We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Typical cheapo hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Typical cheapo hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Prices good but that's it. Non smoking but it still smells of smoke. Room old, furniture old, sink cracked, windows dirty, some windows clouded from broken seals, breakfast was a mob scene with 1 lady cooking and restocking. Only a limited amount of tables to use, maybe 10 but needed 20. Ran out of some foods and substituted other food(?). NO ELEVATOR. Carpets stained in room and hallways. Doors close hard in rooms so there is no quiet way to get out of your room - someone is always slamming a room door. Get what you pay for I guess.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay in my hotel. I would like to apologize as you did not receive the type of service that this hotel is known for. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again for posting your review.

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    99
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
76
98
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Inn in Corning, NY at the end of September. We had the most memorable time. I put on my reservation under "notes" that we were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary. We planned to visit some of the wineries in that area for our anniversary. When we arrived to the fron tdesk the woman behind the counter wished us a happy anniversary. We got to our room and found a bottle of wine and a very nice anniversary card from the staff. (I'd like to note that the card was from hallmark, not just one from their cardstock :)) The room was very nice, a comfy bed, nice bathroom, microwave, refridgerator and the A/C was on. Each time we went to the front desk we were greeted by great staff and wished a Happy Anniversary. We will definitely stay there again the next time we're in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your anniversary at our hotel! They are truly special occasions to be celebrated. I was very pleased to read that your were happy with the room and with the service provided by my staff. I hope you were able to enjoy the many great activities our area has to offer and that your trip made for a great anniversary. Thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights clean and friendly hotel. Staff nice and helpful, we walked to Market street and local Wegmans,and even the the Italian American Legion. We golfed and wine toured the area, we will definitely come back again. Breakfasts were included and always hot and lots for seconds.

Room Tip: We had a corner room it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likequietness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your recap of your trip to our area. It sounds like you had a great time visiting some of our great attractions. We love to hear this! Thank you also for the kind words regarding your stay in our hotel. I will pass on your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. They take great pride in providing exceptional service. We hope to see you again, perhaps with the completion of the new gallery at the Corning Museum of Glass! Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Standard comfort inn quality: clean, comfortable beds, all basic amenities. I stayed overnight on my way to Niagara and it fit my needs well. However, I could hear the neighbor's TV all night. Request an end room or next to a vacant room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your stopover point on your trip to Niagara. I was happy to read that you had a good stay and that you found the room clean and comfortable. I do apologize for the television noise from the guest next door to you.
Please come visit us again and leave some time to visit some of the great attractions in our region such as the Corning Museum of Glass, the Rockwell Museum and the Finger Lakes wineries. Thank you again.

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland usa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while visiting the museum and area. We generally find Comfort Inns a good value - but this was one of the best! The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast area clean and cheerful, and the room very comfortable.

It is close to the museum and to shopping. The Corning Glass Museum admission is good for 2 days, so you can take a break and go back easily. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate being called "one of the best"! I am glad you enjoyed your visit to both the hotel and the Corning Museum of Glass. Come stay again and check out the Rockwell Museum of Western Art. You won't be disappointed.

Sincerely,

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Never having stayed at a Comfort Inn before, we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel when we visited Corning. Yes, the beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.But no one mentioned the terrific breakfast which included bacon and eggs, fresh flavored waffles, yogurt , fresh fruit,and the usual.What we didn't expect was the array of movies that they made available to us, free, so that we didn't have to go the movies since the weather was cold.Complimentary coffee and fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies were available all the time. Fitness room and pool were very clean. Lobby area was very comfortable looking. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators so ask for a room on the first floor if you have a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast as well as our other amenities. You mentioned the DVDs. We just added several new titles which brings our collection up to 338. Perfect for a rainy day. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a nice stay here last year for our anniversary. We stayed a long weekend and used Corning as a jumping off point for the finger lakes. The hotel was clean and quiet, and breakfast was nice. All the staff was friendly. There is no elevator here - not a problem but something to be aware of if that is an issue for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean and Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your comments on your stay last year. I am glad you found the hotel to be clean and quiet and the breakfast nice. I hope you had a great anniversary and got to enjoy the many great attractions in this area. Many other guests also use the hotel as a jumping off spot for this region and we are well located. Thank you again and maybe we will see you on your upcoming anniversary!

Thomas Magnusen, CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Corning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
2.3 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 66 W. Pulteney St., Corning, NY 14830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Corning
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Corning
Comfort Inn Corning
Corning Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing