We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, unclean, uncomfortable.”
Review of Corona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corona Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Corona B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm a business traveler. I just wanted a quiet, clean, comfortable place to rest up. The worst part about my experience at the Corona hotel was the noise and the lack of sleep that the noise caused. I was constantly awoken by yelling and doors slamming. I also had the distinct pleasure of hearing a confrontation outside my door between the security employee and guests. The inebriated guests were cursing at the security employee who was threatening to call the cops. This lasted way too long. The hotel is also located right under the train and the train is very loud and shakes the hotel as it passes. Besides the noise the hotel room wasn't very clean. There was a plastic wrapper on the floor, a small blood stain on the drapes and a small blood stain on the sheets. The hallway on the third floor smelled of cigarette smoke. The towels looked clean but smelled a little musty. The bed and pillows were not comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre and there wasn't nearly enough seats/tables. When you check in they make you prepay for the entire stay. The front desk employee was nice and the manager refunded the remainder of my stay that I prepaid without issue. I would not recommend the Corona hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capocrinini737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

altough the hotel advertise a shuttle ride from the lga airport, its actually a town car. the driver was really nice. i got there around 10 am and was able to check in early. the room is really nice and clean, bathroom clean and bedding. i was looking for a smll because i had a smoking room but non was there.

on the down side. the hotel, to me, is surrounded by strange restaurants that are not too clean (by the looks) i ordered some food from their local taco shack and it was not edible. this was really a down side for me because i was starving... the neighborhood is prodominately mexican. all the locals were really nice though just wish they had more main stream resturants

also, for this hotel to be decent it shocked me that it was an hourly. it was around five in the morning and i heard security banging on a door saying "check out check out" he must of had issues with the ppl leaving because 5 minutes later i heard a lady screaming saying" omg we are coming!!!" security had opened the door telling the ppl "CHECK OUT TIME"

ALL IN All if i needed a quick place to stay in ny (which i highly doubt i will) i would deff stay in this hotel again

oh yeah another thing. the hotel is really acceible to a main train (7) it goes right across the otel. i thought it was going to be noisey but i barely heard the train inside my room

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzfats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Half the hotel was next to the subway tracks, yet windows didn't block out any noise. Hotel didn't seem that busy so not sure why I wasn't put in the half away from tracks. Unfortunately in my room could hear every train going past clearly, so not great for sleep.
For price it was good value, and it has an excellent shuttle service to the airport

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ifski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location is out of wy from the action but right down the street from subway overall would stay again depending on funds available didn't have to much interaction with staff but hotel wad clean and breakfast was good uvsave money on price and breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llndbrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my mother on a "bucket list" trip to NYC. This was by far the CLEANEST hotel we stayed in (we stayed in several) and was absolutely spotless. However, the room had that "smell" other write about...it is hard to describe and is not pleasant. It is overpowering but at least the windows open and you can get some relief by airing the room out. (Though the smell still lingers). This hotel also offered free wi-fi which was NOT found at any other hotel. They also include a beautiful flat screen LG television to watch free HBO on. GREAT! Now the cons: the LOCATION is awful. In the middle of a sketchy neighborhood. Maybe not sketchy for the locals, but my mother was terrified. I lived in NYC for years and even I was a little apprehensive here. It is largely a Latino neighborhood and you will stand out like a sore thumb if you are otherwise (I am biracial). The front desk attendant, Andrea, was efficient but not at all friendly. Again, I lived in NY so I know how most New Yorkers are: friendly, helpful. Andrea was not unkind, but it was clear we were a bit trying to her nerves with requests and questions. She does know her job and the neighborhood and will answer any questions you have on where to go or how to get there. If you do decide to stay here be aware that the subway line is the 7 local and takes forever to get into the city. If you can catch the 7 express it takes about 35 mins but that is hard to grab. There are also about 12,000 stairs to climb to get to the train so if you have a lot of luggage to bother with it's a pain. Definitely difficult for my mom to manage. If you have a group of friends, your confident, have money for a cab back to the hotel at night then you can make this place work. The bed was unbelievably comfortable--AMAZING even, and the hotel cleanliness was a welcomed relief on a long, long, trip. Thanks Corona!

Room Tip: The rooms by the train track are no longer available. The train becomes dull background noise after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you go to the US Open, you know that the subways and trains can be a headache to navigate and use. That's why we chose the Corona Hotel, in walking distance from both the National Tennis Center and the Mets' Citi Field. Although the train line is right above the hotel, the rooms are very soundproof so the noise is like a distant thundercloud. Since the hotel is fairly new, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the friendly staff, who go out of their way to help you with transportation, dining recommendations, and any other need. One staff member even refunded my $2.00 that a vending machine ate. For New York, the cost of this hotel was reasonable and we would visit there again. My only pet peeve: the small elevators take forever, so we usually took the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corona hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport
0 mi away
Best Western Plus La Guardia Airport Hotel Queens
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Hotel

Address: 11223 Roosevelt Ave, Corona, NY 11368-2623
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Corona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corona
Price Range: $144 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing