We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and shrimp.”
Review of Doug's Fish Fry

Doug's Fish Fry
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fish and shrimp.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are from the south and were thrilled when we found a restaurant in the area that actually had fried fish. Although it wasn't catfish, it was still really good. Their shrimp was great as well.Food was fresh and good and restaurant was clean as well Good enough that we ate there twice in two nights.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rinnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    23
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A NY Jets shrine well worth the detour!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The atmosphere is wonderful the fish is very fresh most of all this place is owned by a man with a generous heart. He is a fan of the jets and he organizes a multitude of fund raisers for various causes. I had the fish and onion rings....amazing!!! Next time I am in courtland I will definetaly go back to taste the fried scallops :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welltraveled5635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Most amazing Fish Joint in the world”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Doug's is the best place to get fish and bisque in the nation. We have always enjoyed ourselves here. We usually share a fish dinner and a bowl of bisque. The serving sizes are huge and the price is just right for a family of 4.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Disappointed Yet”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food is good. The prices are reasonable. I don't know why we don't go back more often than we do, other than it is on the other side of town from where we tend to go when we come to Cortland to eat out. Maybe next time we decide to go out, I will suggest to my spouse that we head to Doug's.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9478050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY-NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must for seafood lovers - great value too”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

That's all they serve - fried fish and seafood with fries or onion rings. Get the onion rings, the fries are humdrum. All the seafood items are winners - fish, shrimp, scallops, oysters, even clam strips (way better than most). You can relax in the comfortable dining area with a beer, or take out. Staff is very competent and absolutely refuse to accept tips - we got an extra order of fish by mistake and they just told us to keep it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sesuNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug's Fish Fry also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Doug's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing