We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local restaurant”

Painter's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Painters is one of our favorite weekend spots for its great food and awesome beer and wine list. Be sure to check out the specials which often feature local produce. We like to sit outside in the Summer. If you're not hungry, the bar is a fun place to hang out with friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    41
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice spot, apathetic service, OK food”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

After a short cayak trip on the river we ended up at this place for lunch. The patio is nice and shady. The service was very laid back, as a matter of fact another couple left the restaurant while we were there because nobody cleaned their table or gave them menus. Our waitress did not bother with the specials even though the waiter of the table next to us did recite a bunch. It took 10mins and two requests to order. The food - kobe burger and an omelette were alright. More delay to get the bill paid. All this on a slow day and while four people were milling around the place. It appears that only the person assigned to the table can interact with it. The hapless busslady was looking at the people walking out, the bill and credit card sitting on our table but all she was doing was picking up glasses from an empty table. Not a place for employee initiative it appears. Anyway, as I said the food was not bad, the service rather laid back and not attentive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had dinner here the other night, with a good friend. We started off with appetizers. I had loaded potato skins. I've had better. My friend had a 1/2 plate of Nachos. She loved it and took half home. For dinner I had the corned beef ruben and my friend had the halibut. the corned beerwas so fatty, it was uneatable. I did not return it. But instead said I was full. My friend totally enjoyed the halibut and it was such a large portion , leftovers went home. For desert I had the brownie sundae and neighbor had apple pie a la mode.

Service was excellent. Waitress was very attentive and extremely personable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank orangectyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
254 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great little lunch spot”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice little restaurant with parking and friendly, accommodating wait staff. Interesting salad selections that are perfect for lunch, as well as wraps, entrees etc. Patio out front on a nice day is covered and cool. Very pleasant respite with a laid back vibe.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodie50Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seemed like great place”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Painters was a bit of a disappointment . We came to town on one of the most beautiful days in July to visit Storm King sculpture park. We went into Cornwall to find a place to eat on this beautiful summer evening. Painters was recommended and the front porch was nice with the temperature perfect. The first disappointment was they did not have the draft beer on the menu. No big deal. The waitress brought me a sample of a possible alternate which was nice of her. The sample was warm. My wife ordered a eggplant dish. She took one bite and sent it back. I have never seen her send a dish back before. The egg plant was improperly cooked and terrible. I ordered short ribs and rigatoni. It was OK. It wasn't bad but not much taste. I rarely add salt to a restaurant meal but I added to this one. So the Painters was a disappointment as far as food. It was clearly a popular place in this quiet town and others may love it but the food was really mediocre at best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painter's Restaurant also viewed

Cornwall on Hudson, Cornwall
 

Been to Painter's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing