We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Smoke Free Hotel.....I don't think so !”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all, we were greeted by a less then friendly desk clerk who seemed a little perturbed that we interrupted her lunch she was eating. Had to make our way to our room by a box fan, a vacuum and a big orange cone that remained in the hallway throughout our stay. Hotel is SUPPOSED to be 100% Smoke-Free, but our room REEKED of smoke. Carpets were nasty, was scared to take my shoes off. Bathroom was also quite a site. Long dark hair in bathtub and walls falling part and moldy. Had to go out and buy some clorox cleaning wipes to wipe the place down - room's in town were at a minimum so we decided to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very kind staff and perfectly fine breakfast (free). The furnishings and interior need much updating. The mattress and pillows were terrific and new. Free wireless a plus. At a discounted rate, this is a perfectly fine choice for travelers who need a safe and easy (access to interstate and downtown) place to stay.

Room Tip: Second floor seemed very quiet, though not easily accessible if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynGuy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is off the Interstate was quiet no road noise. Had a nice breakfast. Area to eat in was enjoyable. Had a shelf of books and games near front desk, thought that was a nice touch. Rooms were clean, comfy beds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I were in town unfortunately for my uncle's funeral. This also happened to be Cornell University's graduation weekend, so the area was busier than usual.

We booked here because it was inexpensive, they allow dogs, and it was right in the middle of where we needed to be for the weekend. Booking online was easy, there wasn't anywhere to indicate we had a pet with us so I had to call. Check in was a breeze. The two associates working the counter were very polite and asked if there was anything we needed, directions, local suggestions, etc.

Our room was clean but out dated. The wall paper and carpet have obviously seen better days. There was a nice new flat screen TV, nice bed linens and plenty of space for just the two of us. The bath room fixtures must be from the 70's, but were clean. The shower was hot and there was plenty of good water pressure. The towels were a bit small, but did the job. The bed was surprisingly very comfortable and we slept well. The only challenge was noise early in the morning as you could hear footsteps upstairs and people moving about the hallway.

The breakfast was nice, good coffee and selection of continenal items, just enough to help get the day started.

This spot appears to be one where they have focused money on the primary comforts, a good bed and TV. And again, the little interaction I had with the staff was great.

Overall an ok spot, I would stay again. I would recommend but with several footnotes so everyone knows what to expect - and not.

Room Tip: recommend second floor as it will be quieter, but note there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breezy_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA B, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Breezy:
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words regarding our saff and rooms. We look forward to your next visit, and will make sure you are upstairs away from the noise.
Thank you for staying and sharing your experience.
Maria
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were two senior couples heading south from Montreal. This night stop was a pleasant one with good rooms at the back (# 104 & 106) so was quiet and shielded from any highway noise. The self serve continental breakfast was included in the room rate $74.66 + tax $84.36. The hotel is very clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look on to a garden area and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA B, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Rossbet:

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on us. We were pleased to learn that you had a good night sleep and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here after a long drive from NYC, and it was a really positive experience. The holiday decor was welcoming, and my kids went nuts when they saw hot chocolate and Oreos out in the lobby for guests during the evening. My husband and I appreciated the selection of teas they set out as well. Staff was helpful in directing us to places nearby to pick up skiing essentials at a good price since we were unfamiliar with the area. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The room rate was affordable, and we would definitely return. It is a reasonable distance from Greek Peak, and we appreciated the proximity to major stores (Walmart, etc). Staff also gave us some complimentary toothbrush/toothpaste combos since we forgot them at home. Little extra touches like that made us really enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: First floor near the lobby was convenient for us since we have young kids. It made hitting breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariadna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel needs to rid the active black mold in the bathroom shower. Very outdated and dirty. The ground floor window in our room did not have a lock so we didn't sleep soundly. The coffee maker in the room needs to be replaced. The wallpaper in the bathroom is falling off the wall. Not much "Quality" here - we will not be staying here again. Did have pleasant check-in and out staff.

Room Tip: Stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortland hotels
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cortland
Red Roof Inn Cortland
#5 of 10 in Cortland
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Cortland
Comfort Inn Cortland
#6 of 10 in Cortland
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 188 Clinton Ave, Cortland, NY 13045-1421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range: $74 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Cortland
Quality Inn Cortland
Cortland Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing