We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Unhappy! :(”

Darien Lake Amusement Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Darien Lake Overnight Camping Experience with Amusement Park Admission
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For generations, Darien Lake has been a destination for families to create memories that will last long after vacation is over. With 45 attractions, a 10- acre water park and a variety of live shows and entertainment options- all just steps away from an onsite lodge, modern lakeside cabins, all new luxury guest houses and an extensive campground with glampsites and traditional campsites, guests will rediscover time together when they visit Darien Lake. Darien Lake has added millions in new attractions, entertainment, park and accommodations upgrades over the past two years to give guests limitless fun and unbeatable value.
Lynden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Unhappy! :(”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived for a family weekend in Aug. We rented an Rv, that was so dirty, i spent my first 2 hours cleaning it!! The filth was appalling. When I complained , the response from the staff was, "Yeah we hear that some times"! They really did not seem to care. The food in the park was over priced and disgusting! Do not order the chicken strips and curly fries! Yuck! They went right in the garbage. We found that half of the rides were shut down at different times of the day. We were told they were short staffed. The water in the water park rides, and pool were FREEZING. We have small children who on a hot August day didn't want to stay in this area. On our last day we went to the Tim Horton's to get a coffee. They were out of milk!???? Really??? My response to the staff member was, "If this was in Canada people would lose it. They'd burn it down!" Totally laughing while I said it. The young lady was not impressed at all!!! Her response, very unhappy, that she wished it would burn down. Wow! When checking out we addressed some of these points with the main office. They really didn't care!!! Friends that were there in late July had the same experience. We would not return! Our accommodations were $1000 and another $500 for food and entertainment! HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zoozoo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien_Lake_NY, Manager at Darien Lake Amusement Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello and thank you for visit to the park I apologize on behalf of our staff for your negative experience. I would love the opportunity to get more details about your experience at the park. Would you mind emailing me at seasonpass@GoDarienLake.com? I appreciate your time and hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,

Mike Schuler
Digital Media Manager
Darien Lake Amusement Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    245
    102
    66
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Darien Lake”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our annual trip to Darien Lake, we always stay In the trailer (usually Ontario Place), It was excellent. It definitely Is a place that Is great for everyone, we went with family and friends - with trailers beside eachother It was fantastic. For anyone that has not gone - you do need to bring utensils, plates, cups, towels, toilet paper, sheets, pillows and blankets for the trailer (chairs for by the fire). There Is either a stove top with a micorwave In the trailer, and a sink. We stopped at Topps on our way In to pick up groceries, there Is a town (Alden) roughly 15 minutes away from the park that you can buy cheap fire wood, and shop for whatever else you need as well. It Is a great place for families, couples, and families with teens as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

No way should darien lake get a poor or terrible rating I have gone there all my life and I always have a blast. Camped there this year with 8 family members and everyone had something to do. Darien lake is only going to get bigger and better to and I have already heard that a new thrill ride "blast off " is coming. Which they did need a new thrill ride for adults.

Helpful?
2 Thank dsy19817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DARIEN ROCKS”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have gone 2 years in a row and love this place. We enjoy staying in the hotel, although you can camp. There is never any lineups for the rides. The water park is awesome for all ages. The laser show at night is really cool. The hotel was very comfortable with a neat little restaurant in the lobby and if you need a break from the action of the theme park, the hotel has a nice, quiet pool just for hotel guest. It's priced simular to Great Wolf with way more to do. Overall this is a great little summer family vacation. If you do go, do yourself a favour and go to Alexs' Steakhouse in nearby Batavia(about 20 min drive to the east) for dinner. Really nice, cozy place with great food...ribs are awesome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank deanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun rides and amazing laser show”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you get there, chose the ride of steel, viper and the next to ride of steel. Boomerang is awful, leaves you with headaches, and back pains. Seriously! But wait for the laser show, it's AAAAAAWESOME!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TitelPisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darien Lake Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Darien Lake Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing