We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy landings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doug's Fish Fry

Doug's Fish Fry
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
GRAND ISLAND
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
589 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“happy landings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

everyone who can tolerate fish should drop a line into doug's at least once in a lifetime... it's fair, fresh and fragrant, to the point that this is a solo job for the Cheap Gourmet... as Mrs. CG says, "the only thing I like that swims is him"... it's kind of an English fish-and-chips joint on steroids, and if they can be kept at a distance, she cares a lot for the hush puppies, in limited quantities, of course

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DOUGANDPOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    54
    22
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great Roadfood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Located conveniently off of Route 81, this is a wonderful place. The menu is very simple with special days for clams and oysters. They did an amazing job on their basic fish sandwich and the fried shrimp were fresh and delicious. There is a nice choice of sides and both the gumbo and chowder were delicious. Can't wait to get back there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Summer Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Every summer my wife and I travel to Cortland to visit the NY Jets camp. And every summer we make Doug's our first visit. It is a fun and lively atmosphere with excellent fish, scallops, shrimp, oysters, etc. If you love seafood this is the place to go. Add a few cold beers and some onion rings and you are in fish heaven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Place To Go For Fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

When we do the Bon Ton Roulet (bicycling around the Finger Lakes) every year, we always eat at Doug's the first night since meals are not provided that night. Doug's food is always fresh, hot and taste Great! This year the service was not up the norm so we were a little disappointed there. But the wait was worth it. Ed got fried shrimp and onion rings and I got fried oysters and onion rings. The platter also comes with some of the best cole slaw I have ever eaten. There was an abundance of food and the batter was light, but crispy. It's a lot of food, and we struggled to eat it all. But when the food is that good you definitely do not want to leave anything on the plate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ga_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Delicious fresh fish and fries, served with a choice of many sides including tangy coleslaw. We loved the huge ice cream sundaes ad NY Jets memorabilia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug's Fish Fry also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Doug's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing