We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vineyard on the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pugliese Vineyards

Pugliese Vineyards
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Cutchogue
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1980, this family-owned and operated vineyard on Long Island's North Fork produces award-winning wines, exceptional Champagnes and luscious Ports.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Vineyard on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited Pugliese again, and after reading some of the negative reviews that have been posted about them, I really feel the need to set the record straight. Pugliese is simply the best vineyard on Long Island. There is nothing fancy about the place, it is just a small, welcoming establishment staffed by warm and friendly people. We were greeted by Domenica, the daughter of the founders of the vineyard. She was very sweet and happy to answer all of our questions about the various types of wine Pugliese makes and sells. And that wine is obviously the reason that Pugliese is one of the oldest and busiest wineries on the Island. After tasting most of the wines, I can tell you that they are all excellent. Particular standouts are the Bella Maria, a blush wine that has a wonderful, sweet grape flavor; the Chardonnay Gold, which has a nice oakiness to it and a lot of body; the Sunset Meritage, a blend of several different varieties that had a wonderful depth of flavor; and the two Italian-types wines, the white Pinot Grigio and the red Sangiovese, but of which could easily hold their own against most Italian wines. They also make several sparkling wines, of which the sparkling Merlot is my favorite, as well as really good dessert wines (You HAVE to try the Port). Best of all, they are probably the most reasonably priced winery out there.
Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews about Pugliese. I've been to many of the wineries on Long Island, and there are many good ones, but I have yet to find one better. You won't disappointed if you visit Pugliese. But you will be if you don't.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sour Grapes Winery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I redeemed an online coupon for a wine tasting for 4 with a cheese and cracker plate. The disappointments started with the weather (out of their control) to lack of inviting facility or landscaped grounds and poor management of crowds, etc. (all under their control). Tastings took place under a tent on a muddy, grassy surface and the cheese/cracker combo was a low ball offering on a paper plate. The pourings were minimal with some staff inexperienced in their own products. Lots of limos brought groups from afar there to taste and oversplurge. Parking was unorganized. One sparkling wine and the reserve merlot had merit.However, the North and South Forks have many well established vineyards to visit. Perhaps Pugliese will get its act together over time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank covegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wine tasted watered down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went out for a vineyard day on Mothers Day and I was really looking forward to visiting Pulgiese. I liked the feel of the winery, but the wine itself tasted watered down. I can't imagine why a vineyard would do that because it would seriously detract from business, but all four of us were in agreement, with each tasting we had.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went with another couple during our day at the various Long Island Wineries. Had an excellent time, bought some wine and will be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our 1st LI Winery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was the 1st of 6 wineries we went to that day. Its set the bar as in it was just an average place. When we got there, there had to be 3-4 limos there. The place was packed. Seemed like the staff was a little overwhelmed as they didnt really seem to have time to explain the wines to us..just pour it. Wines were not our favorites.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nyccouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pugliese Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Pugliese Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing