We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Crown Point B&B and Inns
Barkhamsted, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My boyfriend, son and I had the pleasure of staying at Stoney Lonesome back in June. Nancy was a lovely hostess, as well as her husband and son. Cheebee and Tucker, the family dogs, were very friendly and kept my son entertained with their playfulness. We had our own bathroom, which is a nice accommodation when staying at a B&B. We were also very close to many swimming areas, state parks, and of course the lakes (Champlain and George) and Fort Ticonderoga. Next time we are in the area, I expect us to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is really appreciated and helpful to the travel community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My sister from Montreal and I have been connecting for visits in this area for many years and have friends in the area but this was our first experience in a B + B, we really enjoyed it- very comfortable accommodations and lovely hosts. I felt like I was staying with a family member! The breakfasts were wonderful and the property grounds just beautiful. We were able to sight see and enjoy other meals at local restaurants from this great place, far out enough in the country but not too far to get out and about. We were able to spend some real quality time together and share memories about our Dad, and Nancy and John were always gracious but never obtrusive in making sure our needs were met and that we felt welcome. The dogs were great too! They seemed to be the first step in the welcoming committee and were nice and well mannered- I will be back in the future and would suggest this to anyone looking for a nice place to stay as well-

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLBeachMountainGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We enjoyed a two day stay with family members and were within easy driving distance to still attend graduation exercises in Middlebury VT. Friendly dogs greeted us on arrival and outr hosts put on an excellent breakfast. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neletele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you ( belatedly) so much for taking the time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Quaint and inviting, my boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay at Stoney Lonesome. The hosts, Nancy and John, are especially accommodating. We enjoyed lovely homemade breads, cookies and an excellent breakfast each morning. Nancy was able to accommodate a vegetarian diet. John was helpful with maps and directions to local trail heads. It's a great quiet escape with beautiful nature all around. Thank you Nancy and John for creating a "home away from home."

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kailyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Although a little late in saying thank you for your review, we are no less thankful! Good reviews are an encouragement, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have stayed at Stoney Lonesome for three years and find the stay perfectly delightful. The owners were very accommodating to me and helped me find cool places to hike and explore that are not well known in the area. The atmosphere is homey and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and and several with own bathroom. I felt totally welcome and at ease. I felt so positive about this bed and breakfast that I have returned each year. It is "remote" in that it is located on an off road and this adds to its ambiance. The food was plentiful and home cooked and very well done!! I will be coming back definately!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adirondacklover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for that encouraging post! We especially love to see our returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This B&B is in a lovely, remote location, far out in the woods. Great location for walking and exploring the countryside, or just for that feeling of 'being away from it all'.
Unfortunately, the accommodation itself wasn't the best...
It is run by a family and has three guest bedrooms. My husband and I stayed for two nights. Our bedroom was tiny, with no wardrobe or any place to hang the clothes (apart from two hooks on the bathroom door). The bed was tiny, and overall space in the room so small that we had to jump across our bags to get to the bathroom. The room is full of knick-knacks, dolls, books, a bible etc, so it feels like staying in somebody's bedroom - we needed some space to put our personal belongings, but we were uncomfortable moving too many of their knick-knacks to make room for our stuff. This seems to be the overall feeling in this B&B. It feels like a private stay with a family - it did not feel like these guys run a B&B business at all.
That's not for everyone so may not be your cup of tea. Lots of religious content in this home - slightly in your face even - so again may not be for everyone.

Breakfast was great, really tasty, however you don't really get any choice and have to eat what you are served (on the first morning it was pancakes, turkey sausage and fruit with yoghurt). No decaf coffee. Breakfast is eaten with the host family, after a prayer. Instead of having breakfast at 8.30 as suggested by the owners, we wanted it at 9am - this wasn't received very well so the next morning it was an 8.30 breakfast for all.
There is no TV in guestrooms, but this B&B advertises their living room as a 'communal area'. We went there the first night to watch a bit of TV before going to bed. An impression we had was that the owners weren't all too happy to see us sitting there watching TV in their living room. When we came back from the restaurant on the second night, the host was sitting in the living room, so we quietly retreated to our bedroom - no TV for us :(
The house was bitterly cold on the first day, despite mentioning this to the owners twice. The situation improved on the second day.
Overall - it feels like that you have to fit in with your landlords and their schedule - kind of like being their private guest, but also paying for the service.
Given the high price and the overall level of discomfort, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Principessa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Let me first apologize for not responding sooner, as I missed this review till today. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. Please do contact us directly for a refund, as we do not want to leave you with the lasting impression of disservice. This review makes me realize the value of a suggestion box which we will implement, thank you. We especially apologize for your not feeling comfortable in the communal area and your not having watched TV. Guests come first and if we missed communicating that, which we evidently did for you, then please accept a belated apology. Perhaps we failed to point out places to hang things? And also, the available dresser space? Again, we are so sorry. I would have been happy to move anything for you and in the future will let all guests know to please make themselves right at home by moving whatever needs to be moved for their comfort. Glad you found breakfast tasty, and sorry we were not able to accommodate your late breakfast preference. As for the spiritual undertones you picked up on....we are who we are, but certainly try to the utmost to be respectful of others as well. We are sorry if we in any way offended you. Again, we want happy customers, so please feel free to contact us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

If you are looking for a place that is quiet and off the beaten path but close to everything you want to see in the Adirondacks, then this is the place to stay. The breakfasts were hardy country style, nothing fancy, but good old farm cooking. The house is spacious and comfortable, especially for a civil war era house. The solar electricity ensures a steady cooling or heat. You can explore right on the land since it is 200+ acres of wood ed land, even with its own "babbling brook". The innkeepers are nice people who really know the area and are extremely helpful for places to see and eat. I stayed for 7 nights and by the end of the trip felt like I was leaving family. A very relaxing place and if that is what you are looking for, and a place that is close to everything you want to see, then definitely stay at Stoney Lonesome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are sending a belated thank you, and the timing in no way reflects our gratitude. Time is precious and you took the time to post. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crown Point
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
22.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
217 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Hague
36 reviews
7.3 mi away
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Super 8 Ticonderoga
#2 of 6 in Ticonderoga
261 reviews
12.8 mi away
Shoreham Inn
Shoreham Inn
#1 of 3 in Shoreham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast
Address: 989 Stoney Lonesome Rd, PO Box 33, Crown Point, NY 12928
Location: United States > New York > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Lonesome Bed & Breakfast offers eco-friendly lodging in the pristine Adirondack Mountains close to incredible hiking, fishing, and climbing. Relax in our charming Civil War era farmhouse nestled on 200 pristine acres with the comfort of knowing you're staying in a "green" Crown Point Bed and Breakfast! We offer Earth friendly lodging complete with solar energy and a low carbon footprint. Enjoy our warm and friendly atmosphere, plush accommodations, and hearty breakfast before you explore all that northern New York state has to offer. Perfect spots for boating, mountain biking, and cross country skiing are only moments away! Less than five miles to the south you'll find the Pharaoh Wilderness Area complete with thousands of acres of mountain forests, lakes, ponds, and streams. Or take a day trip to Montreal and the likes of Lake Placid or Burlington for unique shops and activities! Whatever your vacation plans, a stay at the comfortable Stoney Lonesome Bed & Breakfast is the perfect fit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing