We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Long Island, ny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ugh”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Old.....Bar feels like a death trap.....Woman running it need to take a course in people skills....Won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We went to Gavin's for Halloween weekend. We stayed at the "Homestead" house which came fully equipped with a full kitchen, working fireplace, two living rooms with pull out sofas, two bathrooms and three bedrooms. This was wonderful, since we were six women. The price was terrific. With tax it cost us $179 a piece for the full weekend which included five meals, a house party, activities and entertainment in the Pub. The staff are wonderful, the food is good, the facility is kept very clean. If you want "fancy" than you don't go to a Catskill resort; but if you want the feeling of peace, comfort and wonderful staff, then this is the place for you. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moondanceforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

went there many times 5-6 years ago and price was much better and food was good.now they give you sliced turkey or sliced ham.not the real stuff.a spoonfull of stuffing.cost 145.00 for nite, not even any homefries with breakfast. only good thing was entertainment. went down the road and got same deal for 99.00 ??about 15 of us went, but never again..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theirishbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I was frightened to step on the floor with each step.....thought I was going to go through the floor! It literally moves with each step. This place was probably great 25-30 years ago, but it hasn't been touched since. Thank God I brought Febreeze with me because the rooms stank like mildew. Duct-tape helped to keep the pane of glass in the window. There was a crude cut-out in the ceiling with mesh that acted as some sort of steam-exhaust. Atrocious! The food was fine....borderline good. They banged you over the head for soda at dinner, so bring your own. On that note, bring your own cooler, snacks, ice and beverages...TRUST ME!!! Still can't figure out how the pool is freezing in August?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brody641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We just returned from a week at Gavin's. The hotel is nice, and family friendly.

We stayed in a "Plan A" room because it was supposedly significantly bigger than the "Plan B" rooms. Well ours was not, we had to cram a cot in between the 2 beds in the room leaving very little room to move around. There was only 1 small dresser in the room with 6 small drawers, so we lived out of our suitcases for the week.

If you want a refrigerator in the room it costs an additional $25 dollars for the week. The ice machine was broken for the entire week we were there so we needed to make daily trips to get ice at a gas station in town.

The food was ok, the barbeque, Sheperd's Pie and the Corned Beef dinners were all good, the chicken dishes need work. There are only 2 options offered for dinner each night, and each of the choices was a meat dish. Children had 1 option or could choose to have a child's portion of an adult meal. The breakfast was standard eggs and bacon, pancakes or french toast. I would have liked an additional optional for dinner (i.e. fish or pasta) and I think the children should have an additional option as well. They were generous with portions, offering seconds if anyone wanted.

Overall, Gavin's is a nice place and as I stated above very family friendly but they need to offer a bit more for the prices they are charging (i.e. refrigerators in rooms).

  • Liked — Children's activities
  • Disliked — mislead about room size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinFamily, General Manager at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2008
We are very happy you found our family-owned and operated Inn family friendly and nice! That is our # 1 priority as we welcome about 50 family reunions each year for during our season, April thru October.

As we have been open for almost 50 years our buildings were built in many stages. Some of our Plan A rooms are in fact larger than other Plan A rooms. We state in our brochure that our Plan A rooms have 2 double beds and are on average spacious. From looking at your review from August, it looks you stayed with us during the busiest part of the season and there probably were no other rooms available. Was this our Kids rule week where we offer children rates for $39 each by chance? Our Kids Rule Week was a fabulous deal and we are planning two weeks this year.

Yes, of now, our rooms do not offer complimentary fridges or microwaves, except for our Homestead and brand NEW cottage suite which even has Flat Screen TV's! The cost to rent a fridge is $20 per stay plus tax for the entire week which is the best we can offer at this time. We would love too some day have these amenities in our rooms. However, did you know, Gavins has LIVE Irish music at least 3 times a week! Also, we have TWO full-time activity directors too.

As far as the ice machine being down, we were not aware of this but we do apologize. As we are extremely friendly-oriented, my guess is other guests may have filled "coolers" with ice instead of using our complimentary ice buckets. We do apologize for this inconvenience.

I am so glad you said the BBQ was GOOD along with our Shepart's Pie and Corned Beef. We are known for our Irish food being an Irish Inn. I am so glad you said "They were generous with portions, offering seconds if anyone wanted." That means a lot too.

"Overall, Gavin's is a nice place!" - We are so glad you feel this way. As for our prices, we highly suggest you look for our super value packages which we offer on our "specials" page on our website www.gavins.com.

THANK YOU for your INPUT. We truly appreciate your feedback and are in the process of planning 2009. This year will be our 48th year in business and our 4th generation operated by the Gavin Family.

Jack and Margaret Gavin are now blessed with 4 wonderful grandchildren and their 4 children are all invovled in running the family business too.

We hope to see you again!

Keep the Irish American Tradition Alive,

The Gavin Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My dreams of an ideal wedding reception came true thanks to the efforts of all at Gavin’s Golden Hill Resort in East Durham, NY. They were able to offer everything needed to make a wedding reception the family and friends reunion I had always wanted it to be.

We took over the entire resort for the weekend of July 13 through 15, 2007. They provided excellent accommodations for over 200 guests, (men, women and children of all ages). The fun atmosphere was highlighted by the delicious meals, appetizingly served with a variety that appealed to all nationalities. My family is of Irish descent and my husband’s family is of Greek-Italian descent. My guests represented the great American melting pot and they are still raving about the marvelous fare served day in and day out from the Gavin kitchen.

Thanks to my parents and grandparents for introducing us to this marvelous spot in the beautiful Catskill Mts.

Sheila Seery Romeo

  • Liked — The warm welcome and all the extra care (irish dancing lessons, arts and crafts for the kids)
  • Disliked — When I had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upgalway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2008

My family has been going to the Catskills for years on our annual summer vacation. When we went to Gavins this summer, we had the best time ever! Believe me, that is something when you come from my crew. We really found a place to keep us all happy. The food was great, and had such an authentic quality. The staff was so nice and made us feel at home. I must say one thing, after a long day of work and a night of being in the car with the kids, it's nice to have good hot food and warm smiles there to great you. We had lots of young children with us, so you can imagine our relief when we arrived. The rooms were clean and the beds were really comfortable. The pool was fun for the kids, and those of us who wanted some peace relaxed on the deck, where there is shade and an outdoor bar. Many of us found the party after dinner at the bar, or as they say the pub. This is where my family danced the night away together to the wonderful music and party atmosphere. We woke up to eat the best pancakes ever, and a great breakfest spread for the kids. There was everything from fruit to homeade muffins to Irish soda bread. My family also loved the country walks. There are Catskill Mountain waterfalls about a three minute walk away from the resort. It is really a place to see, and such an escape. It's also a family vacation that you won't get anywhere else!

  • Liked — Family Friendly, Friendly Staff, Clean Accomidation, and Country Location
  • Disliked — no mini bar in room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cathieNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwallville
4.0 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
31 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
8.0 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
16.3 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavin's Irish Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Property: Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Address: 118 Golden Hill Rd, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12418-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > Cornwallville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwallville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gavin's Irish Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gavin's Irish Country Inn is a unqiue experience as we are an all inclusive Irish Inn with accommodations + meals + activies + entertainment all included in their nightly rates (with the occasion room only rates as well). The 3rd generation Innkeepers passed down from their family, the Gavin's, Brian and Bernadette are your hosts along with their outstanding staff who will do thier very best to accommodate all your vacation desires. Gavin's Irish Country Inn looks forward to greating you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Gavin's Irish Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavin`s Irish Country Hotel East Durham
Country Inn East Durham
East Durham Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing