We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place!”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After being in bustling cities for the past week, it was a breath of fresh air (literally) to stay in a quiet, rural hotel surrounded by beautiful gardens, flowers, & landscaping. This hotel was very charming - our room/bath were very clean, spacious, & decorated in colors that had a way of soothing your soul. The staff was very friendly & spoke good English. This hotel had a very good restaurant that left us with full & satisfied tummies - amazing food! Breakfast on their terrace was tranquil - surrounded by the quiet of the countryside & the flowers. Good variety of food & good tasting food! The location was nice, be sure to follow the directions on the hotel's website to ensure you don't get lost. We were minutes away from San Gimignano & about 1 hour 30 minutes away from Pisa - so an ideal location to explore Tuscany & the coastal areas. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear guest,
we are really delighted by your post and happy because you appreciated the hotel atmosphere.
We always try to do the best and satisfy the needs of the guests during their journey: comfort of the rooms, quality of the restaurant, let the guest get in touch with a taste of Tuscany proposing our location. And of course, we are very proud when we realize.
Good to advise the next visitors to follow the road direction on our web site, it’s really the best way to find us! A cached location for a tranquil, quite stay. Hope to meet you again, Ciaoooo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hospitality and help, super clean rooms/facilities -- and a great restaurant to boot. I can not say enough about the friendliness and support of the Le Renaie staff on our first visit to Italy. Walter, Baddia, and others outdid themselves on our behalf. What a relaxing and enjoyable time. Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you so much for your post. We are very happy to know we did well, it is always a pleasure to assist our guests, when need information about the area and be able to discover the nicest plays, the best wines and the more tasting traditional food.
A huge ciao from Walter, Badia, Filippo, Elisa and me, at Le Renaie Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff. Food excellent but could do with an extra coffee machine at breakfast. Great base for touring but be aware there are no other places to eat or drink in reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you so much for the nice post on this web site.
You have been very kind with all of us and are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Other places to get food in a short walking distance? No, you are right. Pancole, where we are located, is a very small village in the country side and generally you do not find many places. It is part of a life in the country area, tranquillity, easy life but less opportunities. San Gimignano offers all the needed services, reachable by car better as it is 5 kilometres away. A big ciao from Hotel Le Renaie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent a week here from 7 September 2013 and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We specifically wished to see the Tuscan countryside as well as Florence, Sienna and San Gimignano and picked this hotel as it was ideally located to ensure we didn't have to travel too far to any destination.

The hotel is located in the village of Pancole amid olive groves and vineyards and only a few minutes in the car from San Gimignano. It was very quiet and it was a pleasure to return there after a day out to relax by the pool or in the delightful gardens with a good book and a cold drink.

Our room suited our purposes (although we would opt for a room with a balcony on a return visit) with good ensuite facilities and the fridge proved useful. Air conditioning ensured a comfortable temperature and the cleaning staff were very efficient.

The hotel restaurant advertises typical Tuscan fare and the menu was perfectly sufficient for our purposes with the food being well prepared, beautifully presented and delicious. All the staff we met were both very helpful and pleasant although we felt that service could be a little slow at times in the evening and an extra member of staff would have helped with this.

Overall we really enjoyed our Tuscan holiday and no doubt Le Renaie contributed to this enjoyment. We are happy to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Tuscany and would certainly return ourselves if in the area again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you so much for the nice important post on this web site.
You have been very kind to describe all the hotel services so well, we could not do better! Even in the description of the location, you have given very good information.
We are happy that you enjoyed our food and our … fresh drinks, back to your sightseeing, all the restaurant staff is very proud of his work. We will take good consideration of your suggestion about the staff. We hope to meet you again in the future with many of your friends to which you recommend Hotel Le Renaie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on our honeymoon as we toured Italy. The staff, food, and accommodations were wonderful. This quiet getaway was the ideal Tuscan experience. Located in an olive grove, with a pool and balconies in most of the rooms, we truly felt the peace and quiet of the area. Located a 5 minute drive from San Gimignano, and 10 minutes to the train to Florence in Certaldo, it was a great location.

The restaurant at the hotel is quintessential Tuscan food with great service. We tried a few other places during our stay, but ended up at the restaurant each night, as it was some of the best food we had on our honeymoon.

We also did a wine tasting at Cesani down the road (10 minute walk) for about 10 Euros each. It was a great experience, good deal and nice and close to the hotel!

The only challenge were the beds were not very comfortable. They were very hard, but everything was impeccably clean. I would definitely recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: make sure to get a private balcony - they have a full table, umbrella, chairs and loungers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLT228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words you used to describe our hotel and the area around. The train station at Certaldo is a very good suggestion for everyone would visit Florence, staying in the area of Pancole.
Our chef Sandra, Leonetto’s daughter, would especially thank you, his hard work has received a right compensation with your introduction to the restaurant services.
I invited Cesani to read your comments, they appreciate as well. I’m very happy when we are able all together, to get the guests in touch with the taste of Tuscany. That’s the real journey.
I’ sorry for the bad sleeping, usually the people prefer a hard mattress, instead of soft.
All of us at Le Renaie, we look forward to meet you again, in the future. I promise we will provide a soft bed for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

recently returned from a two-week stay at La Renaie. Comfortable room which was spotless. Sheets changed regularly as were the white fluffy towels! Air-conditioning meant that we slept well in extremely hot weather. The hotel is peaceful and offers a truly Tuscan experience with a good selection of traditional food and wine. The staff were all helpful and charming. My friend and I did not have a car which was something of a handicap but we used the once-a week bus to San Gimigniano and walked the six kilometers several times. A taxi back cost 15 euros. Good transport links from San Gim.by bus (Sienna,Florence) or to the nearby train station. We travelled by bus to Colle di Valle Este (well worth a visit)' to the hilltop village of Monteriggione and visited the town of Certaldo, somewhat off the tourist track but an interesting and typical hill town. San Gimigniano is wonderful. The duomo and museum are fantastic and the shop selling
the "best ice-cream in the world" is not lying!
To return to the lovely La Renaie at the end of a busy day was the cherry on top of the cake.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony (our choice) but would definitely pay the extra next time. Rooms with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear guests,
We thank you for the comments on this pages but would give many many thanks for staying with us despite without a car and for 15 days!! Please accept all our compliments for the long walking you had for your sightseeing. What you are saying is very important for the guests that sometime reach us without their own car. They are desperate because they cannot move. Just a bit energy, you demonstrated to get. will be enough.
Good the information about the area around, may I make a simple correction? The right name of the city you mentioned is Colle Val d’Elsa.
We hope to meet you again in the future, with a huge HELLO from Hotel Le Renaie and its staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a 3 day weekend during July in San Gimignano during our 3 month European Adventure and have always used Trip Advisor when selecting our hotels. On this occasion i can tell you that Trip Advisor got it wrong!

On arrival at Le Renaie, we were greeted with a very un-interested receptionist who made us feel like we were a chore for her to check us in. It was 4pm and our room wasn't ready. We were asked to wait for 'a while' for our room. 1 hour and 55 mins later (with no apology or offer of a glass of water even) we were given the room keys to the most depressing room ('box' or 'cell' would more aptly describe the room).

Given the extra hours they had to clean the room you would hope that it was spotless but im afraid to say it wasnt. Not by any means! My wife pulled back the sheets to find curly hairs!!! Clearly the sheets were not changed!

The bathroom had hair all over the floor and the shower was mouldy.

I feel that either we were given the worst room in the hotel or all of the reviews on here are totally inaccurate.

The hotel grounds looked like their gardener was on holidays, and had been for some time!

When i asked the receptionist why the hotel was rated so highly on Trip Advisor but in relality was extremely poor and in need of some serious tlc she replied that if we didnt like it that we didnt have to stay there!!! Definitely not what i expected to hear!!!

We did spend one night, after we got replacement sheets (of which we were handed through the door and told to make it ourselves) but couldnt stand it any longer so we checked out and left.

For a much better option i recommend you stay at Hotel Vecchio Asilo - money well spent! Too bad we were refused a refund from Le Renaie for the 2 nights not used.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Brian, we have seen with great attention ( and surprise ) your review. We did contact TripAdvisor and required to remove the review itself with greatest possible priority, as published in the wrong Hotel profile. We are sure you never stayed at Hotel Le Renaie, by Pancole of San Gimignano, Siena province. We feel this is a pure mistake and you may have stayed at a property in tuscany, perhaps not too far from here, with a similar name. I am sure, if you will review your travel documents you will see the correct name and contacts of the hotel that hosted your stay. For any further information, please feel free to contact us privately and be always confident in our kindness and assistance. kindest regards Paola Verdolini - Reception and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,323 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
659 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range: $88 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing