We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let the Building Fool You”

Fabio's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 112 Restaurants in Cortland
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Cortland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Building Fool You”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fabio's is an old school, authentic italian restaurant. It's what's on the plates inside this somewhat dingy dining room that keeps us coming back. It's a slow pace-we call it relaxing- from course to course. Everything is handmade.You will not be served frozen breaded chicken patties or handed a shaker of Kraft Parmesan Cheese. Find fresh pasta dishes, a wide selection of fish entrees and some beef on the menu. And that may be the downfall. The menu is quite extensive, perhaps too big. When everything is being made to order from such a huge menu, the kitchen can get slow. We have not had a bad experience and we eat at Fabio's about once a month. I do see the posted reviews of slow service. The decor is nothing to get excited about. The silverware is cheap and doesn't match but every time we go, we see a little something that has been fixed up inside. And the owner/chef has a bit of a reputation of being a hot-head. We think a better word would be passionate about his food. He has come out of the kitchen and visited tables before and offered up drinks or dessert on the house. We go for the food. We love italian food and Fabio's is eclectic and old school. We appreciate that. The location is horrible...across a parking lot from the smoking entrance of a bar but just march on in and enjoy an atypical italian meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyEverySandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    6
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth It”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is excellent. All freshly made so patience "is a virtue" when eating at Fabio's. But it is nice not to be rushed through a meal. Fabio's oversees all preparation and it shows. The menu is varied but stays true to Fabio's Italian roots. The interior of the restaurant is comfortable. Staff is friendly and knows the menu.
If you ever have the opportunity take a cooking class with him.
There is no outdoor seating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“excellent food, worth the wait.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

To keep with European style, expect to sit here for a good hour and a half as is common in Europe. On the postive note: food was excellent>we shared a Fabbio salad, which was more than enough for two people. i had scallops with pesto and they were cooked to perfection in my oversized portion. My mother had one of the salmon specials. A smaller portion, but none the less it was cooked to perfection. Pastas are made fresh, as are the desserts. I live and dine in NYC, so i am very critical of what and where i eat. The desserts are out of this world, but take note they are at NYC prices, but what the heck...go for it! On the negative side.. the place is very hard to see from the road, so a landmark needs to given ( i think there was a dollar store across the street). The place had about a dozen tables filled, but only 2 servers and they did their best to keep up and they did hold their own. Our server actually asked us for some hints for her work ethic becasue my table was not getting impatient or upset: I simply told her never have empty hands. Having worked and owned Italian restaurants for 30 years, the servers (that night) just need a touch of culture (such as white wine with fish, never forget the grated cheese or the fresh cracked pepper etc) If you've ever eaten at the Culinary in upstate NY, you can definitely compare recipes and tastes. Even the bread is made fresh. I would definitely go back. Its a casual place that has a lot of potential and needs so updating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warmed Over”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been there several times. The last time I was there I think my meal was made ahead, and warmed over. I won't go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fabio really knows how to prepare fresh Tuna . Fantastic meal , super service . Hard to choose the menu is so full of new things along with the old favorites. Always tasty . Interesting to watch Fabio on Bridge Street channel 9 , then come to the restaurant and try the special !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceD459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabio's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Fabio's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing