do.
The house was very open, as was the backyard, and very, very secluded. We were unsure if we were going to go in the lake, but those of us who did had a lot of fun despite the fact that the water was freezing since its early June.
Donald and Karen Tensfeld were very, very accommodating in addition. I have had many conversations with them, working out the fine details regarding our stay and they were very kind, caring, and genuinely concerned about our well being and us enjoying our stay.
The house was absolutely perfect for my group (17 people but it can probably hold 20-22 if you bring extra beds/air mattresses). We are already planning a trip to return next summer!

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean12790
1 review
“Beautiful view, very spacious and nicely secluded.”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The place was amazing! The view was beautiful. The region got hit with a lot snow so unfortunately I couldn't take advantage of the pond or the wide open yard. We had 9 people stay there and there was plenty of room everyone got a bed. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked along with the kitchen. The sun room was absolutely gorgeous, it was nice to sit in there and just admire the view.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayRP86
1 review
“It was everything we were hoping for and more!”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A close group of friends and I went up to this beautiful cabin this fall. Before even booking, Don was very helpful with every question I had. Every question was answered through emails within a couple of hours, if not the next day. As to expect, trying to get 10 people to agree on dates and when to pay was a disaster, but the owners were very understanding and patient and worked with us through the whole month of indecision. When the day finally came, it took us 3 and a half hours to get there from the city, but was completely worth it! The place was gorgeous and surrounded by beautiful land which was the reason we picked the place, we are a group of nature freaks. It's surrounded by forest making it perfectly secluded. We ended up hiking through some parts for a couple hours, next time bringing biodegradable tape to mark areas because we almost got lost,but did find our way back! Ok, back to the house. Even though we had 10 it could easily sleep more, the living room is exactly like in the picture if not bigger and we all woke up really early to watch the beautiful sunrise! The beds were good, no one complained. Not one person wanted to leave when the time had to come. If and when we do come back, we definitely need to remember to buy loads of garbage and recycle bags. Feeding 10 people, mostly grown men, for 3 days, I can't even count the amount of trash we needed to clean! All in all, not one thing to complain about! We made great memories here and will definitely come back for more!

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing