We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway break”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great getaway break”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have returned from a 5 day stay at the hotel - the food was amazing and the staff were very useful in helping us to get to places. We really enjoyed being so close to San Gimingnano. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Many many thanks,
for your feedback. You are very nice. Yes you are right: the vicinity to San Gimignano allows the visitors to reach easily the most important Tuscan locations. On the other side, the distance to the main centre consents visitors a relaxing peaceful stay.
Regards from Le Renaie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    89
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
52
150
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After completing a cruise from Barcelona to Venice we headed south in a hired car to a small place called Pancole. This is where we would spend the next 5 nights. Our very comfortable room looked out over vines and olive trees.
The hotel is close to many historical places in Tuscany which are accessible by car or train.

Driving through the countryside is both challenging and spectacular.
Their restaurant is also good value for money
Well worth it - give it a bash

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for the nice comment about us and the area around. You had a nice journey, the cruise in the Mediterranean sea and 5 days with us, in the beautiful green hills of Tuscany. So they are at the moment, the best period of the year for the nature and greenery!
Hope to meet you again with a green hello from Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerwys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just arrived home after staying at La Renaie for a wonderful week. La Renaie is a family run hotel set in the rolling landscape of Tuscany . The view from our balcony was of a lovely garden, woodland, vines, olive trees and medieval hilltop villages with their towers and cypress trees. We woke everyday to a chorus of birdsong. We walked along the Via Francegenia lined with a filigree of wild flowers. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was easygoing and peaceful..just what we needed. The food and local wine was soooo tasty. We easily drove to Siena ( magical) and hopped on a train at nearby Certaldo ( great coffee and pastry cafe outside station) to Florence ...Well worth the visit...La Renaie is at the heart of beautiful Tuscany and away from busy tourist spots at the end of your day .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marymaryqqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guests,
many many thanks for your fantastic description of the hotel and the area around (better than an advertiser!!). Your comment was specially nice for us, as we are going to realise a photo gallery of the wonderland for our web site. It will be ready I hope in a short time and you can have a look later on, may be you will recognise the flowers, the panoramas you passed through, walking the via Francigena. We would be happy to meet you again in the future, with a warm hello from Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Family run hotel in the Tuscan countryside close to San Gimi although a car is essential in order to visit the many medieval towns nearby. Homely atmosphere with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Comfy lounge with outdoor seating, pool and gardens. Large bedrooms with safe, firm bed and good storage space. Bathroom more than reasonably sized although the corner (quadrant-shaped) shower cubicle was on the small side. Other rooms also have a bath. Breakfast choice was sufficient although the cooked option was poor and coffee was from a vending machine but tasted fine. Evening meals were very good, well served (thanks to Walter) and better than that offered at the neighbouring hotel when Le Renaie is closed on Tuesdays. A very enjoyable and relaxing stay after a city break in Florence beforehand.

Room Tip: Could request a balcony for 20 euros per night but normal rooms were large enough and had restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandab4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
many thanks for your nice words about the hotel and location. We particularly thank you for the comments about the restaurant, Sandra the chef and Walter the waiter, they are still smiling all the day long, after reading your writing!!
About the breakfast, we are happy to prepare the most requested cooked foods for that service, depending essentially on the hotel guests uses and we will be glad to receive suggestions to improve. We would be happy to meet you again in the future, with a warm hello from Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Pirie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has magnificent views in true Tuscan style. Gorgeous sunsets that slowly fall over the hills before melting onto the terracotta roof-scapes. The rooms were quite spacious for Italy, clean and the staff are friendly.

The actual hotel is not as central as some, but as we had hired a car - distance was not an issue.
It's a smaller "boutique" type hotel and has a nice warm feel to it. Family owned and run, with pleasant gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
many many thanks for your kindness. You used a very nice description to introduce our home and facilities. As you liked the gardens, than we invite you to come back during the good season when the plants are blooming and all around is a palette of colours! A warm hello from all of us at Le Renaie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for one night and had a lovely stay. Our room was very nice and well maintained with a large balcony. The surrounding area is beautiful - rolling hills, vineyards, and San Gimignano's buildings visible in the distance. The hotel is a short drive to the 'city' center. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had no issues with our booking. In my opinion it is much more than a three star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest, I would warmly thank you to the feedback you leaved on this web.
It is very kind of you for saying every thing, just in few words. I hope to meet you again in the future … may be a little longer the next time? Hello from Le Renaie Hotel
Paola Verdolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great rural location handy for San Gimignano village. Clean, spacious room. Nice pool area. Very friendly and helpful staff - fixed a light bulb as soon as asked. We booked half-board and evening meals were tasty local cuisine. Always some choice and menu changed over the week so we always looked forward to trying something new. Food standards way better than larger package places and I'd say excellent given prices and the fact this is a three star hotel.

Plenty of social space inside and out so you could relax if that was what you wanted. An excellent base for visits to Florence, Siena although would advise having a car.

Downside? No significant problems. Breakfast buffet had lots of variety but as others have noted the hot food did run low some days towards the end of the slot. However, breakfast staff were always helpful and willing to sort you anything you needed.

I'd recommend Le Renaie highly and would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies. We were on the side nearest the minor road and this was perfectly qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for the good information you leaved on the site.
If a family small hotel in the country side means a driving distance, means to rent a car, means some time to get trouble in finding the right way to get there, on the other side the offered standard in the accommodations, in the facilities, in the kitchen preparations are better and some times unexpected, as you realised directly. Although, the distances to the most interesting sites are not bad, many are the opportunities of a one day trip from here.
Thank you also for recommending us to your friends. Together with the staff, I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
167 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,204 reviews
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,288 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
656 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Property: Hotel Le Renaie
Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing