We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

Cross Gates Fish and Chips
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Crossgates
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional fish & chips served in contemporary surroundings. We cater for gluten free. Poached fish is also available. We do an afternoon special between 2-3.30 which includes small haddock & chips/tea/bread & butter at £5.25 per head. Please note we close Sunday/Monday/Tuesday We open Wednesday/Thursday/Friday/Saturday. Our opening times are 11.30am until 7.30pm. Please note last orders in the café are 6.30pm.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Best fish and chips I've ever had with excellent service and value for money! Highly recommended and well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have been using Crossgates for 3 years now since discovering it quite by chance (it being off of the beaten track) we visit scarborough twice a year and Crossgates is always out first port of call. We have never had a poor meal, the quality and service have never been below par. This place is a real little gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Came upon this Restaurant on our way to see the Firework display at Scarborough and what a great surprise Our Friend who was with us was well catered for with a choice of menu which has to be Gluten Free,we three had Cod and Chips which was the best we have had in a Restaurant on the East Coast.Looking forward to a return in the coming months.Excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is something very special about this place it's a chippy but a restaurant too... situated just off the roundabout at crossgates ..it is simply quality ..the most cleanest well laid out chippy I have ever been in...I have been here several times when we holiday in the area and it's always been top quality food and is now rated one of the top five in the north east very good quality and a reasonable price....visit here and you will not be disappointed
fantastic

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1971andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick tea”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal.beautiful chips and lovely cod and fish goujons.we sat down to eat.pleasant and courteous waitress.cant complain about anything and will certainly eat here again. Oh and a lovely cup of tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Gates Fish and Chips also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Seamer, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cross Gates Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing