We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday to Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Look, this is a lot higher-priced than most of the hotels we seek out, but with two birthdays in the family (grandson, son-in-law) we decided the full-sized suite was worth it this once. Good choice. Staff was especially accommodating to even our most unusual, out-of-the-box needs... in fact, I hestitate to mention them, lest higher-up management criticize the locals for being TOO nice.
Nice big room and the pool was perfect for our needs. Breakfast was terrific but dining room was short-staffed... gal was giving it her all, but no way she could feed 50 variously hungry people all at once. Also, large suites probably could use larger wastebaskets, although they probably don't often have to deal with this much gift wrapping. Certainly would do it again...

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the back, away from the highway, but the setback of the property is such that even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOUGANDPOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri T, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We loved reading your review and knowing we were part of such a fun family occasion!!! Birthday Parties are always fun, I am thrilled we were able to host your family and make everyone feel at home!

Until the next birthday, stay well!
Teri Tarshus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 811 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is my 4th annual September trip to the Cortland/Virgil area and I will definitely stay here again. This is a very nice combination of a B&B and Hotel. The lobby has a warm and inviting feel to it with complimentary cookies for guests, and the staff was friendly. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast that is included with the room price was excellent: eggs, home fries, make-your-own waffles, cereals, english muffins, etc. in a very nice eating area (which, if you think about it, makes for a greater value the more people you have in a room, i.e for a family). I have tried saving some money on this trip in the past by staying at a budget hotel, but you get what you pay for. This room price is approximately 50% more than the local budget hotels, but well worth it. Based on this stay I would search out other Country Inns & Suites in other cities. A very nice surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BayRidgeGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived to Country Inn Suites late and staff was very welcoming. We said we would be leaving the next morning before the 5 am start of breakfast. The staff said they would have breakfast ready at 4. I was very surprised that a hot breakfast was ready for us at 4 am. Every staff member we encountered was plesant and ready to help. We will stay here again and recomend this hotel to anyone. Rates higher than 2 stars in our book. Rooms were also clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here a couple weeks ago and it was a pleasant experience. The room had some minor wear and tear but it was clean and comfortable. We found every employee to be friendly and accomodating. Jo-Jo was especially interesting and helpful! They offered a nice breakfast, and the employees there were very helpful and caring. Cookies and a snack were available in the evenings. The water was good tasting and was told it was filtered. The reason for not giving five stars is the top corners of the sheets and mattress cover on both sides at the head of the bed came off each of the four nights we were there. This in turn caused wrinkling, etc. on the rest of the bed. We left it each time thinking housekeeping would see the problem and correct it. On the morning we left I saw someone in housekeeping and mentioned the problem. I was told the sheets and mattress covers were old and that they were in the process of getting new ones. Hopefully, if/when we return again, this will no longer be an issue. Still had a very nice stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverQueen4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is my 5 stars. We have stayed at Frederickburg which received an award by Trip advisor in 2011 but this one in Cortland beated the one un Fredericksburg. The breakfast was simply super . Location close to Apple'Bee. Very quiet. Must be nice in september and october when the leaves change color

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was really nice. It was in a good location for our outdoor activity. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a King suite with a pull out - the room was large - 2 TV's, frig, micro wave. It would have been better for us to get 2 queen beds - we were travelling with our 2 teens - but they were OK on the pull out (not really). We just won't get a pull out again! The hotel had eclairs and other bakery treats available upon our arrival - the breakfast was perfect - eggs, potatoes, sausage and all the other usual continental stuff.
It was a little more expensive that what we usually spend - but very cozy and enjoyable!
Plus they also had a sliding door at the entrance - this is my new favorite thing! The hotel always starts out ahead if I don't have to open the door holding all my bags!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mew6160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were travelling with our 4-month-old baby, and this place was half way on our long road trip. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast quite satisfactory. Nice lobby area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank eskimoroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortland
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
6.1 mi away
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
16.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland

Address: 3707 State Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range: $108 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing