We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Postgate Inn
Nearby Hotels
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$133
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Grapes Inn(Easington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Larpool Hall(Whitby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
233
64
24
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
64
24
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodsteakthe pubmonkfishmain coursesunday lunchmashcooked to perfectionbar areapuddinglong timeextensive menulovely staffboth nightsevening mealfish and chipslovely place
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 337 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks to Mark, Shelley & the staff for making our weekend perfect. Terrific location, fab hotel, lovely room, delicious food and mint hosts. Will definitely be back soon. Can't recommend it enough, try it!
The Kelly Boys
PS - We went to go ape in Dalby!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekellyfamilydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here on a Sunday night with my boyfriend as a birthday surprise for myself. I loved it! This hotel lies in the tiny Egton Bridge, around 4 miles from Grosmont and 8 miles from Whitby. We checked in at around 6pm. A member of staff came over to where we were unpacking the car and knew my boyfriends name, (he had booked the room). The guy then offered to take our bags up to the room, which we gladly accepted as it was a hot day and we had a lot of bags. The room was great with modern decor and everything we needed. The staff recommended a short walk before dinner, which was down to the only other pub in the village via some stepping stones over the river, which was great. The menu doesn't come in the traditional sense, but on chalk boards around the fire place. Guests can sit in the more informal bar area or the restaurant - I recommend the latter for the type of food that is served. At mains around £18 and starters around £7 or £8, it is pretty pricey, but we both really enjoyed our meals. We went for Scallops and Monkfish and mussels, but passed on dessert as we were full from the first two courses. The breakfast was also great, and you could taste the quality in the full English. Fresh fruit and cereal was also available. Staff were very attentive throughout, and the owner even apologised when he met us after dinner, he had been out with his son. A fantastic hotel and restaurant, where quality and customer service is clearly important to the owners and staff alike. Would recommend to everyone and wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Not to be missed!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie_Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a really lovely country pub with great beers and exceptional food. Forget pub grub this is fine restuarant quality food with an imaginary menu. Reasonable prices and good service. I chose a starter, maincourse and dessert to share with my wife and for lunch it was too much for us. Really good portions

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

High quality home cooked food in at atmospheric period inn with prompt & attentive service.
A wide range of traditional meals, many with a twist; daily specials & locally sourced ingredients.
Excellent value - I would return when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Herbie6590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rooms quite expensive compared to other places, food good but very expensive (Beef Stroganof £18.00) . A couple of pints and a bottle of wine plus room came to over £100, a bit heavy for a walking holiday for one man and his dog, but friendly staff which makes a big difference. The Horseshoe around the corner don't allow dogs in the bedrooms so if you don't have one, stay there. They also do good reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews