We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but too noisy”

Painter's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, but too noisy”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have eaten in this restaurant twice and had virtually the same experience. The food is very good, the service attentive, but the acoustics are just terrible. The first time we had dinner here while the food was very good, the noise level was so distracting that I couldn't wait to leave. This time we ate on the outside patio. My partner had a pasta special and I had the hangar steak, both delicious. The restaurant has a few tables outside of the patio where smoking is permitted. After we were seated, the smoke came drifting our way along with two very boisterous, vulgar patrons who could not be ignored. The staff at Painter's is very accomodating and as soon as we brought the situation to the waitress's attention, she immediately moved us to a table far from the smoke. But still the noise from the other patrons seated near by just seemed to bounce off the ceiling and into our conversation.
The restaurant is not cheap with entrees at $26-28, so I go expecting to have a good meal and a pleasant atmosphere. Perhaps, this is way Painter's does a good amount of take-away business. Patrons want the food not the noise.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DownsizerNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    43
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, good food”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This quaint, somewhat rustic restaurant contains many interesting art objects and also provides varied and good food. Had lunch there with friends on May 10, 2012. All 4 of us were pleased with our choices; the price was reasonable; and the service was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripMember10192015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Painter's is a delightful Inn where you will have an excellent time, drinks and meal. it has a warm feel to it the moment you enter the doorway and are greeted by the friendly staff. Once seated at a comfortable table in a relaxing room, you are served by friendly staff. The drinks (extra dry martinis) are expertly made and efficiently served. The menu is interesting with a range of dishes to please the palate. The wine lst also has an interesting range of choices that will not disappoint you. When in the area I always make it a point to eat there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were staying upstairs, surprised at how good the food was. Crowded though.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turned Off”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The food and service are always good here except for my last visit. Our waitress was very rude to the point we were ready to walk out. I heard the owner's and Chef are nasty too but as a customer we didn't need the bad attitude of the waitress. It was close to the end of the night and we got the left over slop. Our food came out cold and tasteless & the waitress could care less. I will never return after this last visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painter's Restaurant also viewed

Cornwall on Hudson, Cornwall
 

Been to Painter's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing