We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Corning
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location at the end of Market Street Corning allowing for an easy stroll into the heart of Corning. Room was comfortable and clean, especially once we got used to the control for the bed (turning it from a hard board like firmness to a very soft mattress).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    365
    99
    34
    15
See reviews for
258
333
30
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Radisson is the most prominent if not the only hotel in "downtown" Corning, and seems to cater to executives in suits, so unfortunately it is a bit pricey. It is at the east end of the Market Street shopping/dining district and a few blocks from Corning Glass headquarters, and a long walk or short drive (or free shuttle-bus from Market Street) will get you to the famous Corning Museum of Glass. The area is quiet.

The hotel’s textured concrete exterior is nothing special, but the recently updated lobby, bar, and grill area (separate review), with fountains, plants, a baby grand piano, and museum cases displaying a collection of famous Stuben glass, is very attractive. The hotel has also expanded into a second building behind the first, since I last stayed here 5 years ago. There is a small indoor pool, which I did not use. There are two computers in the lobby for guest use. There is decent complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning, but breakfast is not included in the price of the room.

I opted for the least expensive type single-Queen room in the older section; it was very narrow and rather basic, containing the bed, loveseat, desk, and TV hutch. The décor was fairly blah, with a very dark carpet which helped make the whole room seem dark. It did not have a mini-fridge or microwave, although these are standard in many less classy hotels. There was a tiny pod-type coffee maker which brewed awful coffee. The closet had an ironing board/iron, and a folding luggage rack. The bed was a “Sleep Number” bed, a “luxury” which some people love but I found overrated. Everything was clean and free of smoking odors and vermin. The AC controls worked well.

The bathroom was tiny; the door barely cleared the lip of the commode as I swung it shut. The tub and surrounding tiled walls were clean, and there were two very useful corner shelves for holding one’s bathing accessories, both out of the way of the water stream of the shower. The tub floor had some fine texturing designed to make it less slippery, but with the local “soft” water I found I had to be careful. There was no grab-bar for aiding one to step safely into/out of the tub. There was plenty elbow room in the shower, due to the outward curve of the shower curtain rod. It took me a while to find the hair dryer in a sack hanging in the closet. There was no extra vanity area outside the bathroom proper.

Staff were friendly and accommodating. During my stay, Corning experienced a power outage that affected the north side of Market Street and the hotel for several hours. Staff accompanied guests with flashlights to help them navigate the darkened hallways and stairs while the elevators were off. I asked a staff member to find out for me whether the Museum of Glass was affected by the outage, and she returned in a few minutes with the answer (it was open). Unfortunately, at least some of the emergency lighting and exit signs failed, so the hotel will need to fix whatever caused that failure. Now here is one of my pet peeves about this and many other hotels: Other than the emergency stairs, there are no regular stairways for guests who want the exercise or would rather not wait for the elevator when unburdened by luggage. Such stairs, open to the atrium and its natural light, would have been safer to use in this situation.

The hotel has a spa, but with rather pricey services; i did not try it. I would suggest that they add 15 minute chair massages for $20 or $25.

Overall it is a good hotel, which I chose for the convenience of its location, but I think the even their low-end prices are high for the basic nature of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkep1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have had several mixed experiences at the 215 restaurant at the Corning Radisson, mostly good experiences. They have recently redone the lounge and dining area and it is a great improvement. The menu in the lounge area has some old favorites like the Lobster mac n cheese along with some new items. We started with the wontons which were on the old menu but are done a little better, they were good. We then had the boom boom shrimp which were very spicy and awesome. We then shared a flatbread with peppadews, duck bacon, cheese and shrimp that was very good. We followed that with the lobster mac and cheese, very awesome. We finished with a blueberry cobbler served warm with bourbon whipped cream, yummy. The drinks were well made, Nicole was a very good bartender and our waitress Kayla was also very knowledgeable about the menu. I will definitely eat here again and will try the dining room which offers duck breast, scallops and several very nice entrees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twowinos_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were on a roadtrip for our anniversary travelling thru this area - mid week hotel rates were a little higher than we expected- especially for not having a breakfast option or a fridge/microwave so we could make our own. Front desk staff at check in wasn't very friendly and wasn't able offer much for dinner options in the area other than the hotel restaurant. A walk down the street nearby - most places were closed at 7 when we went in search of dinner (as we hadn't eaten since early that morning). Found an open pizza place that was good and the wait staff there was great.

Lobby was beautifully decorated - but our room had a funny odor, bed wasn't all that comfortable and the sheets felt worn(woke up sore and tired the next morning and disappointed in our experience with Radisson - think we will stick with other chains that we've had much better experiences with in the past).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler77111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Corning, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren,nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had a room with Gaffer package (museum tickets and breakfast). The package was okay, but the sound proofing of the room was so terrible that I could constantly hear the traffic noise . The room was close to a intersection and the roaring sound of the vehicles starting at green light was so loud that basically it lasted till 1-2 am in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B5623GFJohn_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corning, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise from the traffic.
I'm very sorry this disturbed your stay and we will make sure that there is a note placed in your
profile so that in the future we will be proactive and pre-block your accommodations in the other building.

I was glad to hear you enjoyed the Tour Corning Package. I hope that when you travel to Corning again you will give us another opportunity.

Most sincere,

Michele Donegan
General Manager
Radisson Hotel Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Raddison since it is within walking distance of the Corning Museum of Glass. The decor is beautiful and the hotel clean and professional. We had an excellent meal there in the evening with attentive, considerate staff and the buffet breakfast was also of a standard you would expect from this chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just finishing up a two night stay in Corning after dropping our children off at college. The Radisson was the perfect respite for new empty nesters. The staff was outstanding and the rooms comfortable, modern, and clean. The best aspect of the hotel was the location. You walk out the backdoor and you're at the beginning of Market Street, which is filled with shops and restaurants. The glass museum is a short drive away.

A happy surprise, however, was the quality of the hotel's food. While we didn't eat at the main restaurant, we did eat at the bar. Both days while we were there we had big lunches and, the lite meals offered at the lounge were perfect for dinner. Coming from the NYC area, we are a bit of food snobs but, must say,the food at the bar was excellent. A shout out to our server, both nights, Kathy. She is everything a server should be, friendly, knowledgable about the menu and wine list, and very efficient. And an additional shout out to the bartender, Terry. Also extremely knowledgable and accommodating.

I look forward to our next trip up to the Corning Radisson.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
3.1 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
477 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Corning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Corning

Property: Radisson Hotel Corning
Address: 125 Denison Pkwy E, Corning, NY 14830-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Corning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Corning 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Corning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Corning
Corning Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing