We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job!”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just the job!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the first time I have ever bothered to write a review.
We returned on Sept. 22nd after a one week stay. No moans, groans or complaints just praise for this delightful, individual hotel.
The location is beautiful and peaceful. After a day out it was great to just shower and relax with a pre-dinner drink.
We ate in the restaurant every night (the menu changed 3 times during our stay) The food and the service were excellent. The meat and pasta dishes were particularly delicious and the terrace setting is perfect. The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays but the alternative one provided (10 minutes drive away) was fine.
Smiley and efficient staff with a great sense of humour. Any requests were dealt with promptly and politely during the whole of our stay.

We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest, we thank you and have appreciated a lot what you said about us.
The title it is a honour for us! I can assure that all of us try every day to give the best with simpleness and sincere affection. Your satisfaction is the best price we can get.
We hope to meet you again, Paola & all the staff at Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    88
    33
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
145
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As a couple we have just returned back to the UK after an excellent 7 night holiday
We found the hotel by chanmce on the net and were not dissapointed . It is ideally loctated in the hills and for us proved to be a perfect base for travelling out in the Chianti Region or further afield to Sienna and Florence ( by train ). The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff are warm and friendly without exception. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
We prefered to dine out from the hotel but did make use of the restaurant twice. If anything was dissapointing it was the range of breakfast options which was limited depending on what time you surfaced!
Special thanks to Paola for her humour, coffee making ( !) impressive language skills and for her knowledge of where to the avoid the tourists!
Sat here in th UK with heavy rain pounding outside we are thinking we should have booked a second week!

Room Tip: take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidb186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guests,
all of us at the Hotel Le Renaie, we thank you so much for the comments you leaved about staying with us. It is a pleasure to realise we did a good job, always the guests satisfaction is a great value for a hotel. We will take consideration of what you say about breakfast and verify what is possible to do and improve. Many, many personal thanks from me, I love to suggest the guests what they can visit nearby, even the little cached places and I hope to welcome you again in the future with my … caffe e latte !!! Bye from Pancole. Paola Verdolini / chief of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had actually booked another establishment in San Gimignano, but, on arrival, a faulty aircon system meant that staying there would have been uncomfortable in such high temperatures.
The owner of that venue helped us link up to the wonderful world wide web and we soon selected La Renaie as an alternative.
We arrived within 20 minutes of making the booking and everything was perfect.
Easy parking, a great welcome, clean bedroom and bathroom, and a welcoming swimming pool to cool us down.
The place seems to be run by an extended family, and they were all fantastically efficient and friendly - simply couldn't fault them at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmy9765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest, we thank you so much for the comments you put on this web, you have been very kind. You are correct, the hotel is run by a local family. All the owners are working at the hotel, Mr Leonetto & his wife Mariana, the daughter Sandra who take care of the kitchen every day. They are not alone but helped by a staff of 6 persons. Working in the company since a long time, some times we can feel like at home. We hope to meet you again in the future and send a warm hello from Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Recently returned from a 2 week holiday staying at the Le Renaie and had a great time. I emailed ahead to confirm room arrangements and got a very helpful reply. When we arrived due to our length of stay they upgraded us to a room with balcony. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the hotel is comfortable and clean. The real star is the restaurant, which is open to the public as well as hotel guests. We stayed half board and had our choice of three courses from the same menu as everyone else. The food is fantastic which is shown in the popularity of the place. The location is great for exploring Tuscany but is a nicer quiet area to stay in. I would recommend the hotel and restaurant and would definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear guest,
the property, my colleagues and I, we read you comments with pleasure and are pleased to know your feedback. I think you have just recommended the best opportunities on staying with us and I thank you again for being so helpful.
I should say also, your satisfaction is our satisfaction as well, the best price a hotel might receive.
I hope to meet you again in the future and send warm regards from Le Renaie
Paola Verdolini chief of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights here as part of a cycling trip of the region. We had a lovely welcome and the staff were all really friendly throughout our stay. The room was very simple with 2 singles pushed together rather than a true double, but it was clean and comfortable. The pool area looked quite nice although the weather we had wasn't great for swimming. There's a pretty, well maintained garden area (like with everywhere in this region, where there's greenery there's Mosquitos) The restaurant was very good, although slightly limited (and rather salty - maybe a personal thing) vegetarian choice. My husband was delighted with his meat and had one of the best meals of our trip.
Pancole itself is very picturesque but extremely tiny and quiet so if staying for any length of time you'll definitely need your own transport to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear guest,
the property, my colleagues and I, we read you comments with pleasure and are pleased to get a so good feedback. I think you have realised exactly what we can offer (including the mosquitoes in the summer). I’m sorry for that but that’s what we have to pay for staying in a quite place in the country, surrounded by a green flowered garden.
Salty meals … yes may be, Tuscany is famous for its very tasting food! That’s why we have no salt at all in the bread. If you’ll return for a stay with us, please do not forget to advise the waiter you prefer less salty food.
I hope to meet you again in the future and send warm regards from Le Renaie.
Paola Verdolini / chief of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My Husband an i spent our 2 week honeymoon here and it was absolutely perfect! The hotel itself is beautiful, very clean and comfortable. The room had a balcony that looked over the gardens and the room and bathroom were large and well maintained. The restaurant at the hotel is fantastic! we ended up eating here most nights as the food was simply amazing (my husband has fallen in love with the wild boar they served and is desperately trying to find some in England!).
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, in particular Elisa, Valter and Badia who made sure our trip was just perfect, they went above and beyond to ensure we were happy and i have never encountered such friendly and polite staff, fantastic!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, the pool was clean and just perfect for the really hot days when we just wanted to chill out. It is located 10 mins drive from San Gimignano and was very easy to find.
We loved every minute, very sad to leave and we will DEFINATELY be returning! Thanks to all at Le Renaie, you made our Honeymoon a trip to remember! xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear guest,
we thank you so much for all the good things you are saying about us, a pleasant surprise.
The most pleasant surprise was for Valter, Badia, Elisa, my colleagues, who like to thank you with a big hug from Pancole. On the other side, all of us we are happy because we could participate and realise your honeymoon according with your expectations.
With the hope to welcome you again, find warm regards from Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is the prefect base for exploring the beautiful area of Tuscany. It has a warm, welcoming and relaxed feel. The staff are helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for 4 nights on a half-board basis and this was perfect as it meant we could take day trips to the surrounding area (Pisa, Lucca, Siena...) and come back to some well-cooked food. The evening dinner menu has a wide choice of food, from pizza to T-bone steak, and an extensive wine list (many are locally produced). We even had the pleasure of eating at one of the sister hotels as the restuarant is closed on Tuesdays (it was the spa one and the food was divine!) The surrounding area is breath-taking- we would recommend the hilly drive to Castellina in Chianti for wonderful views over the Tuscan countryside. The only niggle we have is that there wasn't a courtesy room with shower to use on the day of departure, once we had checked out (we had an evening flight), although they did offer us the use of a private room for a charge of 30 Euros. Overall, it is clear that the family and staff care about their hotel and guests as they give their personal touch. We would definately consider returning and recommend it to anyone planning to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear guest,
we thank you so much for all the good things you are saying about us, a pleasant surprise.
It is a pleasure for every body here, the staff, the property to get confirmation of the job, we are trying to do at the best possible every day.
I regret about the shower we do not have, we offered the lonely opportunity available for guests on a late check out.
With the hope to welcome you again, find warm regards from Le Renaie. Paola Verdolini chief of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
613 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,189 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 30 in San Gimignano
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,274 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Property: Hotel Le Renaie
Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing