We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alays a good meal and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hidden Cafe

The Hidden Cafe
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Delmar
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Alays a good meal and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have to admit - I have the same thing every time I come here - the ravioli tuscana - described in the menu: Imported wild mushroom ravioli with sautéed leeks & julienne roasted red peppers finished in a light cream sauce with pistachio nuts and a whisper of sambuca (an Anise liquor). Sprinkled with toasted pistachio nuts & parmesan cheese.
It is as good as it sounds and I'm hooked. Other meals that my companions have had are always good as well. Inexpensive for the most part - there were four of us - four glasses of wine (their wines by the glass are not high end - $6 each) - and we spent $113 - we just had our entrees though, no appetizers or dessert. This is a consistent, pleasant, very good local restaurant we are lucky to have in Delmar!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I order the Mushroom Ravioli in Sambucca every year on my birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food was delicious. Service is great. Hard to get a table on Friday or Saturday night without reservations

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buzziag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellent mediterranean food, great staff. I have never had a bad meal and even though it is always crowded, it's always worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank piper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
347 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable dinner with family and friends. Good selection of delicious Mediterranean fare done to perfection and enough food for midnight snacks. Comfortable and quiet seating with friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank archman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loving Garlic in Delmar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

For both eat-in and takeout The Hidden Cafe is excellent and we have had it many times over the years. The shopping center ambience may be off putting to some, but once you taste the food, you will forget about it. Service is friendly and prompt, but not rushed. I recently had their ravioli with a Sambuca flavoring that I loved, in spite of the fact that I actually don't really like Sambuca. It was done just right so that the flavor made a positive contribution to the over all dish without overpowering it. When we eat in Delmar The Hidden Cafe is always at the top of our list.

Note: I reserve five stars in a restaurant review for the truly sublime dining experience. That said, The Hidden Cafe is excellent and right up with the best in the region.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PainterRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Hidden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing