We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Personal Touch”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darien Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge on the Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darien Center
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Personal Touch”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We wanted to stay at the Lodge on the Lake to make it easier to attend the Victoria Justice/Big Time Rush concert with our kids. Our son has a disability and has some difficulty adapting to new places/crowds so our primary goal was to avoid the parking lot mess and subsequent meltdowns. When we initially checked, the prices were high and there was a two-day minimum stay. When my husband tried to secure a one night reservation, he was told to check back which he did twice without success. On the Tuesday before the Sunday night concert, he was able to convince the booking clerk to give him a room for one night. The cost sounds wild ($312) until you factor in a few other details. The room comes with dedicated parking (at the hotel, or, if you prefer, right at the amusement park) and TWO days of park admission. For a family of four, that is a significant savings. The hotel room itself was average. The pull out couch had some tears on the upholstery and there was no table to sit at. On the plus side, the room had a small fridge, lots of storage space and a really clean bathroom with the sink unit outside the toilet/shower-bath. The pool was clean and lovely--not too big up to five feet--with a lifeguard on duty, towels, and standard plastic loungers. The lobby featured a snack bar with pizza ($18.99 for a standard large), snacks, and breakfast items (yogurt, packaged Danish, cereal cups) at convenience store prices. The whole zen of the décor is Great Wolf Lodge wannabe, but what sets them apart is the service. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful (from the booking clerk to the maids who found a small souvenir item we'd left behind and emailed us to find out if we'd like to pick it up). The beds were a bit on the soft side but serviceable. The walk to the park is about five or ten minutes (depending on the pokiness of your group). Getting to the concert venue and back was a breeze. Because we were so close to the park, we got In before the crowds the next day (admittedly light because it was a Monday) and breezed through the lines.

Room Tip: Check for availability and don't be afraid to call multiple times to get a one-night stay even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
57
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for three nights while at Darien Lake. The hotel is decorated in a lodge theme like The Great Wolf Lodge in Niagara Falls. There is an outdoor pool, a small gift shop, and a small food outlet. Stay away from the food outlet. We had breakfast there once and it was awful. Nothing but expensive microwave breakfast sandwiches and expired yogurt. The gift shop is awful as well. Very little inventory. Check-in takes a long time. Too few staff and no one know what to do. Our room was very average. It was clean. We heard the fireworks show at Darien Lake every night in the room. Pool was fine for the kids but too cold for my wife and me. Lifeguards are on duty. There is no hot tub. There were no towels left on hand when the kids got out of the pool. The best part of the hotel is that it is only a 10 minute walk to the park gate. But sometimes the nearest gate is closed, so be ready to go to another gate. As I said, Lodge on the Lake is good if you are staying at the park a few days, but it is not great. We will be trying the campground the next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burr6013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and family stayed 2 nights had a blast the 1st night second night we ended up staying somewhere else even know we paid for both nights because some one reported a smell of drugs coming from our room when we were never in our room had to sign a warning paper because of this we left we don't use drugs an there was nothing in our room the stay was nice room was great good respect. But the rules an accusing was embarrassing I don't know if we will ever stay again due to this accusing none true case an my children had to hear about this an be involved when there was know need to other than this our stay was great the short time we stayed

Room Tip: Ask for all the rules an regulations that you can be fined for cause we only new of non smoking an t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Lodge on the Lake is right on the actual lake for Darien Lake theme park, so it's definitely convenient for your park adventure. It could, however use a bit more amenities.

Overall, the rooms are very clean, good and functional. We had a basic room with two queen beds, but still coveted the fancy rooms with a built-in bunkbeds in a mini kids room. We decided ahead of time that we were likely to spend more time in the them park, and very little time actually sleeping, so didn't opt for the extra. It was tempting, though.

There is a small snack bar that sells mini packages of cereal for fending off starvation at an early hour, but it would be far better if there were an actual restaurant at the hotel. It is, after all, a family park....and kids get up EARLY when they're excited! The only on-premises restaurant is within the theme park, and doesn't open until 8am for a buffet breakfast. As a result, we had breakfast #1 in the Lodge from the snack bar (Woody's Cafe) when it opened at 7am, then waited until 8am for the opening of the Beaver Brothers restaurant for breakfast #2. It would truly be beneficial for parents to be able feed their early-rising kids a bit earlier than 8am....and, hopefully, at the hotel.

There is a courtyard pool at the hotel, which is actually a great thing. Yes, there's an entire waterpark at Darien Lake, but a hotel pool allows for a bit of a calmer pace that's also adult-friendly. Additionally, there's a large chess set just outside the fenced pool area, some checkers available in the lobby, and WiFi throughout the hotel.

It was kind of surprising to see Tim Hortons coffee offered everywhere in the park, but perhaps it was a nod to the large numbers of Canucks that seem to fill the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed July 5-7 2013, had a room with pool view due to it being only one available. It was a nice size room, picture actually doesn't do it justice. Small things..bathroom door stuck and toilet didn't flush all that well but nothing too major. Very nice staff. Expensive food,has a small little counter type place you can get breakfast and lunch type foods. Not sure of quality only tried cereal. Walk to park scenic..seems long when its hot. I enjoyed my stay will do again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Darien Lake Lodge over Memorial Day weekend.
Pros – our room, and the common rooms, were very clean. Our son really enjoyed the Forts o’ Fun suite. The suite was comfortable for the whole family. The hotel is a relatively short walk from the amusement park.

Cons – there is no restaurant in the hotel, just an over-priced snack bar. The full service restaurant is about a 10 minute walk at the amusement park. Hotel guests should have the benefit of a restaurant – at least for breakfast.
There were no adult sized chairs in our suite, just kid sized chairs. This was awkward when we wanted to eat in our room one night.
Not a huge deal, but the video game console in the suite was a Playstation 2 – old tech.

This hotel is great for spending a couple of days at the Darien Lake Amusement park. If you get wet, or too hot, your room (and clean clothes) is just a short walk away. The hotel staff were friendly and very nice to our son. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The fort of fun suite is a good time for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stampguy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for the May Victoria day long weekend (2013). The place was full of Canadians !!

Yes, the property is old, but not as bad as some people have experienced in prior stays. They must have renovated few things as this place used to be called Six Flags Darien Lake and now looks like a new management has taken over.

As this was just the second weekend since they opened, I think there was lot of vacancy. We and another family friend of ours were surprisingly upgraded to a pool view room even though we had booked a standard room. Stayed on the 2nd floor and the rooms were nice. The bathrooms are small, but who cares, we are in a lodge next to a theme park that is open 9am to 9pm.

The swimming pool and a small cafeteria were the only amenities we saw. We did not use the pool as were busy with other activities, but saw lots of other people using it. Two lifeguards were seen at the pool, which was a nice touch. The reception staff was nice and polite.

For a place that is open only 5 months in a year (May to October), we felt it was well maintained. It is no five star, but the location was great. The 5 minute walk to the park next to a man made pond was nice in the evening. Wish they had golf carts to transport guests from the hotel to the park entrance as you are dead tired after walking all day in the park to come back to the hotel after another 5 minutes walk.

Another nice touch was two microwaves on each floor next to the vending machines. As we were group of 4 families with 2 kids each, had lot of feeding to be done !! Having a microwave makes it easier on the wallet. Also liked the small in-room refrigerator to store milk as there is not many stores nearby to walk and buy when you need it. We got some from a gas station 5 mins away in town of Corfu.

Some people call it a cheap knock of Great wolf, which we have visited as well several times. Yes, it might look like that, but this property is old, while the Great wolf in Niagara on the Canadian side is relatively new. We were bored of GWL, so this place which is still a decent drive from Toronto was a nice option.

We used the themepark for 2 half days and then for one day went to Letchworth state park an hour south of here, which was a good diversion from just going to theme park for 3 days.

Overall, for our first visit, we liked this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien Center
5.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Darien Lakes
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
10.9 mi away
Hotel at Batavia Downs
Hotel at Batavia Downs
#3 of 12 in Batavia
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake
11.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Batavia
11.7 mi away
Best Western Crown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Lake Hotel

Property: Lodge on the Lake Hotel
Address: 9993 Allegheny Road, Darien Lake Theme Park, Darien Center, NY 14040
Location: United States > New York > Darien Center
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darien Center
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darien Lake Theme Park Resort is New York State’s largest theme park and water park vacation destination, with more than 100 rides, shows, attractions and a 20,000-capacity concert venue. Darien Lake is home to the Ride of Steel, one of the signature coasters in the northeast, SplashTown water park and award-winning entertainment. Darien Lake Theme Park Resort provides accommodations featuring the Lodge on the Lake Hotel, Brown Bear Cabins and 1,000-site campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Six Flags Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing