We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a group of 4 stay in Tier 1 tent camping for 3 days & 2 nights, Thurs - Sat. Everything was easy to access, staff were all professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. Rides, grounds, camp area, washrooms, and showers were all clean and well maintained. When someone made a mess in one bathroom stall while I was there, staff detected it and cleaned it up quickly. Food is plentiful, and unlike some other parks they don't gouge on price. It would still be cheaper to have meals in your camp area; but eating in the various restaurants and kiosks is NOT a rip off. I found it usually within a couple dollars of normal fast food pricing. SIt-down restaurants have good service and sizable portions. Crowds and lines were larger on Saturday, as anyone would expect. Hitting rides on a weekday found waits of only a few minutes at most rides. Weekday evening had some rides wide open with no wait. Each night ended with an excellent laser light show. Security presence is pervasive but unobtrusive 24hrs a day. After three very active days, we still never rode everything, saw more than one show, or experienced everything there is to see and do. We need more time! All considered, the four of us have unanimously decided to get season passes next year, and bring others with us as well. Thanks for a fun and enjoyable time Darien Lake!!

Room Tip: When tenting, get a camp site with a tree to get some shade and wind protection. Some areas are for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Darien lake with another family and we brought our own trailers, when we got back to our sites they were very uneven and hard to place our trailers. We had to use jacks under one side because of the slope. We used the showers only once because they were not kept clean and in my opinion they need to be updated with either a bench or more hooks to put your stuff on and maybe shower curtains so your clothes and towel do not get wet when showering. We stayed last year as well and didn't find it that unkept as this year. Also the bathrooms in the park need an upgrade. The theme park itselve is great though for kids:)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Luckygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is was most poorly maintained place I've ever had to stay. I have no problem with dirt and bugs its other peoples filth that makes me cringe. We decided to stay in the park for a concert. We checked in on a saturday in a standard RV # 973. At $200 a night I wasnt expecting what we got. Driving into the park we stopped to use one of the park restrooms. oh my, first the smell hits you like a rotting animal, than you arent sure if you wanna touch anything b/c its so dirty. There was soggy toliet paper on the floors, the sinks had hair and toothpaste in them. I peeked my head into one of the shower and it looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. YUCK seriously no one should be subjected to washroom in that state. Back to the RV, we pull up theres no fire pit just some random rocks on the gound that dont even makes a circle and really have no purpose. The outside of the RV needs a power wash its really moldy. Then you open the door, and the inside smells like old mildew really unpleasent. The walls have splatter of "unknown substance" on them. The curtains are white or were ... they have stains and a nice dirt wash too them now. Every light switch and door handle has that black dirt flim like its ever been wiped look. The washroom, the toliet had crusty poop on the toliet seat and the shower had a viarity of hairs in it.... YAY!!!! The double bed well, bring some padding... its a 2 inch thick mattress with spring in it. They really dig into your back and you feel really beat up in the morning. The floor would have been a better sleep but it was too dirty to sleep on. We took 2 of the bunkbed mattress and added them to the bed for the second night which kinda helps. We went to walmart to get a smelly candles and some cleaning supplies just to make it a little better.

So do yourself a favour and rent a hotel outside of the park this place is a JOKE!!! Darien lake should be ashamed of themselves for even charging people money to stay here.

Room Tip: Just dont even bother, rent a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Koreylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

just got back from a two night stay in the theme park campground. We were in tier 1 camping lot and it was still a 15 minute walk to the theme park. The campsite was small and very basic with no privacy at all (perhaps I am spoiled from the provincial park campgrounds in Ontario!!). There was no picnic table at our site so we had to carry a huge but decaying picnic table to our site from 5 sites away. There was no drum for the fire pit just a few stones in a circle formation!?? But what hit us the most was the state of all the restrooms on the property (especially in the campground). Monday morning the toilet seats were actually covered in poo and the floor of the shower stall was filthy (the worst I have ever seen). I watched one employee enter the restrooms on Tuesday afternoon. She lifted one toilet seat and then sat in her golf cart. She was in the restroom for about 30 seconds. I guess she could say she cleaned the washroom because one toilet seat was lifted!!?? The theme park also had filthy restrooms. They seem to have employees that might sweep the floors in the restrooms but that is all they do!!

The rides were perfect for our kids (ages 6, 10 and 12) and we loved the water park.

The best deal was the refillable drink glasses where you pay $9.99 for the souvenir cup and then only pay .99 cents for refills (soda and slushies). Great idea. The rest of the food was terrible.

We might be back to try renting a cabin next time. I think they have a washroom with a shower!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 648lys648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I honestly didn't expect anything special, so there was no disappointment. We rented one the RV's in the Apple Lake area of the campground, and it served it's purpose - a place to sleep and in close proximity to the theme park. The website advertises fire pits with all the RV's, but it's actually one every 5-6 RV's, so you really can't have a private fire. Half of the picnic tables and benches were splintered and broken. We arrived late (after 3am) and the electricity to the RV was off. We finally found the breaker and fixed the problem, however I would think that maintenance would have turned on the electricity for a reserved RV ahead of time, but if not then we should have been notified at check-in that we would have to do so ourselves. All in all for the 2 nights we stayed I can't complain, but if I were to return I would probably rent a cabin instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we just got back from a 3 night stay in the ontario RV section, trailer was clean and well maintained. We went to the park each day and pretty much walked on every ride including ride of steel, the only waits were in the water park as it was hot each day it was worth the 10 min waits. We stayed tues - fri so weekends might be different. The only issue we had was that the staff for the most part were rude and really semed liked they did not want to be there which is to bad as it has an affect on your fun level. I would recomend this place and will be back next year maybe to check out the cabins as they looked pretty nice.

Room Tip: if you book an RV ask for a newer model as some are older and need replacing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is terrific. the service and staff are fantastic, the accommodation supervisor "Duyne" is super helpful. Highly recommended place, will be back again for sure.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien Center
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
5.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Darien Lakes
5 mi away
River Spring Lodge
River Spring Lodge
#1 of 1 in Darien Center
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground

Address: 9993 Allegheny Road, Darien Center, NY 14040
Location: United States > New York > Darien Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Darien Center
Hotel Class:3 star — Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darien Lake Theme Park Resort is New York State’s largest theme park and water park vacation destination, with more than 100 rides, shows, attractions and a 20,000-capacity concert venue. Darien Lake is home to the Ride of Steel, one of the signature coasters in the northeast, SplashTown water park and award-winning entertainment. Darien Lake Theme Park Resort provides accommodations featuring the Lodge on the Lake Hotel, Brown Bear Cabins and 1,000-site campground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Lake Theme Park Campground Hotel Darien Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing