We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting, Rustic & Very Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Cornwall B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Enchanting, Rustic & Very Romantic”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Cromell Manor’s “Chimneys Cottage” was the perfect romantic getaway. We stayed in the Hambleton Room of the 18th century, pre-revolutionary cottage that is on the lovely wooded estate, but separate from the main house. The charming rustic cottage had low ceilings, huge wide floor boards in the hall, lots of original hardware, a sleigh bed, tons of pillows (some soft some firm), a really cool claw foot tub, and best of all, a warm and cozy fireplace.
When we arrived, Pam the Innkeeper gave me a tour of the Manor house, chocolate chip cookies and selections of coffee and tea seemed to be available all day.
We ordered a picnic basket from the Jones Farm, located next to Cromwell Manor, which was delivered to our door. And while the Cream & Butter Fudge was wonderful, the Grand Granola Bars, from the farm’s “Grandma Phoebe’s Bakery” were amazing. They tasted more like an oatmeal raisin cookie (but the best I’ve ever had!)
We drove into the quaint town of Cornwall and ate at Pizza Prima, a really adorable restaurant in the center of town. The waitress (who was very nice) suggested the Margarita Pizza, which we ordered and absolutely loved.
On leaving the Cromwell Manor, I got a chance to speak with Eileen, the owner, a perfect hostess, who has a very strong interest in not just keeping an inn, but the preservation of it’s history.
I thought our cottage was down-to-earth, enchanting and romantic; I won’t ever forget our visit and really hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    26
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
129
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Was very excited to stay at the Cromwell Manor Inn. Overall the weekend was wonderful and the Inn was fine. However, after reading the glowing reviews on the website we expected a little more refinement. On the plus side, Pamela was wonderful and accommodating, the breakfasts were lovely and delicous, the access to 24-hour tea, coffee, snacks was welcomed and we did use the complimentary wi-fi. However, the devil is in the details. For the price of our room I was surprised to find fraying, off color bath towels in the bathroom, ripped/fraying bathrobes, clutter in the common room (a cardboard carton shoved up against the wall in the Colonial living room) and dying plants. If the room had been 20% less expensive than it was, the charm and service of the place would overshadow the importance of these details. However, I felt like the value wasn't completely there for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amosnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this B&B while visiting West Point. It was a disappointment to us. The Inn is in desperate need of an interior paint job. Our room "Derby" was dirty. The carpet needed to be shampoo'd, the drapes were full of dust, the wall sconces were filmy and dirty, the bed comforter was very musty and smelled, the heater register was full of cobwebs. The toilet, sink and shower were clean. There is an old fashioned window air conditioner which we did not use, but could hear one from another room. The breakfast was good. WE did not receive the value for this room as the rates are doubled over the weekends. WE use B & B's extensively and would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtlong11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I just spent a few days here on a leisurely trip through the Hudson valley. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed - nothing especially fancy but fine for what we needed. More than making up for whatever small failings the room had (window air conditioners, scrapes in the paint, a loose tile in the bathroom), were the marvelous breakfasts. We have stayed in many b&b's over many years, and these breakfasts may just be the best of a very good lot. Varied and delicious, and home-made with fresh ingredients, and prepared with excellent taste and a good eye. Made the stay entirely worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We (a family of five) stayed in two rooms in the adjacent pre-Revolutionary War house. Some might find it charming in an old, dark, creaky, really-low-cracked-ceiling, musty sort of way. There were no TVs or even wifi in these rooms, which my children could not understand! The air conditioners were right next to the beds--and it was warm, so we had that a/c noise all night long. We were glad there were no guests upstairs, or else we would have heard a whole other set of creaks.

The earlier reviews really raised my expectations of staying in a lovely, charming historic house that was a real find--but our rooms felt musty and stuffy, and I was disappointed. It's possible the rooms in the main building are very different--they were mostly booked when we made our reservations, and we were steered toward two rooms in the other house (perhaps because we had children.) FYI, I didn't recognize the inn once we were there--the picture you see is from one specific angle. The view from the driveway and the parking lot is very different--not charming at all.

The breakfast was very good, however, and in a truly lovely screened-in porch. The coffee was excellent--which we greatly appreciated.

I don't think we would stay there again. It seemed expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueF1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

10 minutes to West Point. Inn is charming--old but well maintained. Quiet and peaceful. Grounds are spacious and scenic. New innkeeper Eileen was very helpful. Breakfasts are gourmet quality. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My bf and I snagged last-minute reservations for Sunday dinner at Blue Hill @ Storm Barns, so we decided to head upstate for the weekend. We were planning on checking out Storm King Art Center Saturday, and we found Cromwell Manor Inn only a short distance away from Storm King.

The manor house is at the top of a little hill along the road, and is a gorgeous red brick building with a columned porch complete with matching rocking chairs to chill out on at the front entrance. Next to the house is a wonderful little courtyard replete with a small fairy fountain and wire patio tables and chairs and a grill for cookouts. In the sizeable backyard there is even a hammock for lounging in.

Inside the house the proprietor welcomed us, offered us fresh cookies from a display she has available for guests 24/7 (we def had some at 12 am!), and then showed us to our room. We stayed in the Storm King room, which was very classically decorated and had many windows. We also had an ensuite bathroom, very convenient. The proprietor was very nice and suggested several dining spots for us in nearby Newberg.

In the morning we were greeted at breakfast with our tables set and our juices poured. Then came a breakfast appetizer of lemon pound cake topped with a coconut salsa. That was followed with a HEAPING plate of veggie frittata, sausage, and fresh fruit! mmm delicious.

Another highlight was the inn is adjacent to a small farm called Jones Farm. We stoppbed by after breakfast to walk off the food, shopped at their produce and goods store, and checked out the animals. A nice little surprise that would amuse people travellig with young children!

Room Tip: Some rooms have ensuite bathrooms, some don't. Also most rooms require stairs, but there are a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
5.4 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
953 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
4.1 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Manor Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Manor Historic Inn

Property: Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Address: 174 Angola Rd, Cornwall, NY 12518-1110 (Formerly Cromwell Manor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cromwell Manor Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance awaits you at Cromwell Manor Inn. The main building, The Manor House, contains nine elegant guest rooms in a brick mansion built in 1820. The original home on the property, 1764 House, dates back to 1764 and offers charming Colonial ambiance in four guest rooms. Stay at one of the Top 10 Inns of New York while visiting nearby West Point, enjoy the spectacular scenery and quaint towns of the majestic Hudson Highlands, shop at the world-famous Woodbury Common Premium Shopping Outlet, spend an afternoon at The Storm King Art Center, or simply relax for a quiet, romantic, weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Manor Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Manor Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing