We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Bad Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Room, Bad Breakfast”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool and spa were very well maintained. Breakfast however, was poor. The eggs and ham in the warmer, were not warm and the oatmeal was cold and the consistency of glue. We would stay there again, however, we would opt for breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and there was little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you so much for your thoughts and insight on your past stay. I appreciate it so veyr much and will work asap with my breakfast team to ensure we are cooking and heating properly as well as maintaining for the best presentation possible.

I am very glad to read you enjoyed yoru stay with the exception of breakfast but I guarantee your next visit will have differenct results.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next stay, if I can be of assistance with any future reservations please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Teri Tarshus
607-753-8300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    191
    38
    16
    11
See reviews for
481
105
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while traveling with family and visiting the University. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful. The fitness center was not too big but had a few different machines. The complimentary wifi worked exceptionally well throughout the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was good and served fresh & hot and featured a variety of options. My wife and daughter made their own waffles which they loved while I had the oatmeal and some eggs. Once again, the staff were very nice and attentive. Overall, a good hotel at a great price in a small town with limited options.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your recent stay with our future guests, I truly appreciate and enjoy reading them. Our team thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next SUNY Cortland trip!

Warm Regards,
Teri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel one week ago with my daughter of 3 1/2 years old and my husband. We loved it. It was clean, people worked there were nice. Good breakfast, I didn't know they also allow you to borrow movies and books with free of charge. My daughter said she wanted to live there, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear there were so many surprises waiting for you once you arrived at our hotel. The books you will find at all Country Inn & Suites, so please look for them on future hotel stays, the DVDs are special to our hotel and I am glad the hear you enjoyed.

Country Inn & Suites are very kid friendly, so please as your daughter grows up keep us in mind for all your future hotel needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon in Cortland.

Warm Regards,
Teri Tarshus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just stayed at Country Inn and suite. The room was clean and comfortable but what made all the difference was the staff. At the front desk: Monica, Kelly and Nicole were always smiling, keen to help. Margie at the breakfast area, was stopping at every table greeting, complimenting customers, chatting with kids. The pool was nice and warm. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a reivew about our hotel and than you so much more for mentioning our team members who had such an impact on your stay. They are all gems and I am very honored to have each on my team!

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon at the Country Inn, Cortland.

Warm Regards,
Teri Tarshus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel waivers clean, the rooms spacious and well stocked. Comes with a refrigerator and a microwave. A/C worked perfectly. Plenty of hot water and didn't have to run it for awhile to get it to the third floor. Also has a large flat screen TV. Plenty of space in the bathroom. Hotel has a pool and whirlpool. Free Internet.

Breakfast was good and a large selection. Hot foods as well as cold cereals and breads. Also had some fruit and yogurt. Can't go hungry here. The hostess in the breakfast room was better than most waitresses. She was always ready to get something if someone needed it.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. This hotel is approximately 6 miles from Greek Peak Ski Resort.

I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusdriverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello!

Margie in our breakfast room is one of a kind...she makes breafkast the BEST meal of the day for so many.

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent stay with future guests, your time and attention to details about your stay are very much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Teri Tarshus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed while visiting the area for a relatives 70th Birthday.
Check in was not an issue, very friendly staff gave us a review of the hotel.

The pool was nice, whirlpool nice, gym was adequate as I needed a run on the treadmill :-) Rooms were clean, Internet service was good.

I have no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaseballTravelerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with our future guests. We appreciate your warm comments.

Teri Tarshus
General Manager
607-753-8300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Clean with friendly staff that makes you feel at home makes a great place to stay a few days. Close to greek peak ski area and downtown Cortland which has lot of places to eat at a reasonable price. I had such a good time decided to stay an extra day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_advisor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland. We appreciate your time and the review you gave our hotel. We share all feedback with the entire team and I your comments were greatly appreciated. We work very hard as a team to make all stays perfect for each individual guest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Teri Tarshus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortland
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
16.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Address: 3707 State Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing