We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscan countryside”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent a week here from 7 September 2013 and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We specifically wished to see the Tuscan countryside as well as Florence, Sienna and San Gimignano and picked this hotel as it was ideally located to ensure we didn't have to travel too far to any destination.

The hotel is located in the village of Pancole amid olive groves and vineyards and only a few minutes in the car from San Gimignano. It was very quiet and it was a pleasure to return there after a day out to relax by the pool or in the delightful gardens with a good book and a cold drink.

Our room suited our purposes (although we would opt for a room with a balcony on a return visit) with good ensuite facilities and the fridge proved useful. Air conditioning ensured a comfortable temperature and the cleaning staff were very efficient.

The hotel restaurant advertises typical Tuscan fare and the menu was perfectly sufficient for our purposes with the food being well prepared, beautifully presented and delicious. All the staff we met were both very helpful and pleasant although we felt that service could be a little slow at times in the evening and an extra member of staff would have helped with this.

Overall we really enjoyed our Tuscan holiday and no doubt Le Renaie contributed to this enjoyment. We are happy to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Tuscany and would certainly return ourselves if in the area again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guests,
we thank you so much for the nice important post on this web site.
You have been very kind to describe all the hotel services so well, we could not do better! Even in the description of the location, you have given very good information.
We are happy that you enjoyed our food and our … fresh drinks, back to your sightseeing, all the restaurant staff is very proud of his work. We will take good consideration of your suggestion about the staff. We hope to meet you again in the future with many of your friends to which you recommend Hotel Le Renaie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Renaie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 254 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on our honeymoon as we toured Italy. The staff, food, and accommodations were wonderful. This quiet getaway was the ideal Tuscan experience. Located in an olive grove, with a pool and balconies in most of the rooms, we truly felt the peace and quiet of the area. Located a 5 minute drive from San Gimignano, and 10 minutes to the train to Florence in Certaldo, it was a great location.

The restaurant at the hotel is quintessential Tuscan food with great service. We tried a few other places during our stay, but ended up at the restaurant each night, as it was some of the best food we had on our honeymoon.

We also did a wine tasting at Cesani down the road (10 minute walk) for about 10 Euros each. It was a great experience, good deal and nice and close to the hotel!

The only challenge were the beds were not very comfortable. They were very hard, but everything was impeccably clean. I would definitely recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: make sure to get a private balcony - they have a full table, umbrella, chairs and loungers!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLT228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words you used to describe our hotel and the area around. The train station at Certaldo is a very good suggestion for everyone would visit Florence, staying in the area of Pancole.
Our chef Sandra, Leonetto’s daughter, would especially thank you, his hard work has received a right compensation with your introduction to the restaurant services.
I invited Cesani to read your comments, they appreciate as well. I’m very happy when we are able all together, to get the guests in touch with the taste of Tuscany. That’s the real journey.
I’ sorry for the bad sleeping, usually the people prefer a hard mattress, instead of soft.
All of us at Le Renaie, we look forward to meet you again, in the future. I promise we will provide a soft bed for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

recently returned from a two-week stay at La Renaie. Comfortable room which was spotless. Sheets changed regularly as were the white fluffy towels! Air-conditioning meant that we slept well in extremely hot weather. The hotel is peaceful and offers a truly Tuscan experience with a good selection of traditional food and wine. The staff were all helpful and charming. My friend and I did not have a car which was something of a handicap but we used the once-a week bus to San Gimigniano and walked the six kilometers several times. A taxi back cost 15 euros. Good transport links from San Gim.by bus (Sienna,Florence) or to the nearby train station. We travelled by bus to Colle di Valle Este (well worth a visit)' to the hilltop village of Monteriggione and visited the town of Certaldo, somewhat off the tourist track but an interesting and typical hill town. San Gimigniano is wonderful. The duomo and museum are fantastic and the shop selling
the "best ice-cream in the world" is not lying!
To return to the lovely La Renaie at the end of a busy day was the cherry on top of the cake.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony (our choice) but would definitely pay the extra next time. Rooms with balc...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear guests,
We thank you for the comments on this pages but would give many many thanks for staying with us despite without a car and for 15 days!! Please accept all our compliments for the long walking you had for your sightseeing. What you are saying is very important for the guests that sometime reach us without their own car. They are desperate because they cannot move. Just a bit energy, you demonstrated to get. will be enough.
Good the information about the area around, may I make a simple correction? The right name of the city you mentioned is Colle Val d’Elsa.
We hope to meet you again in the future, with a huge HELLO from Hotel Le Renaie and its staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a 3 day weekend during July in San Gimignano during our 3 month European Adventure and have always used Trip Advisor when selecting our hotels. On this occasion i can tell you that Trip Advisor got it wrong!

On arrival at Le Renaie, we were greeted with a very un-interested receptionist who made us feel like we were a chore for her to check us in. It was 4pm and our room wasn't ready. We were asked to wait for 'a while' for our room. 1 hour and 55 mins later (with no apology or offer of a glass of water even) we were given the room keys to the most depressing room ('box' or 'cell' would more aptly describe the room).

Given the extra hours they had to clean the room you would hope that it was spotless but im afraid to say it wasnt. Not by any means! My wife pulled back the sheets to find curly hairs!!! Clearly the sheets were not changed!

The bathroom had hair all over the floor and the shower was mouldy.

I feel that either we were given the worst room in the hotel or all of the reviews on here are totally inaccurate.

The hotel grounds looked like their gardener was on holidays, and had been for some time!

When i asked the receptionist why the hotel was rated so highly on Trip Advisor but in relality was extremely poor and in need of some serious tlc she replied that if we didnt like it that we didnt have to stay there!!! Definitely not what i expected to hear!!!

We did spend one night, after we got replacement sheets (of which we were handed through the door and told to make it ourselves) but couldnt stand it any longer so we checked out and left.

For a much better option i recommend you stay at Hotel Vecchio Asilo - money well spent! Too bad we were refused a refund from Le Renaie for the 2 nights not used.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Brian, we have seen with great attention ( and surprise ) your review. We did contact TripAdvisor and required to remove the review itself with greatest possible priority, as published in the wrong Hotel profile. We are sure you never stayed at Hotel Le Renaie, by Pancole of San Gimignano, Siena province. We feel this is a pure mistake and you may have stayed at a property in tuscany, perhaps not too far from here, with a similar name. I am sure, if you will review your travel documents you will see the correct name and contacts of the hotel that hosted your stay. For any further information, please feel free to contact us privately and be always confident in our kindness and assistance. kindest regards Paola Verdolini - Reception and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent a week at Le Renaie with our two teenage children. We had a fantastic stay. The hotel is family run with friendly staff who were always willing to help. We arrived mid afternoon after the restaurant had closed but the receptionist was still able to produce a lunch for the four of us using fresh ingredients. We stayed half board and can highly recommend the restaurant, especially the fresh pasta, wild boar and local wines. The hotel is ideally situated as a base for exploring Tuscany. It's about an 80 minute drive from Pisa airport. There's also a train station in Certaldo which is only 15 minutes away by car and has ample free parking. We used the train to travel to Florence and Siena. The hotel has an outside pool that was great to return to after a hard day's site seeing during July. As with the rest of the hotel and garden the pool and surrounding area was clean, tidy and well maintained. There was also a table tennis table available to keep teenage children amused while their parents relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear gentle guest,

many thanks for your feedback to this important web site.
The given information full of details respect exactly what Hotel Le Renaie is. The hotel facilities, the location, the central position of our house is able to offer a special journey sightseeing one of the nicest area of Tuscany and take some relaxing time to the pool, in the flowered garden. We are glad that you appreciate our hospitality, simple atmosphere, the cuisine, the job of the staff, by the Tuscan way. A warm hello from Pancole – Le Renaie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Looking down the hill through the humid haze, across a Tuscan valley of vineyards and olive groves, while sipping cold "aqua minerale con gasso" and wine next to pom-pom heaps of multi-colored geraniums and hydrangeas on the outdoor front portico-restaurant of Hotel Le Renaie -- is my favorite memory of our recent trip to Italy. (July 2013) We only stayed two days, but should have stayed a week to enjoy the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of the helpful staff.

We loved meeting the neat, non-English-speaking owner who might have been a little over five feet tall with his clipped, gray-pearl hair. He tended the bar, recommended wines, walked the beautiful grounds, and kindly tried to answer questions from non-Italian-speaking tourists. Their waiters were very accommodating and spoke English quite well. The front desk manager was very kind, efficient and helpful when we arrived to check-in and eat, just as their kitchen was closing. (Andrea Bocelli's benefit concert at a country villa venue had clogged the two-lane black top roads we were on for hours outside the small Northwestern town of Lajatico, Tuscany, where he was born). Le Renaie's kitchen staff fed us, even when we arrived at 9PM. Their meals were very good, but their wild boar dishes were excellent, especially when served with smiles, hand-made pasta, and such lovely views!

On our second day, after touring San Gimignano and climbing its tallest defensive bell tower on a very hot afternoon, we were too tired for a dip in the lovely, hedge-and-flower-surrounded pool behind the hotel, privately perched on a raised terrace. We would've liked to have stayed longer to relax and enjoy a wine & food tour of the countryside or perhaps use it as a base from which to tour Volterre, but we already had pre-paid reservations in Sienna.

Hotel Le Renaie is located several miles from San Gimignano, outside the community of Pancole, and can be somewhat difficult to for non-locals to find. From San Gimignano, take the right fork at the roundabout (watch for Pancole), proceed up hill for a mile or two, take a right when the road dead-ends, then follow it through the one-lane underpass under the Pancole church (stop and honk if it is dark to make sure no one is coming the other way), and continue beyond the tight little village another mile or so past other B&Bs and agriturismos until you see the small sign or lion pedestals on the left. It is not advisable to try to find it after dark. Most locals we encountered do not speak English, are not very good with directions (pointing in the opposite direction?), but are friendly.

Room Tip: If it is summer, keep your window shutters closed so that your room will remain cool during the day...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaAdvisorGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear gentle guest,

many many thanks for your important description of Le Renaie Hotel, surrounding and thanks as well for giving road direction to reach us. You did a better job than we! It might be very helpful, with the booked guests to the hotel. Often the big companies do not furnish guests of the direction, even if we have given them to everybody.
Your description is so complete and full of details, that we cannot expect a better one!
Mr. Leonetto, the owner that you mentioned was very impressed and thank you for your nice words; he says: it’s my job, in my house, I’m very proud to welcome my guests, in the better possible way I learnt simply on working and I’m happy when my staff follow me.
All of us at Le Renaie, look forward to meet you again in the future for a long relaxing stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have returned from a 5 day stay at the hotel - the food was amazing and the staff were very useful in helping us to get to places. We really enjoyed being so close to San Gimingnano. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Many many thanks,
for your feedback. You are very nice. Yes you are right: the vicinity to San Gimignano allows the visitors to reach easily the most important Tuscan locations. On the other side, the distance to the main centre consents visitors a relaxing peaceful stay.
Regards from Le Renaie Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range: $95 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing