We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish fry ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doug's Fish Fry

Doug's Fish Fry
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best fish fry ever!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I drive a long way for this fish and the onion rings, and milkskakes or beer are great too!
Consistently delivered every time! Workers are always friendly, and always willing to wrap up the leftovers.
My bf doesn't like fish, but claims the chicken is worth going there for.
I wasn't as impressed with Skaneatles location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    55
    22
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We happened upon this place while looking for something else. It seemed like a local joint, which we love to find, so we took a chance and were glad we did! You order at the counter and then get a table and wait for your name to be called, so it's a casual setup. The fish was delicious, and was actually shaped like a fish fillet (not a square!). The fish was way bigger than the bun. We had ours with onion rings, which were also great - not too thick, with just the right crunch. I haven't been to any other Doug's locations, so I can't comment on how this one compares to the others. I have no complaints!! Would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Doug's was disappointing”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We did not expect a fast food type setup. We had to order at a counter and wait for our name to be called and carry a tray. I asked if I could get shrimp and scallops combo. I was told no combos available. When we asked for our chowder to come first, I was told OK but it came together.
The seafood chowder had lots of small pieces of seafood but the broth was thin and tasteless.
My order was missing the shrimp as it needed to be redone. So I nibbled on my fries which were ordered well done crispy but were soft and had to go back into fryer. But when the order came the food was good. The staff were very pleasant and apologized.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddytravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and funny, funky place!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fried fish heaven. Specials on weekends. Chowders were wonderful and scallops and onion rings. Self service - we made mistake and waited a few minutes by door until we received odd looks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank musicalmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I love Doug's...but the Cortland location ain't great”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

First and foremost: Doug's is a great catch, usually great food and great family fun...but the Cortland location is missing the nostalgia that is ripe in Skaneateles. I will never forget waiting in line with my family in Skaneateles and seeing Doug eating from a bucket of clams, while my dad struck up a friendly conversation with him. He has a legendary way about him, as though he crawled out of the sea himself. The restaurant certainly bares and deserves that legendary reputation as well.

However, on this particular occasion, Cortland was missing the spark that Doug has worked so hard to preserve. Most offensive to my senses was the obvious fact that the fish was just different today - it couldn't be the same stuff they catch in Boston and ship in three times a week. The service was not great either - but in all fairness, grump was a word derived in Syracuse.

All in all, I would say the Cortland location is too wrapped up in New York Jets hype to care too much about preserving the integrity of the business. I expect they will make the adjustments they need to, and continue to be a legendary name in central New York.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug's Fish Fry also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Doug's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing