We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for Your Tuscanny Stay”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Laurel, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Your Tuscanny Stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and we found the place quiet, peaceful, and beautifully located high in the hills of Tuscany. We found the location to a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of Venice and other cities. We could read a book in the outdoor garden, take a nap in the lobby or just visit in the beauty of the area. The staff was friendly, very helpful, informative and accommodating. They even fixed us lunch the day we arrived in late afternoon after the restaurant was closed.........and DO NOT miss having the T-Bone steak...as good as we ever had in Kansas City..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear guest, I personally thank you for the kind words. I’m happy you enjoyed the stay with us, as well the hotel facilities and the restaurant. We wish your suggestions will invite Americans to come and visit us. Sorry to be late in replying, due to the hard work. Regards. Paola Verdolini, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    89
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
52
150
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a cycling holiday. It had been built up by our tour company but was very definitely NOT worth the ride up the hill in 35degree heat. Service was friendly enough (in a grumpy, Italian sort of way), but on our second night at dinner it took half an hour to take an order, then a further half hour before any food appeared. It was only after our starters had been served and enquirer where the wine was that they told us they didn't have the wine we had ordered. To add insult to injury the meal was only fried chicken (bet Tony Blair didn't get fried chicken). They did not give us the menu choices our tour company had negotiated.
The room was clean and ok but nothing special, quite small but the balcony was nice. The bath had not been sealed properly so when you stood in it to have a shower all the water ran down the wall, between the bath and the wall and all over the bathroom floor (half an inch deep all over by the time I had finished my shower). Air conditioning could not cope with the heat.
Pool area was small and a little tired.
It is definitely nozzle central - bitten, bitten, bitten!
Breakfast ok but not replenished quickly enough and coffee from a machine.

Oh, and too much faded looking chintz everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear guest, I thank you for being so kind and get the time to leave your advise on the web. I regret you didn’t find what you were expecting from the hotel where staying after kilometres of cycling tours. Please find all my admiration to be able and cycle the Tuscan hills under the sun in Summer! Paola Verdolini, in charge of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Out of the way but that's what we wanted. Lovely restaurant. Friendly staff. Rooms OK.....But why do you have to charge for the (extra) swimming towels?

Room Tip: bring suntan lotion not alot of shade around pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for the kind attention and for the lovely comments. Extra charge for the pool towels is required because it is not included in the room rate. In the most, guests have their own. Paola Verdolini, in charge of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel was listed as a 3 star hotel. Traveling from Los Angeles, USA with very high expectations I was unsatisfied with most of the 4 star hotels in Italy until I reached this hotel! This hotel deserve to be listed as a 4 star. Facility was great including free Wi-Fi, clean air conditioned rooms, and and a nice pool. It is a drive to get to this location but I highly recommend this place. I traveled with my family and my five and eight year old children and they all had a blast. The breakfast and the food in general was great. Thank you guys in Le Renaie for all your help!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdardashti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear guest, I can recognise your wife and you from the imagine. Many thanks for the good words about us. All the staff and I, we have a great souvenir of the meeting with your family, it has been a pleasure to assist you. I hope to meet you again in the future. Sorry to be late in replying due to the hard work of the season. Paola Verdolini, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We enjoyed our week at Le Renaie - it's quiet, out of the way, with pleasant staff and decent food. However, the sense we got was of some renovation needing doing - the air conditioning never quite got working properly, and the food, though good, wasn't the gastronomic delight that I think it has been previously.
So...good, but not great. And it's worth asking for one of the balcony rooms at the front, though it's an upgrade - we didn't - and it was a bit dark at the end of the corridor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear guest, I thank you for the comments you wonted to leave on this web site and for the suggestions. We will pay more attention for the future. Paola Verdolini, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here as we were joining our son later on in the week to attend his wedding. The place is so different from a bucket and spade holiday. It was so peaceful that at first my husband was whispering all the time. You must get a balcony room as the views are to die for and the smell of honey suckle on your balcony just adds to the beauty of this place.

Nothing was too much trouble. the rooms were spotless with fresh fluffy towels every day. Italy can be very expensive, but the prices here were very reasonable.

On many occasions we had the pool to ourselves, it was like having your own private Villa.

The Proprietor is obviousley very proud of his garden, the flowers are beautiful and he is there every day watering his plants.

The breakfast is fantasitc, lots and lost of joice, with freashfruit salad and freashly made cakes every day. You must try this place, it's one in a million and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyNormanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear guest thank you for the nice words and for the beautiful poetic description of our house. We hope your would come and enjoy again our simple hospitality. Paola Verdolini, reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

A nice clean hotel, with friendly staff and good food. It was far enough off the main road so that you could relax without the hustle and bustle of traffic and other holiday makers. The selection of wines was excellent and if in doubt ask one of the waiters to guide you through the selection, but beware, some wines are expensive. The rooms were cleaned every day, with clean towels and bedding. If possible, try and get a room with a balcony so that you can sit out in a little bit of privacy if you wish, and a nice place to sit and sample some of the wines that you bought after your evening meal. Breakfast is typical, with a selection of cheeses, hams, cakes etc. However, the coffee is not what I would call up to scratch, maybe because it comes out of a machine. Breakfast does not start till 07:30 so if you are an early bird it can be a long wait till your first cup of coffee or tea. A minor issue though. The evening meal is 12 hours later and if you have had a long day it can be a long wait, so fill up at breakfast, but the evening meals were well worth the wait.
However the hotel waiters and chefs have Tuesday nights off so you have to make alternative eating arrangements, and if you are full or half board, you can choose one of two of their sister hotels to eat at at no extra cost. We chose the trattoria which is about 5km away and that was very nice, however a couple we met chose the other restaurant and thought it a little too formal after a days sightseeing but said the food was excellent.
One big tip, is if you are driving there and are using a sat nav, may I suggest that you only type in the village name, Pancole, and not the full address otherwise you may end up in the middle of San Gimignano like we did and that is not a very good idea. There was the same problem with Google maps. Once in Pancole, drive along the road and through a small tunnel with the church above and the hotel is about 200 yards on the right.
Places to see: Well all the main city's, Florence, Siena, Pisa, San Gimignano, Lucca etc, but is worth taking the side road and ending up in one of the mountain top villages such as Voltera. Be warned though, Siena, is a nightmare to park in, we arrived at 0900 and all the car parks were full, Pisa is a pretty awful place, and that is only my opinion, but worth a visit just for the tower and Duomo. Florence is a must, but make sure you allow at least a very full day, and if possible two, so much to see and absorb. Lucca was a nice little spot with easy parking and a nice walk around the city walls. And as for San Gimignano another little jewel in Tuscany. Get into town early, to avoid the onslaught of tourists and have a good look around, a trip up the tower is advisable to see the town from up above and the surrounding area. Again, car parking is expensive and hard to find if you get there late.
All in all a great place and hotel with friendly people and excellent food. Would we go back again? Maybe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paratrooper216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,292 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
747 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Property: Hotel Le Renaie
Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing