We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little park!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little park!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

As much as I love camping, I tend to get a little figity after a couple of days. But here, what fun! Not only can you camp but then go on rides - no getting bored! I found the camping to be really good although we stayed in the section to the left when you come into the park (nicely treed - felt like most campgrounds), on the right it is pretty wide open (like camping in a football field). The park itself is okay. I'm 45 minutes away from Canada's Wonderland and this park is probably a quarter of the size. Still fun and when you add the camping it makes up for it. We saw a Brooks and Dunn concert while there - again, what other campground ground do you get all of this? I just wish they were quicker with putting out the concert schedule for the season. I realize it takes time for them to book events but the closer to summer the harder time I have booking the holidays at work. Either way, I still plan on going back this year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GW_Rockefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I love the Darien lake theme park and we go there every few years since it's one of the closest parks to us. We usually stay at the campground because it's right beside the park (but it's not too noisy) and you get admission with your stay there, I believe, unless I forgot... So we spend the night in a camper and the day at the amusement park. Very fun.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DillPickleSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel was clean and close to the park. That's what made the difference and made it worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank budman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived in the middle of a thunder and rain storm to find our site trashed and completely soaked. There wasn't a dry spot, or a spot with ANY grass on it at all. It was a big shallow mud puddle. I know it wasn't anybody's fault that is was raining, but there wasn't enough room for two tents to sit level either. So I called the office and they were accomodating when I asked for the site across the trail. The trash was still there at the original site when we finished our stay. The ground was so rocky it was difficult (and impossibe in some spots) to pound the stakes.

Room Tip: Ask for a campsite that is either "full sun" or one with at least some grass
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeaniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We try to go to this campground each year, but now can only afford at the Holloween time with off-season rates. Its way over priced even if you have a season pass. They also give us a small discount though, if we were interested, and the site is all the way in the back! So we go down the street to a state park for $27 a night, instead of the $140 site, all the way in the back.

Room Tip: if you have a camper, go to the state park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank papaJoe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Five days at Darien Lake Amusement Park/Campground = Fun for the entire family. This years family vacation consisted of 16 people ages from 6 to early 40's, all of which are extreame lovers of amusement rides. We rented 4 "executive" trailers for our stay as we wanted to be close to the park entrance. "Executive" is a term I use very lightly. For the most part, the trailers we okay but nothing special. Full bathroom, large fridge, microwave, out door BBQ, bunk beds and queen as the master. They adversise that we could sleep 6 comfortably but the pull out couch was old and not very comfortable. The trailers are in need or an overhall. Besides the location of the trailers to the park entrance, they we're nothing special. As for the park, amazing is all I can say. Clean, short lines, a large variety of rides for all ages, huge waterpark and great hours. The best and smoothest coaster is MotoCoaster. We'll be going back again in the next few years.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were camping at the RV park which is great, located right beside the park. But, both mornings at 7:00 am the big garbage trucks came rumbling through emptying out the dumpsters. Bang, crash, vroooom. Bang, crash, vroom. Then kids started crying and everyone in the park was awake. Both mornings, same time. Who's the goomba who allows that wake up call?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien Center
5.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Darien Lakes
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
10.9 mi away
Hotel at Batavia Downs
Hotel at Batavia Downs
#3 of 12 in Batavia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Days Inn Batavia Darien Lake Theme Park
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn East Aurora
Hampton Inn East Aurora
#1 of 2 in East Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
15.5 mi away
Salvatore's Grand Hotel
Salvatore's Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Williamsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground

Property: Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground
Address: 9993 Allegheny Road, Darien Center, NY 14040
Location: United States > New York > Darien Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Darien Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darien Lake Theme Park Resort is New York State’s largest theme park and water park vacation destination, with more than 100 rides, shows, attractions and a 20,000-capacity concert venue. Darien Lake is home to the Ride of Steel, one of the signature coasters in the northeast, SplashTown water park and award-winning entertainment. Darien Lake Theme Park Resort provides accommodations featuring the Lodge on the Lake Hotel, Brown Bear Cabins and 1,000-site campground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Lake Theme Park Campground Hotel Darien Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing