We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Pleasant staff in a quiet and pleasantly clean location. Plus a great price and a great breakfast. This was conveniently located to Ithaca NY and I'd definitely stay here again if in the area. The drive from Cornell was quite reasonable and scenic and the value of this hotel was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 78 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

There is nothing like a warm welcome to a weary traveler on a bitter cold night.
The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and anticipating my arrival the room temperature was turned up so that my chilled body quickly warmed.

The room was large, with double beds, microwave, refrigerator, TV, WI-FI, table and chairs. I callled home. Every thing is well here.

I'll book my next trip to Cortland or Ithaca here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOVResearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

If you are traveling to Cortland, do not stay in the Econo Lodge. It is a depressing, old, mildew smelling motel that has not been refurbished in years. Despite adjusting the heat dozens of times, I either froze or cooked all night for 3 nights. You may think it's a better choice because it is supposedly within walking distance of SUNY-Cortland, but it's a long hilly walk to campus and you will do much better staying at one of the newer hotels nearer the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank abd321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

What a terrible place to stay. The rooms are outdated and gross. I had to buy my own toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and soap) because of the poor quality. Only Shampoo and soap were provided - no conditioner. I thought for $129 I would at least get some decent toiletries provided. I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bean1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Went with friends to a CD release party. Have never been to Cortland, so I didn't know what to expect. The owners were very nice & very helpful to direct us with our destinations. Was very happy to learn all we needed was within walking distance! The room was very neat & beds were very comfortable & quiet! (We were there on a Saturday night.) Continental breakfast- good coffee!! I would definitely recommend this hotel & would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeldaDeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We visited the Econo Lodge in Cortland and stayed for 5 days. The rooms were very clean, and cleaned every day. We were pleased with the friendliness and hard work of the staff. The front desk is very knowledgable. They recommended the Community Restaurant, which is a must do when visiting Cortland. We also enjoyed dinner at the Central City Bar and Grill. After reading previous reviews of this hotel, we wanted to say that we saw none of the problems, and enjoyed our stay immensly. The location is perfect (close to the college as well as the downtown area), the beds are very comfortable, the staff is top notch, and the price is right (best value in the area). We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monarch48562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We are from Denver, Colorado, and were visiting family in Cortland, NY for The Thanksgiving Holiday. It was a great place to stay and the prices were quite reasonable. The management was so helpful and considerate. The room was very clean and well kept. I would definately come back to this hotel again.

Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farty1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortland hotels
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
0.8 mi away
Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cortland
Red Roof Inn Cortland
#5 of 10 in Cortland
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Cortland
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cortland
Comfort Inn Cortland
#6 of 10 in Cortland
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 10 Church St, Cortland, NY 13045-2710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range: $65 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
conveniently located in historical downtown Cortland, walking distant to main street businesses and restaurants, centrally located to area ski resorts like Greek Peak, Son Mountain and Labrador Mountains, and convenient location for SUNY Cortland, TC3 , Cornell university and Syracuse university. Near by airports are Syracuse (SYR), Ithaca (ITH) and Binghamton (BGH), We are less than one mile from Exit 11 on I-81 and situated on state Route NY13 and US Hwy 11. All the rooms are equipped with individual heat and A/C. refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, and clock radios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cortland
Cortland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing