We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
6
22
30
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
22
30
14
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Corona while in town for the Open Hardware Summitt and Maker Faire.

We arrived at 8:30 AM on Thursday, hoping to check our bags and park the car before heading to the conference. The room was ready, so we were able to settle in right away. The rooms are on the smallish side--2 beds, a desk and a tv--but serviceable and comfortable. The linens and towels are not luxurious, and the beds weren't as comfortable as other hotels. Wifi and parking were free, however, which made this hotel a better value than the conference hotel up the street.

In fact, we parked the car before checking in early, and they let us keep the car there for the day after we checked out, and it is an easy walk to the New York Hall of Science, so we didn't have to pay event parking at Maker Faire.

The hotel is not set back from the street--this is an uber-urban location in Queens--and the train runs directly in front of the hotel. Our room faced the parking lot, and the noise of the train didn't shake the lamps or keep us up at night.

The train ran regularly, and the local took about 40-45 minutes to get to Times Square or Grand Central station. During rush hours, you could ride down a couple of stops and switch to an express train, which makes fewer stops and gets downtown faster.

The neighborhood is a vibrant immigrant neighborhood; Roosevelt includes a mix of small storefronts, lsmall restaurants, pet groomers, and auto repair shops side by side, and we saw lots of families out and about and kids walking home after school.

There are lots of small markets on Roosevelt Ave so it was easy to cut the food budget by buying drinks and fresh fruit to snack on.

The hotel offers breakfast, bagels, toast, yogurt, fruit and cereal.

Overall, we save about $300 by staying here rather than at the official conference hotel (which we could see from our room)--and we appreciated the friendly staff. We would stay again if attending the conference again, and possibly even if we were headed into the city purely for fun, although we'd have to balance the money saved vs the fairly long train ride into the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel room is fine, but the room is located less than 10 feet away from the train! It was like a bad movie where the guy down on his luck stays at the sleazy motel with the bright neon light outside the window. Every time the train goes by the entire hotel shakes and you cannot hear the television!

I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank marilynwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife decided to surprise me and book a stay along with a Mets vs Phillies baseball game in New York at Citi Field over the Memorial Day holiday. She found the Corona Hotel online and decided to book it and give it a try.

At our first attempt to find it, we drove right past it as it doesn't look like a typical hotel property. We circled around and then found the hotel as it is just beyond the stadium area at Citi Field on Roosevelt Avenue. You'll know your on Roosevelt Ave because the #7 Subway train is elevated above you on the street.

Firstly, you can't really find a place that is more convenient if you are going to attend events at Citi Field, or Arthur Ashe Tennis Stadium. Both places are able to be walked to from the hotel.

That being said, you have some drawbacks when staying here. The first is as stated above, there is train tracks that are elevated right across from the hotel. It's unmistakable sound is always present to you on your stay. We were accomodated with a room in the back of the hotel and it wasn't too bad, you sort of get used to it, and you hear what the locals hear that are around here.

If you are driving, they have a small courtyard for parking. It can accommodate about 20 cars or so, there may be other parking but the area I saw was very small, it was free though and that is rare at some hotels in big cities.

We were greeted promptly and checked in and the clerk was very nice. There was a lot of security cameras and everything in the hotel looked very new and up to date including the lobby. The room was as advertised, modern furnishings, flat screen tv and free internet. We stayed on the 5th floor, and there is one elevator.

The hotel reminds me of a hotel that I stayed at in Paris some years ago. It's very clean and well kept. Don't let the exterior scare you away, as it almost did to us. I think you'll like your stay here.

The neighborhood around the hotel was kind of cool, it was a blend of Spanish businesses that reminded me of the reason that people move here from other countries to live the American dream. You can walk to the #7 Subway and be in Manhattan in minutes, so this hotel is convenient to there as well. If your able to walk a bit this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GenesisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This is our first time visited NYC and since we don't know the location that well, one of our friends decided to book the hotel for us. We were supposed to be there for five nights but we decided to switch to the other hotel as soon as we woke up the next day morning.

Good Part!
Free internet, parking, and breakfast (even only two type of cereals to choose from in the lobby).

Worst Part!
We didn't know till we got the place and you WON'T find it on their website ---- The hotel is located right next to the railroad!!! It is so loud and 24 hours operated system in NYC so we can feel the train every time when it passing by. The building is SHAKING and it is so loud! All of us couldn't get any good sleep and we were quite upset with the hotel's location. They should have mentioned something about this so maybe we can bring some ear plugs!!! You couldn't even find a welcome package in the room!!!
The location is not that great either since it took us about least 45mins to get into town everytime!

However, the staffs here are very friendly and nice, but I really wouldn't mention this place to anyone, unless you are doing business in Flushing and trying to find a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Loved this. :) Clean room! Nice, clean king sized bed on 5th floor. Subway wasn't too bad. Glad it's close to subway stop. Not a fan of location but good for price. Staff is nice. Breakfast could offer a better selection but still great! Recommended for those on a budget!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyAult07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews