We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Done with you dog” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfields Cafe

Butterfields Cafe
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Deposit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Butterfields Cafe features the Best coffee in area. Baked goods are made on premises and our bagels come from NYC. Real home cooking in a relaxed, comfortable setting with seasonal alfresco dining. Daily specials and the cleanest restroom this side of the Hudson. Join us for Breakfast & Lunch daily. Butterfields is available for private parties and catering. Ask about our vacation rental apartment located one block from some of the best Trout fishing in the northeast.
vero beach, fl
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Done with you dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is the one I've been searching for Road and gourmet and beyond reasonable Bubala and I dined al fresco I had a garden fresh salad. I mean the greens were right out of the garden. And Bubala had water in a bowl they provided and a bit of real NYC bagel.
George obviously cools each dish as ordered. So be patient. It's worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thefengshuilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in an unlikely location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

You won't go wrong making your way off I86/Route 17 to try Butterfields. They are easy to find. The food is wonderful - I've never had anything I didn't thoroughly enjoy. The Chef's creations are delicious.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“french toast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

if you want the worlds best french toast try butterfields cafe in deposit ,ny
the Décor was amazing.it's deffinitly an up scale cafe.
all desserts where home made. guess it is true when they say little town cafes are
like eating a home cooked meal. the staff was friendly and Professional and greated
me with a good old country smile. even the chef and owner greated me. thats what
they must mean by country hospitality. with a little city Curtsey of supplying WI_ FI
keep up the great country adventure you supply to travelers. deffinitly will be back . claude

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carmeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deposit, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been fans of Butterfields since it first opened in Deposit. When you want a delicious breakfast, you cannot go wrong here. The french toast is out of this world, and their home fries are the BEST. The coffee is also excellent. Butterfields serves excellent food, and has a charming cafe atmosphere. We love having them here in Deposit, and eat there often for breakfast and lunch. Please visit Butterfields Cafe when you are in the Deposit area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

French toast was out of this world as was the sausage biscuits and gravy. Prices range from about 8 dollars to 12 dollars for breakfast, but its well worth it. The waiter was either somewhat socially awkward or not very friendly, I'm not sure which, but by no means hostile towards us. Great food overall though.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hookerjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfields Cafe also viewed

Deposit, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Big Indian, Catskill Region
 

Been to Butterfields Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing