We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of France in North Westchester”
Review of Tagine

Tagine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Jonathan Pratt and Craig Purdy have known one another since 1971. They met at Peter Pratt's Inn and today they are co-owners of this iconic country dining landmark. When daydreaming about new food ideas and restaurants they'd like to run, discussion would return again and again to the idea of casual French food, like the two recalled from the early days of Peter Pratt's Inn. Craig would fill in the margins with stories about riding scooters around coastal India, or hitchhiking to southern Morocco. The foundation of any successful restaurant venture is a secure, affordable location. When the 120 Grand Street lease became available, Jonathan and Craig ran out of excuses for not doing this restaurant which had been in their thoughts for so long. So here it is-a blend of casual French with the surprising seasonings of North Africa-their long anticipated restaurant venture, Tagine.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in North Westchester”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went back to Tangine last Friday night and had another wonderful dinner. The service is impeccable and the dinning room is welcoming and homey. With the weather turning, it feels cozy.
The food is nicely prepared and the duck dishes are the best in North Westchester. The wine list is limited but it offers excellent wines at a reasonable price. This restaurant is simply a gem that continues to provide excellent value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We're not in Kansas anymore (or even Croton)”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second visit to this little gem. The first was about 2 months after it opened and while that meal was good, we had a feeling the kitchen needed to get its act more together. We were right: this second meal was outstanding. I started with the Carrot-Ginger Soup, a wonderful blend of flavors, then had the Lamb Tagine, a signature dish, filled with apricots, almonds and white beans and melt-in-your-mouth chunks of lamb; a small bowl of couscous on the side and one of a fascinating carrot slaw come with the order. My husband started with a seafood salad of grilled shrimp, scungili and calamari that was so fresh it was a wonder they didn't jump out of the plate, then had Chicken Cordon Bleu (special that night) with perfect haricots verts and a vegetable couscous.

You step inside and this place feels foreign. Is it the deeply warm-colored walls? The lacy curtains? The variety of old plates and maps on the walls? The etched windows? The weathered wooden floors? Does it matter? We appreciate the friendly but not overly-attentive service. Next time we have got to leave room for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not typical”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are expecting typical tagine or couscous that's not what you will get. The couscous is premixed with raisins vegetables and LOTS of garlic. Service is very good, and when one of us who is allergic to garlic returned his plate, no questions asked, and order replaced. Cassoulet was average, the beans slightly undercooked and too dry from panko, cassoulet should be creamier. Steak and fries is excellent. Wine list very decent pricing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homezgr8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Westchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very good meal here on a beautiful summer night. The food was fresh and well prepared. My husband had the fish stew and I had the lamb tagine. Both were great. Service was perfect...seriously. Out waitress was knowledgable and professional. Our bread and drinks arrived promptly and our water glasses were never left empty. The food here is a mix of French and Moroccan. The menu is very well thought out and the specials were seasonal. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bistros are normally loud ...”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

... but not this loud. Dinner Friday night, late in the evening, dining room only half full and the noise level was disturbing. At our table of 3, we had to raise our voices just to hear each other. (There are no soft surfaces in the room, and that's easy enough to address.)

My rating would be higher based on the food. Pissaladiere was a great starter, perhaps too much rocquefort (never thought I'd ever say that!). Rack of Lamb special was superb. Frites, sadly, must have been sitting a few minutes before coming out, luke warm and limp.

Ask for the Provencal Rose that's not on the wine list. A beauty.

And guys, I know none of your restaurants are open for lunch, but perhaps you'd consider at Tagine? Maybe a couple days a week? Please?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank where_to_next56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tagine also viewed

Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
 
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
 

Been to Tagine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing