We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If your going to take your child to school I know this review is a bit late.........My child is up at Cortland and my 1st choice of hotels would be the country inn suites....right behind the school and very clean top shelf hotel....nice breakfast in th emorning included....they give you a cortland parent dicount so ask...Good luck

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear SUNY Cortland Parent!

Thank you so for taking your time to share your experience with our travlers and to spread the word about our SUNY Parent rates. We look forward every year to meeting our new parents and then welcoming them back time and time again.

Your comments are very much appreciated and shared with our entire staff.
Thank you again,
Teri Keegan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 808 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

The rooms smell and the breakfast was poor. Powdered eggs, sugary fruit, kids yogurt. All a very noisy hotel. The walls must be made of cardboard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I am very sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations during the stay.
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your stay, please contact me at your convenience and I will make right your past stay.

Warm Regards,
Teri Keegan
General Manager
-----

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is one of the better properties in the limited pool of accomodations in Cortland. The location is excellent, facilities were clean, and the size of the room for what you pay is A+ albeit the furnishings and bathroom could desperately use an update.

I could have definitely done without the attitude of the front desk and in the breakfast area. Very young staff looked like they were not trained in the area of greeting guests and just basic hospitality 101. I think if management trained their staff better in these areas, I could rate this place 4 or maybe even 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joidevivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about our hotel. I am very surprised by your comments concerning the staff in both the front desk and breakfast areas, not our normal feedback. We strive to make sure all guests are 100% certain they will return and most of the time it is our staff as the reason why.
I would love the opportunity to talk with you about your stay specifics and make right your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel and share your experience.
I appreciate you taking the time to bring to my attention your stay and I invite you back again to give us another chance to wow you with our hospitality!

Warm Regards,
Teri Keegan
607-753-8300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My family and I stayed at Country Inn for a few days while visiting the Cayuga Lake area. Overall, our experience was great and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. Throughout our stay, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. On the first night, we ran into an issue with our room and the next morning we were able to switch to a new one without any problems. They even made sure the new room was spotless before we moved into it. The room was spacious and quiet and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was also an added plus. The location was also nice because we were close enought to Ithaca without having to pay Ithaca prices. The pool was a little small and a bit too warm, but the kids enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notashoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Everything was perfect. Clean and very friendly staff. The pool and spa was perfect and breakfast had everything that we needed:-)
We were very satisfired.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with others your recent stay at our hotel.
Hosting guests is what we do best and it was a pleasure to host your stay.

Thank you again,
Teri Keegan
General Manager
607-753-8300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Right away after driving up to the front, my wife and I noticed how clean, bright, and well kept the hotel was, this includes the lobby area and breakfast room. We had good impression of the hotel right from the start. Desk personnel who were on duty the evening of June 11th and all personnel on duty during the morning of the 12th were excellent and made us feel at home, the desk attendant who checked us in was very kind and helpful, even going so far as to find forks for my wife and I in the closed up breakfast room so that we could eat some dinner leftovers we had brought with us. The room was exceptionally clean and well kept. The amenities available such as free coffee, milk and cookies were welcome additions to the positive experience. The bed was very comfortable (down pillows) and breakfast was excellent also. Overall, I would have to say that this experience was one of the best I have had, even better than I've had at some higher priced hotels such as Sheraton or Ramada. Excellent value for the money spent, I will definitely return again to this hotel and highly recommend to all. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuck13041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you very much for your great review and the details of your stay. We appreciate your business and hope we will be able to host a stay for you again soon.

Thank you again for your review and taking valuable time to let us know about your stay.


Warm Regards,
Teri Keegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel was in a good location. Professional, friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable - two things I am very fussy about. Restaurants a few minutes away by car. Breakfast was adequate. Would recommend to other travelers and stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunners777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other guests and potential guests. It is always our pleasure to host your stay. Please allow us the opportunity again while traveling in the area.

Warm Regards,
Teri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortland
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
15.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland

Address: 3707 State Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045-8857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range: $112 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing