We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 13, 2008

This hotel was very nice and conventient to where we needed to be. However, when we returned after being away all day at it was 3PM and found our room not made-up yet! I was angry! WE had left at 10AM. The staff send someone up right away and we did get the room cleaned. Tho the maid never vacuumed our room either day we stayed. The staff was nice and the breakfast was great with make your own waffles. It would have been nice in the room to have a refrig.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Seymour E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 808 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2008

Checked in to this hotel shortly before midnight . The desk clerk refused to honor the rate the room was reserved at, and no manager was on duty. I was advised that the manager would not be available to 10 AM the following morning. So I left a message, that night, and again the following afternoon for the manager to call me. I'm still waiting for that return call.

Due to my late arrival I spent the night anyway, before checking out the next morning. Rooms are clean, but it is downhill from there. The furnishings are mostly inexpensive pine furniture and past there prime, the TV set was old, and more importantly the air conditioning unit was very noisy (tit woke me every time it switched on).

The hotel has internet but you need an ethernet cord to connect, and you have to get the cord at the desk before you go to your room. Additionally you have to fill out a form to get the ethernet cord.

The hot portion of the free breakfeast buffet consisted of dryed out scramble eggs, and what I can only assume was a sausage patty, I wasn't brave enough to try either. I settled for the do it yourself waffles. Hot and cold ceral, assorted breads, mini muffins, and juice are also available.

As noted by other reviewers this hotel is situated in a rather isolated area, accross town from most of other hotels, restaurants, and the interstate. It is located next to the SUNY at Cortland.

On the positive side the staff was generally very friendly.

My recommendation is not to stsay here, unless this location suits your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for a business trip over the weekend. It's in a cute, quiet area of Cortland and very close to restaurants and stores (Wal-Mart, KMart, Payless, etc.). The complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning is perfect...there were eggs, fresh waffles, bagels, muffins and coffee, tea and juice. The rooms were clean and spacious as well. The only complaint we had was the noise inside the hotel. The walls are very thin so we could hear kids running up and down the hallways all night and doors slamming ALL NIGHT long. It's not a very big hotel so we figured someone on staff would hear it and take care of the noise, but it only continued. Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel, but it still put a damper on our stay.

Otherwise, I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Doozie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We arrived here after flying from the UK to JFK and driving north through an appalling thunderstorm. The hotel was easy to find and had more than enough parking.

After twenty four hours with no sleep the welcome was extremely warm, friendly and gratefully received.

Having not eaten, we asked for a recommendation and were directed to a nearby Applebys, which had good, quick food served in a nice atmosphere and which was great value. On our return we were offered freshly picked strawberries, which the reception lady was taking home for her family, and the ever-available freshly baked cookies.

The room was large and quiet, with twin queen-size beds and a clean bathroom and had all the usual facilities. We slept very soundly on comfortable beds.

The hotel has a small pool and jacuzzi, which was empty when we used it, with a small fitness suite next door.

There was a wide range of food available for breakfast - including make-your-own waffles - a novelty for those of us from the UK.

Check out was fast and efficient and accompanied by more cookies. The price was excellent for the standard of service and accomodation and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We recently stayed at four different Country Inn and Suites locations including this one. We had a one-bedroom suite which is reasonably spacious and a true “suite” - i.e., separate rooms - and good for a family of four, with a small sink, microwave and fridge.

Everything was generally well-run and decent. Both TVs in the suite came with DVD players, which was convenient.

Unlike most Cortland hotels, this one is on the other side of town from the interstate, near SUNY-Cortland and on the way toward Ithaca. It's a little tricky to get to from the interstate. Make sure to print out a map.

One annoying aspect is that the “business center” is inconveniently located in a small corner room on the 3rd floor, and they make you fill out a form to get the key. Very tedious when you just want to print something. Most locations put this in the lobby for quick access.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

stayed here for 2 nights, very happy with the experience. we had the king suite which was perfect for us. there is a king bed in the bedroom and a pull out sofa in the livingroom area. there are also 2 tv's, so the kids can watch their programs. pretty close to the ski resort, about 15 minutes away. pretty good variety with the complimentary breakfast. the only bad thing i can think of is probably the sofa bed which is not very comfortable. other than that, can't think of anything else to complain about the place. will stay again....

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyc823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We stayed here one night on our way to Niagara Falls. Had a late check in and we were tired hungry and needed gas for our car. The front desk person greeted us by name welcomed us and promptly told us where to eat, Applebee’s and gave us a coupon for a free appy then gave us directions for a gas station. When we came back from dinner the front desk person again greeted us by name, inquired about our meal and encouraged us to take advantage of the 24 hour treats and beverages in the lobby. Of course the room was standard for a hotel of this caliber but it was clean and I felt secure. No noise and we could open the window a bit to get fresh air. The pool was small and we didn't use it but we did use the workout room and it was sufficient for our needs.
Free breakfast was an expanded continental and it included hot items plus fruits, yogurt, cereals and pastry.
The breakfast room was clean bright and airy. They had the TV on and we could get a quick weather report. Check out was a breeze. This is our first Country Inn and Suites experience. I will certainly try them again on future travels.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortland
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
15.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland

Address: 3707 State Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range: $112 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing