We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay...breakfast so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights over 4th of July weekend. Convenient location to Ithaca and several nice restaurants located near hotel. Staff was wonderful and genuinely cared about our needs. Even the pool maintenance man helped to make the temperature of the whirlpool a little warmer for us. This was the best stay we've had in a long time.

The only thing we didn't like so much was the continental breakfast. The breakfast room was relatively small for the number of guests and people spilled out into the lobby with their kids. There were tables outside which offered some privacy. The food was typical fare for a continental breakfast - a lot of processed fast-foods full of sugar and salt. We did enjoy the oatmeal, fresh fruit, waffles and juice. Despite the breakfast situation, we would definitely come back again and plan to in the near future.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor not so much traffic, suites facing the back are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear NYDowser-

Our team members work very hard to ensure all guests are 100% satisfied with thier stay and that we are delivering a great product to all...knowing Chuck, our maintenance man adjusted the temperature for you doesn't surprise me one bit, he always wants to leave a lasting impression and will go above and beyond to deliver.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience about your recent stay. Breakfast is a popular place in the am and yes, it can be slightly croweded, using the front porch or even the back gazebo are great ideas for the guests who desire a quieter breakfast experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon-
Teri Tarshus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 816 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This CI&S is a very nice establishment. Recently built; located nicely on the man thoroughfare Rt. 13; quiet; excellent staff; nice breakfast; clean rooms. But I have two issues with the hotel.

First, the AC is located only in the bedroom window so the far end of the suite (the living room area) near the hall and entry door takes a long time to cool down, and likely would not cool down much if you closed the connecting door between the two-queen room and the living/fold out couch area. Second, for whatever the reason, hotels in the Cortland are very expensive, and this is very much the case with the CI&S. If you are somewhat budget minded as we are, the cost (plus the New York State taxes) puts a damper on the stay. We will visit Cortland again (have relatives there) but we will try to find another hotel or get two rooms at a motel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_in_Wintersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay-Please know we do listen and act on all feedback from our guests. Our suites are designed with a soffit from the bedroom to the livingroom that also has a fan inside to draw the heat or the air into the livingroom.

I have shared your feedback with my maintenance team and they will service the room you stayed in to ensure there is not a fan motor issue preventing the air flow into the livingroom and causing comfort issues.

I invite you to give us a try again when traveling in Cortland-and I would like to personally make your reseration-so do not hesitate to reach out and contact me when returning to our area!

Teri Tarshus
General Manager
607-753-8300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love coming here. Last year we were closed out on the days we wanted due to reunions. We come each year on business and pleasure and booked a King Suite. Only problem was the pull out sofa had a stiff bar in the middle that bothered my son's back, but we propped with pillows (room 309). I know that often happens with pull outs anyway. I was able to get a good rate by booking early and AAA. Due to the terrible flooding of the area, there wasn't a room available, but this place is filled anyway! The breakfasts are wonderful and the coffee and snacks in the lobby are really nice touches. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Love the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicalmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Musical Mama!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to share your most recent stay with our future guests. I am so thrilled to hear you return year after year and we thank you for your dedication to our hotel.

I will take a look at the mattress in room 309, maybe it is time to replace it...they do get a lot of use!

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Teri Tarshus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'm not accustomed to writing reviews, but thought this time was an exception.

This is our second time staying at this hotel and both times we were pleasantly surprised.

The first thing you will notice is that the staff at this hotel are so warm and helpful. The rooms were bright and clean.

This time we were there during Graduation Week. Needless to say there were a lot of
out-of-towners and the hotel was pretty busy.

They have a breakfast area which is run by " Margie". She was so friendly and had a kind word for everyone. All while keeping the food well stocked and the coffee hot.

Our hats are off to her. I hope she gets a chance to read this someday and sees that here efforts are not going unnoticed.

We will be staying here again in the future.... no doubt.

Room Tip: If you have kids you might want to get a room on the pool side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear William,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to share your recent stay experiences but more so to mention Margie. She is outstanding-we are very lucky to have her and so many others on our team at CIS. When a team member has such a positive impact, as Margie does, on our guests we can't help but smile...it is out job but we all do what we love and that makes coming to work such a great experience for us and as you see it spreads to everyone.

I look forward to your next visit and wowing you again!

Teri Tarshus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I have visited this CI&S a couple of times. We have found it to be one of the best managed, friendly, comfortable and consistent facilities in the chain. The seemingly "little" touches like asking about your preferences, welcoming returning customers, the cheese tray in the lobby and recognizing participants in their loyalty program make a "big" difference in how a customer feels and makes travel decisions. Hopefully, our autumn motorcycle trip will take us back to the Cortland area and, if it does, the CI&S will be our destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind words and your stay experiences with us and our future travelers. We understand busy scheudules and we try very hard to take the time with evrey guest to make their stay comfortable and memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Teri Tarshus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent value - we found a pre-pay deal which we took advantage of. The room was good size, with 2 queen beds. The bed was extremely comfortable! The shower head had a problem which we reported; maintenance was up to the room almost before we finished telling the front desk folks about. The problem was fixed before we got back to the room. The staff were all excellent - the women who managed the breakfast were all personable and chipper bright & early in the morning. The young women on reception duty in the late afternoons (3-11 shift maybe?) were friendly, responsive, and maintained a business sense even when speaking in friendly tones to customers. The housekeepers were efficient and did their jobs well. Nice size pool. Nice workout room, too.

I'd stay there again next time I go back to Cortland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossQueenEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your stay experience!
You are so right, our breakfast ladies are the best around-both Kayla and Margie are so chipper and full of sunshine in the mornings-I love walking into work and being greeted by either one.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Teri Tarshus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family and I stay here every year to be close to an annual family reunion. I stay in a room with my 3 kids. There is lots of space to spread out. The kids love the indoor pool. The breakfast is good. The laundry facilities are clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjj_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

It is always a pleasure to read a review from a returning guest! Thank you for choosing to stay with us year after year-we could not be more proud!

Your devotion to our hotel is what makes our job so easy.
I really appreciate you sharing your stay with our future travelers-your comments about the space in our rooms and the cleanliness of our property mean so much.

Looking forward to your visit next year!
Teri Tarshus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortland hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cortland
Comfort Inn Cortland
#6 of 10 in Cortland
82 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cortland
Red Roof Inn Cortland
#5 of 10 in Cortland
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland

Address: 3707 State Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range: $105 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing