We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique miniature golfing -- in "black light"!”

Shipwreck Golf Amusement Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Fun & Games in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: LONGEST MINI GOLF HOLE ON THE PLANET. Our outdoor pirate course is full of twists and turns, water traps and a river hole. We feature the largest indoor Black Light Mini Golf course in the nation. After golf enjoy our bounce houses, gem dig or fluff and stuff a bear. Our newest attraction is our outdoor paintball arcade. Shoot at over 100 targets and props.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Westminster
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique miniature golfing -- in "black light"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Shipwreck Amusement Center offers 36 holes of challenging miniature golf. A unique experience, with 18 of the holes played in "black light", meaning in an indoor glowing environment. This takes some getting used to, as one has to deal with the changing color of the glowing ball in the dark. Helpfully, there are colored strips along the course where the elevation changes. We found the indoor decorations of animals, pirates etc to be in good condition, and the course does not feel old and worn down (unlike so many other miniature golf courses.) The outdoor 18-holes course has a pirate theme and is fairly standard. On the whole, our kids thoroughly enjoyed the novelty and challenge of this attraction -- and the watermelon and rasperry iced drinks at the end!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmFLoge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    5
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer
Level Contributor
397 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Best mini golf around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The only time I've ever seen a themed mini-golf place like this was on vacation. The owners did a nice job designing Shipwreck and have expanded it in the past couple years to include an indoor glow-in-the-dark mini golf, year round bounce houses for kids parties, and an ice cream parlor. The golf course is clean and well maintained, it is also well lit at night. The displays are a lot of fun and we seem to see something different each visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY,USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good attraction for the kids, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I held my grandaughters birthday party here. The kids had a great time in the bounce house and golfing. The separate room for parties is also very convenient. However, there was a young female hostess attending our party who was inefficient and not polite at all. Probably would not have the party here again unless we were guaranteed to have a kid-friendly party hostess.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gri396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipwreckcares, Guest Relations Manager at Shipwreck Golf Amusement Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for your poor service. We have 5-8 birthday parties per week-end and we rarely get complaints. Our 2 party hosts have 3 years experience each and I am sad that they did not give you the great service they are capable of. Please call us so I can figure out what went wrong. I never want a birthday party to be anything but a great experience for all involved. Please feel free bring your concerns to the attention of the manager on duty next time. If you don't get satisfaction you he will give you my personal number so I can help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time no matter what the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Indoor mini golf is a blast with the kids, outdoors is wonderful on a warm day. Always a hit for the kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CACCortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holley, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

a cool, fun activity for the whole family. The indoor blacklight golf...was awesome! My teenage boys had fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Golf Amusement Center also viewed

 

Been to Shipwreck Golf Amusement Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing