We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times Change”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dansville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skybrook Campground
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We first went in 1993 and my kids were young. It was fantastic and there were kid activities with employee supervision and family involvement. We continued on and off for 15 years, the last 4 year stent was every year and all the big holidays.

We knew many if the seasonal sand regulars and they are friendly and clicky as other reviews indicate. Heck even the band and DJ's cater to the regulars (yes that included us)

But as a parent I grew up. I was divorced and remarried and had young ones again. The drinking and profanity are bad, when curfews aren't able to be enforced. Also, the kids nowadays (due to parents) are let loose to entertain themselves. In my early years my kids did too- but it was volleyball, freeze tag and other such fun that included all kids.
Now it's cooler hoppin(beer from drunk peoples coolers), smoking and worse. Muchworse. The golf carts are decked out like status symbols and adults that walk are a minority. The drinking and shenanigans are way too much for our family. It's gotten way out of hand in my opinion.

The Skybrook of yester year always brings a smile to my face and I am glad it still continues to be a campground. It is a great location with lots of space for camping. But huge trailers, golf carts and decks quickly make newbies unwelcome and outsiders.
It's hard work for them to integrate particularly if they don't drink or stay up until 3 am.
Not a place for young ones for sure. It WAS. But it's not.

This doesn't mean you can't make a fine weekend camping here because you can. Just be prepared for noise, profanity and partying rednecks from sun up to sun up! Hey that suited me at one time but not now.
It never suited my kids but at one time I was too selfish to care. Now I do.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

It is very hard as times do change. We do have a lot of repeat campers that camped as a child and now come back to camp as an adult. We really can not tell our campers how to talk or act unless they are endangering someone or themselves. We can, how ever, ask them not to come Back to camp and to find another campground . Which has been done. We try to have activities for all ages on different weekends. We usually go with the activities that have the best turn out and eliminate the activities that do not get much response. Unfortunately, the Bingo, crafts and volleyball have fallen to the wayside. We have tried volleyball tournaments without success over the past several years. We do hold Bingo and crafts on the 3 major Holidays. That is the only time we have a good turn out. We have several horseshoe tournaments through out the summer. People like to dance and sing more these days. We do tend to have several bands and karaoke on weekends now to accommodate the many campers that enjoy those activities. We are always open for suggestions on activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Horrible experience. Rain was in the forecast but we expected it and went anyway. We were told there was a wedding at the rec hall and they would give us a site further away for privacy and quiet. Got to the site and we were the only ones in the area "The Cove", nice little circular area with sites around the perimeter and a big pavilion and playground in the center. The pavilion also had a nice big fire pit in the center. We thought great ! if it rains we still have a place to meet and have some local friends visit. The rain started around 12:00, by 2:00 pm the pavilion was filled with locals from seasonal sites, complete with a fire, and several coolers, trucks and golf carts surrounding it. OK, no problem they got there first we'll just continue our weekend at our camper 75 yards away. WELL, the loud music, drinking, golf carts zooming back and forth blowing their horns, and extremely loud foul language continued on until after 2:00 am. The crowd having the party never once had the consideration to lower their music or voices. The owners had to be able to hear this unless they were in another state. Nothing was done. It was less than enjoyable to try and tell my two young boys to tune out the extremely loud woman who couldn't say a sentence without the words [--], [--], or similar and to just go to sleep. Not to mention the screams of "Do Donuts" every time one of the several horn blowing golf carts sped to and from. I have nothing against people having a good time, but obviously these people just struggle through their miserable lives through the week just so they can go to "camp" and get stupid drunk and act like inconsiderate children. The owners obviously appear to either be unable to handle them, or worse condone this style of treatment of other PAYING guests. So, if you have a family and enjoy the outdoors...move along. However, on a good note if you want a place to get stupid drunk and act like a classless hooker at a biker bar, then here's your place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

With us being only open "seasonal" for 5 months out of a year, we do tend to have many seasonal campers. These "seasonal" campers, also make it possible for us to continue in business. With that being said, we have made several adjustments to the "freedom" they have been known to have at Skybrook. We do allow gas operated golf carts. Most of the over 200 seasonal campers do own one. They have rules to follow and insurance on their carts. We welcome any complaint so we can address and correct them as soon as possible. We have been enforcing the "quiet" time rules more stringently. Being such a large campground with over 200 acres, it is so hard to have our security personnel be in the right place at the right time. We do always address any complaints brought to the office attention. We also have a 24 hour phone service that notifies the security of any complaint throughout the night. It is very hard to let people know there language is not appropriate in large groups. We do ask them to quiet down and be courteous to others. As for the owners, I am one, the weekend I believe you are referring to was the one weekend we were out of the park for a family event. We just wish you notified the office ASAP.
Again, if the office is notified about any concerns, we try and correct them as soon as possible. We do our best to please everyone we are able to. This is not always possible as you are aware. We have replaced 3 playgrounds and remodeled 3 bath houses over the last 3 years. We do as we are able to afford on our 5 month income seasonally. Hopefully, you will come back for another stay to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have camped at Skybrook for years, but sadly it has been declining gradually for the past three years. The place is lacking in management in general and sorely in need of repairs. the playgrounds are a hazard, the pool is gross, and some of the roads are washed out. The place is overrun by alcoholic redneck wanna-be's and there is no regard for rules or fellow campers. If you want to drink and crank country music - you might like this stink hole. This is definitely NOT a family friendly place. Clearly, the adults who are "seasonal" campers are really immature woodchucks. If you have children, please definitely go somewhere else - Drunks are up all night screaming obscenities. These "seasonal" freak-bags also let their children (no kidding, even toddlers) roam unattended and filthy all over the place. Major thumbs down!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank someonewithopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

With us being only open "seasonal" for 5 months out of a year, we do tend to have many seasonal campers. These "seasonal" campers, also make it possible for us to continue in business. With that being said, we have made several adjustments to the "freedom" they have been known to have at Skybrook. We do allow gas operated golf carts. Most of the over 200 seasonal campers do own one. They have rules to follow and insurance on their carts. We welcome any complaint so we can address and correct them as soon as possible. We have been enforcing the "quiet" time rules more stringently. Being such a large campground with over 200 acres, it is so hard to have our security personnel be in the right place at the right time. We do always address any complaints brought to the office attention. We also have a 24 hour phone service that notifies the security of any complaint throughout the night.
As for the swimming pool situation, I'm not sure this situation you are speaking about. During July, when it is very hot out, the pool tends to be crowded. We do check the pool chemicals several times a day and vacuum as needed. Again, if the office is notified about any concerns, we try and correct them as soon as possible. We do our best to please everyone we are able to. This is not always possible as you are aware. We have replaced 3 playgrounds and remodeled 3 bath houses over the last 3 years. We do as we are able to afford on our 5 month income seasonally. Hopefully, you will come back for another stay to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were new to the area and were in Dansville for a wedding. Upon making reservations ahead of time for Skybrook, no one advised not to use the GPS. We ended up on Geiger Road, a 1-lane very narrow, un-maintained seasonal dirt road & no way to turn around or get off. Was promised & charged for a full hookup site. When we arrived, after 5 days of dry camping, we were told there were no full hookup sites and we shouldn't have been told they were available. The owner's wife told my husband that I agreed to that (which I certainly did NOT) Then they said they tried to call us a few times to tell us. There were no messages or missed calls on either our home phone OR or cell phone. It was late in the afternoon when we arrived and we figured we would use the dump station and make the best of things for the week. Were then led to a site on top of the hill (between the horses grazing loose on one side of the motorhome and the owner's dogs running loose and taking a dump on the other side of the RV--and no one around to pick up). After parking on the site, we hooked up electric & water and were prepared to deal with the 30 amp elec, no sewer and not being able to use the A/C. The owner stopped by to discuss the part of no sewers with my husband, and as I turned on the microwave to heat a lite dinner, all the electric in the coach shut down. He proceeded to insist that there were 117 volts at the post but when we turned on even the slightest appliance, the voltage dropped to 102 volts or below and immediately shut off all power to the coach. When my husband walked inside to check all electric that was on, the owner immediately left and was never seen again. The next morning, we were forced to pack up and leave because we couldn't even turn on the coffee pot or a hair dryer. We went to the office again and neither the owner nor his wife were available. We believe they were expecting us, however, because the office help immediately stopped taking care of another customer and issued us the credit that we desired. We later learned that this campground is known in the area for the wild parties and lack of control by the owners and staff. Needless to say, we will never be back and will certainly NOT recommend Skybrook to anyone who may be coming to the Dansville area.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a motorhome, don't plan on staying here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

We at Skybrook are very sorry to hear of your bad experience while camping here. I am one of the owners you spoke with. Apparently, I was miss informed by an employee when I told you that we tried to get a hold of you about not having an available sewer site. It was well noted to call and inform you. Apparently they never did call you. For that we are very sorry. We never knowingly try to miss lead any of our customers. We have made several improvements to the property each year. Our electric has always been an issuer for the larger coaches. The campground was built in the 60's when campers were much smaller. Now everything runs off electric. We have mostly 20 amp service and some 30 amps. We are currently working with our local power company to acquire more electric to be brought into the campground to upgrade as much as possible.
As for the animals roaming free and grazing horses, I'm sorry that bothered you. If you mentioned it to the office, we could have corrected that problem. Again, We are sorry for your unpleasant stay and are working to correct the issues at hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am currently a seasonal camper at Skybrook camp ground. What is up with all of these bad reviews? Oh no! There isn't paved roads....its a campground! Ya know out doors. And they even allow atv-ing out in their other land behind the campground. They only have a certain number of employees that are working. The pool would be cleaned if there wernt people always in it. They work hard trust me. They pay thousands of dollars on bands and karaoke each year. Let's see you guys take a campground from your passing parents and keep it going successfull.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

We appreciate your positive response to your experience camping at Skybrook Campground. We try our best, as you know, to make sure each camper has an enjoyable time while here. It is nice to have heard from some of you that do enjoy camping here. Makes it all worth while for us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had made reservations for 3 families for the Balloon festival Sept 2012. It was a real mistake. 1st of all when I made the reservations, they said nothing about not being able to use your A/C, there were signs upon checking in- NO Air Conditioners. They said it was a holiday weekend and no one can use air- big lie except for seasonals. Then the 3 sites we had, 2 were 30amp and ours was 20amp- thank goodness there was only 2 of us. Saturday morning was great because the balloons landed 200 feet from our trailers. The people next to us came over and said that someone stole all their beer from their coolers, which were outside their trailer door. Guess what, the other couple with us, all his gone too. What does the office say, you should put your stuff inside at night. We camp at many campgrounds and never had this happen. That was the last straw for the other couple- they left after fighting to get their money back. The other couple didn't come because of sickness. Saturday night they had a band, could be heard for miles and was supposed to end at 11pm- 11:30 it was still going strong- rules???. We had left early sunday morning- paid till monday but was returned my $15 with no fight as they knew they were wrong on many things. There is alot of trailer trash there, roads terrible- not a family off the road campground. will not go there again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stiegjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

We are very sorry you had a bad experience here at Skybrook. Unfortunately, on Holiday weekends it is hard to be in the right place at the right time with our security. Our security does try to monitor the best we can with such a large campground. This is an old campground from back in the 50's. We have done several up grades as we can afford. We try our best to please each camper. As for refunds. Most places do not give a refund on a major holiday. Under certain circumstances we will. As we did with your group. We use your reviews as a learning tool to improve in areas where needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

At the last minute, we decided to visit the New York State Balloon Festival in Dansville, NY. The closest campground was Skybrook. We were actually surprised they had room left on Labor Day Weekend! We are a family of 5, with kids ranging from 11months to 6 years old. We have a 31 foot motor home and they said they had a "Premium" site available with 30amps, water, but no sewer. When we got there, our site was on a hill. We adjusted the position of our RV the best we could. After hooking up everything we realized we weren't getting any power. We couldn't even run a toaster! By first light, we drained our batteries down to nothing and our fridge was off! Each day we had to run our generator for 2-3 hours just to get through the night! Furthermore, we were told that NO ONE at the campground was allowed to run AC or electric water heaters b/c the campground can not handle the needs. (BTW it was about 90 degrees each day!) The two other weekend campers next to us also had next to NO power! However the seasonal campers beside us had numerous neon signs, christmas lights, and flatscreens running with no problems! Because there was no AC, the small pool at the campground was completely mobbed! It was not at all clean and also was uncomfortable with the 40+ year olds rubbing up and down each other. The fishing derby that took place was advertised as an "event" was in a quaint fishing hole, but you could only fish off one side of it! If they did some upkeep on it, that would have been a memorable event! Skybrook seems proud of its 8 playgrounds, but it's nothing more than a few broken swings, empty sandboxes, and a teeter totter from the 70s. We brought the bikes for our kids but the hilly terrain and lack of any paved areas didn't allow for them to ride it. (Older kids seemed to manage over the hills and on the dirt roads.)There was also more traffic than we have ever seen at any other campground! Not only cars constantly driving in and out, but golfcarts were flying through as well. There was trash everywhere! It is clear that this campground is for the seasonal campers and not the weekend campers. We felt like we walked into a townie bar, uninvited.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The Fireball Fi... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

We appreciate your business. We are very glad you had a nice experience while camping here. We try our best to please all our campers. Thank you and hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skybrook Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skybrook Campground

Address: 10861 McCurdy Rd, Dansville, NY 14437-9538
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dansville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dansville
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a campground in a country setting with scenic rolling hills and small ponds. We have over 350 sites with water and electric. Some remote sites available. Our campground offers many activities on weekends. We offer paddle and row boats on our pond. A small catch and release fish pond. There is an outdoor swimming pool. We do have some rental campers and cabins on site available most weekends. We are only 5 miles off interstate 390 exit #4 or #5. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing