We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seven-year Itch”

Hollywood Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 111 Restaurants in Cortland
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
GRAND ISLAND
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
589 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“Seven-year Itch”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's been about seven years since we started using this as a family gathering point, and have never been disappointed. Speaking of "seven," there's a life-sized, maybe larger, statue of Marilyn Monroe's (in)famous skirt-lifting shot from "Seven-Year Itch." We've always been impressed with how well the waitstaff knows the kitchen and how hard they will try to accommodate special needs. Last time there they had a chicken-with-leek soup which cured the colds of two of us. Specially recommended: the margherita pasta, and a personal antipasto will feed two or three. Can't wait for our next visit... pollyndoug smith, the cheap gourmets

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGANDPOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    42
    19
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greene, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eating, not dining.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

You're in Cortland and eventually you have to eat. The Hollywood is the place everyone will send you. It really isn't the only restaurant in Cortland but it seems to be the best of a poor lot. It's clean. The Hollywood is a Cortland institution serving American food, think Hamburgers, fries and spagetti. The food isn't particularly good but there is a theme. The restaruant has some film stuff and a larger than life plastic Marilyn Monroe in the air up her skirts posture. If that sounds like your idea of fine dining you can ignore the eggplant that isn't cooked and the iceburg lettuce salad while you live your fantasy. You'll be in some company as the locals all seem to drag in on weekend nights.Some of the college students will also attend but that won't uplift any spirits. Next time you're in Cortland, bring food from home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir Jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing homemade.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Jar sauce and 2 of our entrees came out burned. Former glory had faded fast. OK service but not worth the $$$.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank homer13077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting place with great food”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I met eachother at Hollywood Restaurant 12 years ago. When we go to New York we make sure to stop and visit the little gem of Cortland.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walmart quality food, noisy, and at best okay”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am not going to make this a long review. I did not enjoy anything about this restaurant. My wife and the 13 liked the food.

We sat to a table quickly. The atmosphere is old memorable and mood set in dim lighting. Serve took a few minutes to get to us. She was pleasant, but it quickly went down from here. This was my first time here and I thought I would try the lasange that states on the menu they it famous. My wife scallops and teenager chicken something. Anyways they got salads, and waited for bread what seemed like forever.

The waitress ask how was meal, and didn't want for a response.

Long story it was roughly $15 per person, and I still felt robbed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank futureray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Restaurant also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hollywood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing