We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last outing of the summer”

Ward Pound Ridge Reservation
Eastover, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Last outing of the summer”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the Weekend for bike riding, but the dog wasn't in the mood for riding in his bike,so we abandoned the bikes and hit the road for the hour drive to this Reservation that is a vast property(many mile). There is an entry fee,but lots of parking. We immediately hit the walking trails. Well this was better for the dog as he was thrilled to walk the long tails along the stream that runs for about 3.5 miles. along the way we ran into a movie company starting a film about the leather-man(legend has it that he wanders the park. Navy the dog got us all the attention we needed with crew so we were able to see them transform the actor to a cave man it was cool and his makeup took for every but was great in the end. Ok back to the trails. They are rough and rocky but clear enough to travel and the stream made the greatest sounds ever and was clear and cool. Dogs are to be leashed at all times but everyone seem to relaxed this on the trails. Well that is until another dog is spotted,and then its back to the leash for all safety purpose. You can camp here overnight but that was out the question with me and Navy the dog(too many wild animals). As with most walking trips have your water bottle with you,don't drink from the stream nor let your dog drink from it. For beginner trail walkers, this is a great one for the whole family. We ended the day with a late lunch picnic near the stream, as there is many, picnic sites and lots of tables and pits for grilling. But no place to put your trash afterward, so bring your own trash bags. It's a lovely and peaceful place and a great place to connect with nature. Don't tell anyone but afterward we took a drive by Martha Steward compound in katonah, before heading back to the city. Hope the dog will be up for the bike ride this weekend as you burn more calories riding a bike than walking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Navylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Rez”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place. Been going since I was in High School. It's easy to get to and open all year long. It's a 4,000+ acre property with very few improvements (that's a good thing) a few streams run through it, many, many animals, hiking trails and important history.

Animals often seen (besides the ubiquitous raccoon, bird and squirrel) are black bear, bobcat, fox, hawk, falcon, deer-- bring your animal tracks guide.

The man known as the Leatherman wandered through this park often and made his home in a couple of places, one known as the Leatherman's cave (http://leathermansloop.org/2009/02/the-legend-of-the-leatherman/). The old forest service's fire tower location is cool, though the tower has since been removed for safety purposes.

There are numerous tent camping sites and Lean-to shelter camping sites available year round. The old pit toilets seem to be under improvement as of this writing and porta johns are in their place. Most camping sites can be driven to on very rough road/trails. Some sites are walk-in (backpacking) only. Camping reservations and prepayment is required to ensure you have a spot for your weekend.

There is a Trailside Museum (not open on Sundays or holidays) that presents virtually all local animal inhabitants, they make maple syrup in the winter and do occasional flora/fauna presentations along with American Indian history and lore.

This is a great place for families with kids of all ages, couples, and groups of friends. Bring your own potable water. Do Not bring firewood. Obtain it from the park office (protection of the environment from alien insects). This is strictly a pack out what you pack in kind of place. There aren't any trash receptacles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A beautiful day in the woods!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I have been here many times and have hiked every trail available. It's a beautiful Reservation and while there are always a decent amount of cars in the parking lots you dont see many people. Definitely a wonderful day in nature! Check it out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vbkate725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not really "hiking" but still nice for a nature walk”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is one of the nicer places in Westchester to find some peace and quiet, however, avid hikers or mountain bikers should be aware that they'll have to venture much further from the NYC area to find anything with much geography. I went in the winter time and at least enjoyed the peace and solitude that WPRR offered, but if I wanted a serious hike, I'd have to try somewhere like Anthony's Nose or Bear Mountain in the hudson highlands. Probably a great place to bring (relatively) young kids. In the end though, don't expect too much from this if you're looking for anything more challenging than a nature walk. The rock trail is better than the other trails (and less traveled), but still lacking much topography. There could be a few nice places for bouldering or free climbing but nothing very tall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrVarmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“almost 500 acres of wilderness, less than an hour from Manhattan”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

miles and miles of hiking trails of every grade of difficulty; gorgeous vistas, and a river to boot. the perfect place to unwind

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ward Pound Ridge Reservation also viewed

South Salem, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 
Ossining, Westchester County
Yonkers, Westchester County
 

Been to Ward Pound Ridge Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing