We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real nice place to go camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Croton Point Park

Croton Point Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Real nice place to go camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I went camping here over Halloween weekend and had a wonderful time Sleepy Hollow is only a short drive from there along with many other cool things to do and some real good places to eat as well

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank WilliamDeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A world-class park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This park has it all - playgrounds, a beach, camping, RV's, cabins, picnicing, a nature center and even a model airplane runway! They host a number of special events over the summer that are always well run, and often have shuttle busses from overflow parking at the train station. The beach is small but has a beautiful view and attentive life guards.

The land has a lot of history, from native american mounds to brick factories, a rather unfortunate landfill, and now the area's largest recreational facility.

My only concern is that it can get quite crowded in the summer, but that's to be expected. You have to check for special events that might effectively close the park. And the parking fee is a bit steep, even for residents with an ID card. But as soon as Labor day rolls around, they stop collecting fees, the crowds leave and the place is all yours again.

Visit the tiny and hard to find nature center if it is open, and learn more about this amazing area. And don't forget to bring a kite!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank atravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Park for a Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I have been to this park twice. I love it; I just had to write a review for it. They people who work that are fantastic and nice. Both times we had a reserved area because we were a very large group. The park is well maintained and has lots of space to play all sorts of activities. Though the bathroom sometimes didn’t have enough toilet paper, it was clean. There is a ShopRite just outside the park which is great for when you need grab a few extra things or forgot something. Metro North is just outside the park, it’s about a 10-15 min walk into the beach area.
Parking is anywhere from $5 to $10.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmv247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great views of the Hudson River. Perfect breeze on a hot day. There is swimming there but not really recommended. The park is big enough to go on an easy hike, play sports, playgrounds and bbq areas. Plenty of space to spread out. Never feels crowded. Best time to come is when the eagles return to the area...yes, eagles!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ericraheemsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice break from the hustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The park juts into the Hudson and is a gret place to go for a run or launch a boat. It's safe and there is always parking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JRNYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croton Point Park also viewed

Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
 

Been to Croton Point Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing