We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the best time! We loved it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cutchogue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Iris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Cutchogue B&B and Inns
Babylon, New York
1 review
“Had the best time! We loved it.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first experience staying at a B&B and it was wonderful. The house and grounds are magnificent! Rooms were beautifully decorated and kept immaculately. Our hosts Lorry and Jerry went out of their way to tend to every detail and possible need. The food was delicious and their warm and friendly conversation made us feel very much at home. The whole experience was over the top. Would totally recommend the Blue Iris as a must do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

What wasn't to like???!!!! Blue Iris exceeded all of our expectations. Lovely accomodations, wonderful food and gracious hosts who became quick friends. Lorry and Jerry, thanks for making our stay relaxing, memorable and "filling."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our experience at Blue Iris Bed and Breakfast was fantastic from start to finish! My husband booked our room online and was immediately impressed with the prompt email responses to confirm and ask us for details about anything we might need or special requests.

The home is absolutely beautiful - inside and out. Upon driving up and walking to the door you can see how much the owners care about the B&B and their home. We were greeted by Lori and Jerry, the owners, who could not have been more friendly. They gave us a tour and suggested dinner places for us to try. All of the rooms were charming, spacious and clean - we stayed in the Hydrangea room but were able to peak into the other two rooms as we were the only ones staying on this particular night. All three rooms are cute and have private baths with jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Our room had a bottle of local wine with two glasses and an opener waiting for us. Always nice way to start a night away from NYC!

The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet - we slept very well and felt refreshed the next morning. Breakfast was delicious! Fresh strong coffee, fruit, homemade corn bread and eggs from their chickens in the back yard. Don't skip breakfast, Jerry is a great cook! My husband had an open face sandwich with pancetta, fontina cheese and a fried egg - he rarely eats breakfast but he inhaled this dish! We chatted with Jerry and Lori for almost an hour after breakfast - they are so helpful. We got a bunch of recommendations for wineries and lunch (all nearby) and enjoyed them all. We wanted to stay another night but could not due to work. We know where we will be staying on our next trip to North Fork and next time we will stay longer!

Plus we were sent home with 2 dozen fresh eggs! A pleasant bonus that we were not expecting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First off, I do not know how your rankings are calculated, but they seem to be way off. If they were done correctly, this has to come in Pre-#1!!!!
Every part of the experience was beyond extraordinary!!!! They go from the convivial, entertaining, and excellent hosts--I mean chilled champagne and two champagne flutes awaiting us in our exquisitely decorated en suite--to wonderful, tasteful decorating throughout, to a fireplace in the bedroom and jacuzzi tub in the en suite, to complimentary Poland Spring water bottles and sodas chilled in the guest refrigerator, to an amazing breakfast including fresh eggs from the hosts' own chicken farm, and because I have to end at some time--to the hosts' authentic expression of a deep love and passion for what they do.
Can't go soon? Make a reservation for Spring or early summer when the flowers in their lovely hand-tended gardens start to pop.
You will not regret making time to visit this wonderful B&B in the heart of the famous Long Island Wine Country!

Room Tip: Any one you choose will be fantastic!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dleddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Sublime! That one word says it all. Our experience here was simply sublime. Our hosts, Jerry and Lorry, could not have made us feel more welcome. The house and grounds are magnificent, the room spacious and so well appointed. You will not find a more immaculate B&B anywhere, and that comes from two seasoned world travelers who stay only at B&B's. We cannot say enough about this place and our hosts. Breakfast unlike any you'll experience anywhere- sumptuous, abundant, healthful, and creative are only a few words to describe the culinary arts of Lorry and Jerry. We sat down together with our other house guests and were served in an elegant dining room while music played in the background as we got to know each other. Every attention to detail was thought of to make this a place we will return to time and again. Rick and Judy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcuchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Blue Iris was our home base during our North Fork weekend getaway for the wife’s birthday. I mentioned the special occasion when I booked the room, and Lorry graciously had a really nice bottle of chardonnay ready for us from Sherwood House. Sipping the wine as we walked into the open lawn of the beautifully designed backyard was the perfect way to unwind after our travels. The grounds lent itself to discovery as thoughtful touches and flourishes were hidden throughout. The décor of the house was executed with similar finesse and elegance. Our room was generously proportioned and decorated in tastefully restrained Americana. We felt we were guests in a graciously appointed house and not so much lodgers in a kitschy old b&b. Lorry & Jerry’s breakfasts each morning were sumptuous feasts that changed daily with fresh herbs picked from the garden and eggs (in season) from the chicken coup in the backyard. (Lorry likes to keep her guests well fed for the many wine tasting opportunities in the area.) We enjoyed our conversations with other guests over breakfast and hearing about the history of the property from Lorry and Jerry. They were consummate hosts. The wife and I couldn’t be happier with our stay here and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hollyhock Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvtchockyii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had booked the Blue Iris for a weekend getaway for my husbands birthday. I was truly impressed with the inn and its impeccable grounds. There was a special attention given to all detail for all guests from a welcome board with our names to a hand written and signed champagne bottle from the Blue Iris Inn. They had the best fresh yogurt and fruit I have ever tasted and fresh baked crumb coffee cake to add to our delicious breakfast(s). The Inn is nicely located in a secluded area not too far away from the LI wineries and the beaches and offers such a serene setting. Jerry and Lorry were wonderful hosts and their inn is totally clean and just gorgeous!!. We will definitely be staying at the Blue Iris again and would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting North Fork. Best Regards from Jim & Diana

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivaridl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cutchogue
9.3 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
188 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
553 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
15.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
8.1 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Iris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1100 Skunk Ln, Cutchogue, NY 11935-1523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Cutchogue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cutchogue
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Iris Bed & Breakfast is a Newly Constructed, Farmhouse-Style Home in the Heart of Wine Country on Long Island’s North Fork.Our luxurious guest accommodations feature three newly decorated, over-sized rooms. Each has its own private bath with a whirlpool tub, cable television, and queen-sized bed. In addition, each guest room is equipped with a gas fireplace for special ambience, and for those of you inclined to bring the office with you, (we suggest you don’t) each room has free high speed WiFi to stay connected during your stay.After enjoying the many activities the area has to offer, you may want to unwind on our oversized rockers or porch swing. Lounge in the shade under the trees or stroll through our gardens.Complimentary soft drinks are available 24 hours a day in the guest foyer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing